We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff, great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galanthus & Spa
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Soldeu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel meets 4 Star expectation. Close to Soldeu Telecabine, free shuttle bus from the hotel. Great buffet breakfeast. Option of good dinner buffet for 15€ per head. This is our 4th year in Andorra and the 1st time in this Hotel. Will definately book again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro_M_D_Moreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 318 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

I had high hopes for the Hotel Galanthus after some research on my holiday. Admittedly I had only looked at reviews from this venerable website, but as the second best rated hotel in Soldeu I couldn't go far wrong surely?

When we arrived at the hotel we hadn't sorted out our skiing as we had been advised via telephone that we could book on arrival. It turned out to be a bit of a mess and we spent quite a bit of time finding out where to go, what to organise etc. It would be unfair to expect perfect knowledge on the part of the hotel reception, however in the high season, when 95% of guests are here for the snow, I think a fairly comprehensive knowledge would be expected of a four star hotel.

The rooms were nice although the floors below the restaurant are noisy due to chairs being scraped across the floor (a fairly easy problem to fix-I heard about this complaint months ago when I booked).

Food in the restaurant looks better than it tastes, generally main courses tend to be cooked to within an inch of their life. Other than that the hotel is clean and tidy, I suppose the general impression I was left with on departure is that the service could be a bit better overall, with more emphasis on the client experience. At the moment it feels a bit unmanaged.

Room Tip: Sleep on the 3rd floor or below, the noise from the restaurant is loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The position of e hotel could not be worse. Smack in the middle of both lifts. The food was cold. All of it. Every day. Cold beans, barely cooked eggs and cold, gristly sausages for breakfast.

And the staff! Wow! Rude, confrontational and argumentative. I saw a group trying to get help because they had lost a friend skiing, and he had not handed in his skis or been seen since 2:00pm. All the reception girl cared about was that they did not use the reception phone for free to call for help. She would not give them the number of the police station, or tell them who to ask fo help. "Ask the Internet" was her advice...

Then they ran out of diesel so there was no hot water or heat in the spa. Poor planning. Poor hotel management

Room Tip: Not far from reception or wifi doesn't work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Ortega, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Galanthus & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Sir John F,
( same answer as Mr. Jim L... )

First of all, we are grateful that you have expressed your opinion about our hotel services. However, until today, between english speaking customers who have stayed at the hotel we could not find any person under your name.
In relation to the incident you mention about the lost person, indeed some hotel guests thought they had lost a relative at the ski station, but fortunately it was a communication error between them and the person was inside the hotel and not lost in the mountain; anyway this situation was personally spoken with the clients at that time.
Once again we reiterate our thanks to you and to each of our customers on this website and other forums of opinion that explain their experiences, the majority of them very positive thanks to the work team daily efforts and dedication.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have never before felt compelled to write a review although I always use this site to check hotel guest's experiences before spending my hard earned wages on a holiday. I had been looking forward to this trip skiing for months only to have this hotel and it's staff utterley ruin everything for me.

DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THE HOTEL PHOTOS I was and payed the price. Everything to do with service has been done on the cheap here which is such a shame as the rooms themselves were nice. The building is new and apart from the poor postition, almost exactly half way between the two ski resorts, first impressions are favourable. It all goes downhill very quickly from there.

It starts with cold food every day and I mean EVERY day. It doesn't matter if you are there exactly when the restaurant opens or not.They also continuously ran out of things and were extremely slow when asked to replenish items.

Worst by far was the attitude of the reception staff. I was kept waiting upon checking in for nearly 20 minutes as the receptionist seemed to messaging with her mobile phone. She turned away as I approached the desk and appeared to be laughing at messages she was receiving on her phone. When she had finally finished what she was doing she casually turned around to me with a quizical look on her face as though she was surprised that I should be standing there with a suitcase interupting her day.

I also witnessed, along with a very busy reception full of other guests, another receptionist being extremely difficult with a group of guests who had lost a member of their party when they had been out skiing for the day. I heard the receptionist tell the guests they should use the phone in their room to try and call the police. I thought I had heard wrongly but this was confirmed by another guest.

When I came to check out I was kept waiting for another half an hour as a different receptionist was trying to shout down two elderly guests who had agreed some form of drinks discount with the hotel manageress for a problem with their booking. The young receptionist was determined to win the arguement shouting louder and louder over the top of the couple which left the lady guest visibly shaking and close to tears.

I cannot stress strongly enough not to choose this hotel. It is badly run and badly managed. Don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Ortega, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Galanthus & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Sir Jim L,
First of all, we are grateful that you have expressed your opinion about our hotel services. However, until today, between english speaking customers who have stayed at the hotel we could not find any person under your name.
In relation to the incident you mention about the lost person, indeed some hotel guests thought they had lost a relative at the ski station, but fortunately it was a communication error between them and the person was inside the hotel and not lost in the mountain; anyway this situation was personally spoken with the clients at that time.
Once again we reiterate our thanks to you and to each of our customers on this website and other forums of opinion that explain their experiences, the majority of them very positive thanks to the work team daily efforts and dedication.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamMGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean Claude P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jck-t-2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soldeu hotels
0.6 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 16 in Soldeu
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Park Piolets MountainHotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 16 in Soldeu
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sport Hotel
Sport Hotel
#7 of 16 in Soldeu
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Piolets Soldeu Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galanthus & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galanthus & Spa

Address: Carretera General Francia | Km.18, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Soldeu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range: $89 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galanthus & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXCLUSIVE, modern and functional Hotel located in Soldeu's entry at just 500 meters long from the Ski Resort Grandvalira by its Soldeu's access and at 18 Km from Andorra's Shopping Center. FACILITIES AND SERVICES: The Hotel completes its facilities with panoramic restaurant with buffet service for breakfast and dinners, cafeteria, reading room, TV room, free Wifi System, garage (limited), free ski lockers, laundry service and an exclusive spa zone equipped with hydro-massage tubs, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, douches of sensations, sauna, UV rays, gym and massages service. FREE transport to Soldeu access in stipulated timetable. Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Galanthus & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somriu Selection Canillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing