We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty near perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galanthus & Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Soldeu
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretty near perfect!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just arrived back from a great stay at the Galanthus. Great hotel! Lots of really positive things about it, but unfortunately one negative.

Positives
- Very friendly staff – whether reception, dining room staff or maids, they couldn’t do enough to help you. Lovely people!
- Really clean and well maintained throughout
- Fantastic spa / sauna / steam room – very relaxing at the end of the day

Slight niggles
- Couldn’t get wifi in our room. Had to walk to the end of the corridor to get signal
- No kettles in the room (though they may be getting some next year, according to reception)
- Air con in gym didn’t appear to work – temperature control button had been pulled off and on/off switch didn’t appear to work
- Treadmill in gym was out of order
- Cross trainer in gym making very strange sounds – service needed?

…..and the big negative…………noise from the chairs in the dining room! ARGH!!!

Our week off work was meant to comprise lots of exercise, lots of fresh air and lots of sleep. However with breakfasts starting at 7:30am and dinner not finishing until 10:30pm, there wasn’t the opportunity for either an early night or a lie in, which was a real pity as catching up on sleep was something we’d been looking forward to.

Room Tip: Avoid third and fourth floor under the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cretanatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    112
    27
    13
    8
See reviews for
76
136
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a package deal. The over all deal was fantastic and the hotel met and exceeded our expectations. The only negative was that it is not 'ski in/ski out'. The hotel provide a free shuttle bus in the morning and evening to overcome this and is pre-booked at reception each morning. It is a minor inconvenience nothing more. The shuttle driver was great and even made a special extra trip as we missed our allotted time.
As far as the hotel is concerned, superb. The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. All had good en suitre bathrooms and cleaned daily. The only negative is the rooms on the 4th floor are a little noisy as they are directly below reception and the dining area. Its not a big issue as we wanted to be up and out skiimg.
The hotel also has a great spa area and small fitness room. It got a little busy at times and sometimes overrun with young children.
We were staying half board and found it to be fantastic. Good breakfast and evening meals. It is not a la carte but fairly basic. We always enjoyed it for what ate and had no complaints.
Last but not least, the staff are lovely. It feels like everyone is family. The atmosphere is very friendly and everyone is more than happy to help.
The skiing was great, weather superb so a fantastic holiday all round.

Room Tip: Don't go on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich4066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We´ve been in Soldeu last year (Hotel Naudi), and indeed Galanthus is much better. It´s a clean, fairly new (open in 2007, if I´m not wrong); good food - extra points for the well served continental breakfast, minus the croissants - some days they seemed old and hard; very friendly staff (Irene, Pepi, Manu, Araceli, Cristina, Ivon were so warm and tried to do their best all the time); rooms with comfortable sizes; and a good spa, although the water in the main pool could be warmer.
The van service to Soldeu Telecabina goes every 10min and is spotless: I checked twice and it never took more than 3 minutes (really!). And Ivon, the driver, is a patient guy, so if you loose your time (remember to book in advance every day before), just wait for some room and he´ll take you anyway - in 9 days, we never had to wait for the next run...
Why not 5 stars? First, because of the mattress: they are not too bad, but they´re far from a good and firm mattress. The second reason is a mix of feelings: the hotel is located about 800m/1km far from Soldeu Village, what is good because you are far from the noisy pubs and bars, but if you want to go walking you have to be prepared for a snowy (in winter, of course...) and steepy climb, once the hotel is down Soldeu.
We´ll definitly come back (please improve the matresses!!), once the other best option is Hermitage Sport, tooo expensive.
Do avoid the 4th floor, once it´s just bellow the restaurant and the noise of the chairs will destroy your vacations - another point for the admistration to take care of for the next season.

Room Tip: 210 is a very good option, although it is located just beside the Games Room (almost nobody uses it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the hotel the first in March 2013 and the latest in January 2014 to ski. The overall experience has improved (not that there was much to fault the 1st stay).

This year. The receptionists were extremely helpful and polite both in Spanish & English and keen to assist promptly without question. The new Matradee whom we met the 1st time was very professional and accommodating along with the rest of the waiting and bar staff. Also it's clear that the standards are under constant scrutiny from management which shows their commitment to quality. The room was very clean, warm and comfortable, having everything we needed (wifi, mini bar, robes etc). The food (both breakfast & dinner) was delicious, hot and a wide variety for all tastes that changed daily - highlights were the rabbit, hake, beef stew and chicken dishes. It also has the standard fayre if you fancied something less adventurous. The hotel has the added benefit of a spa and ski storage to name a few. The hotel itself is located 10 minute easy walk up the hill to Soldeu for the local shops and bars in the evening. However there is a free bus transfer facilitated by the hotel in the morning and late afternoon/early evening every ten minutes to get up to the gondola with your ski gear. Lastly, we had to leave the hotel at 0400 for our transfer and the hotel provided us with a packed lunch each for our long journey home.

This hotel is excellent and the staff are professional - one of the reasons we've stayed twice and plan to stay again.Great value. Our experience has been extremely positive so don't be put off.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

The service is the best. The staff is so professional and customer oriented that I was absolutely impressed. Highly recommendable. And also the hotel is quite new and close to the ski slopes. ..
very good food and the service at the bar at night was great....

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frayguau C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dottingen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Friendly staff and clean rooms also a good breakfast buffet for less, what else do you expect. We stayed there only one night for skiing at the 6. of December 2013. Only the parking garage is a little bit limited for big cars and you have to count with additional costs of 12,- Euros. I will definitly book again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianneG1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Spent four nights in this clean contemporary hotel, friendly helpful staff and the food was fantastic with a great choice of fresh dishes for breakfast and dinner. Great spa with Sauna, steam room, jacuzzi. Would not hesitate to book again, hotel is a 10 minute walk from the main bars etc, free shuttle bus to and from ski lifts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 468MarkF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldeu
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 17 in Soldeu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 17 in Soldeu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parador Canaro
Hotel Parador Canaro
#1 of 3 in Incles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Segle XX
Hotel Segle XX
#1 of 2 in Ransol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galanthus & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galanthus & Spa

Property: Hotel Galanthus & Spa
Address: Carretera General Francia | Km.18, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Soldeu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galanthus & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXCLUSIVE, modern and functional Hotel located in Soldeu's entry at just 500 meters long from the Ski Resort Grandvalira by its Soldeu's access and at 18 Km from Andorra's Shopping Center. FACILITIES AND SERVICES: The Hotel completes its facilities with panoramic restaurant with buffet service for breakfast and dinners, cafeteria, reading room, TV room, free Wifi System, garage (limited), free ski lockers, laundry service and an exclusive spa zone equipped with hydro-massage tubs, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, douches of sensations, sauna, UV rays, gym and massages service. FREE transport to Soldeu access in stipulated timetable. Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Galanthus & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somriu Selection Canillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing