We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little underwhelming, lovely food but would not go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Park Piolets MountainHotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Soldeu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week over half term. Loved Andorra and Soldeu and gather this is one of the better hotels to stay at but really hoped for more. On the upside the food was very good, lots of choice for kids and grown ups, and the service in the restaurant was great. We didn't have to queue at all for breakfast or dinner. The reception staff were not as friendly or helpful as the restaurant staff however. There was one receptionist who was excellent, the others all pretty moody. We had issues with our keys not working, which took a while to get fixed.
What was disappointing was that the hotel just felt a bit grubby away from the communal areas. On arrival our room was not clean, there was rubbish in the bin and everywhere was dusty. Some days the room was not cleaned well, dust and dark hairs (not ours!) to be found in the bathroom and on the beds. The room itself was pretty shabby and really badly lit. There were loose tiles in the bathroom and damage to the walls and wardrobes. The View from our balcony was fab though.
We were given two free entries to the spa on arrival (not sure why) and a meal at a nearby Italian restaurant, which were nice surprises. The spa/pool/jacuzzi were very nice but small and nowhere to really be able to swim.
We walked to the gondola each morning and kept our stuff in the lockers there, to save queuing for the hotel minibus.
So it's a good location, good for half board but the rooms and service are too basic for a four star hotel and we would try another hotel next time.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Milostaustell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Públ... P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Park Piolets MountainHotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. Your room was not to standard, and we apologize for that. As to the staff, we are sorry that you didn’t found it to be friendly. Much of the staff from the last winter seasons continues to stay with the hotel, and we have always been proud of the personalization that we are able to deliver especially with our repeat guests. We are very disappointed to read about your experience with us and hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Visited last year and "experienced service levels not experienced while Skiing before" and wrote my only ever review.
Very surprised, and impressed to be met by same staff this year - that says a lot, and the same all round good experience.

Brought another family with us and was worried about "over promising..." And relief, they're equally impressed and will be coming again!
We'll return now confidently with a group next year.

Two small suggestions - Start dinner a little earlier so families can get kids fed and to bed (May ease a few queues later too).
Sort out the outdated wifi method (here to ski, not work and is a hassle).

Keep up the great work.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank RogerF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Públ... P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Park Piolets MountainHotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Roger, Very happy to hear about your memorable stay, and about the team that was able to assist. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the future.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel itself is very nice. It's hard to tell if we got good value as we booked as part of a group. In any case, the single most frustrating aspect of the hotel is the wifi - none in the room, and a ridiculous token system at the front desk. Obviously you don't come to a ski resort to waste time online - but when you need to get something done it's ridiculous in this day and age to have to continually ask for tokens.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunkaluka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Públ... P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Park Piolets MountainHotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience with us. It’s so great to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. We express regret for the internet access if it did not work properly during your stay. This winter, we are offering a new and free system which works as a “Hotspot” to improve the wireless connection. Those users that are not active are automatically switched off to release the network and to achieve a better “signal” among those that are navigating. Nonetheless, we want to apologize for the inconvenience you had with the internet. We are giving this specific topic priority. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was our first experience of skiing which was made all the more enjoyable by staying at this hotel (evidently not to be confused with the Hotel Piolets in the village centre).

The food both at breakfast and in the evenings was very good with a wide selection on offer. Indeed in the evening there was also a chef on duty cooking fresh fish or meat if you did not fancy any of the wide selection offered by the hot/cold buffet.

The rooms were clean and spacious and the hotel well organised in respect of ski equipment ie hiring/buying/storing and provided a frequent shuttle service to the Gondola.

We enjoyed the Spa facilities including the outdoor hot tub.

The staff were generally friendly and any minor issues dealt with quickly and efficiently.

All round a good hotel and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimD_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Públ... P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Park Piolets MountainHotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We love to hear from our guests and so appreciate your feedback! We will certainly share your comments with the staff,

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Returned back from this hotel last night. Thought Id review today incase of people looking at booking. Firstly, there are 2 Hotel Piolets. One is this one (Piolets & spa) and then there is just Hotel Piolets. The 2nd is closer to Gondola but doesnt appear as nice, so be careful of dodgy reviews where they may have been reviewing the other hotel against this hotel.
This hotel is great for a skiing holiday. It has a large, spacious reception area (which smells lovely!!) Reception staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the hotel & resort.
Our room (506) was ideal for what we wanted. Granted, its not to the standard in one of the Thomas Cook pics (think that is a superiour room or something), but nice furniture, 2 twin beds (Very comfy...dont know why people are saying they arent...we slept solidly for 10hrs a night) Nice modern LCD TV (with a HDMI input, so if you have something (tablet etc) with HDMI out, fill it with films and you can watch them on the TV. Sadly, they only had 2 UK tv channels (BBC news and CNN). However, channel 18, 21 and 24 had English/American programmes on at certain times (channel 24 shows 2 episodes from Friends in the week day at 5.30!!) Our room was very spacious with great views on the balcony. There are more expensive hotels (Himalaya) which are further up the road and the rooms face the road and blocked of mountain views by anoter hotel). Piolets Spa has great views. Room was cleaned every day with fresh towells!
OK, now for the food. Yes, its not ideally piping hot, however, there is always a great selection of meat and fish-loads of starters and desserts too. Some arent labelled up, but the banquet staff are very helpful. The food is warm, just not roasting hot. There is always a chef on a grill plate each night frying up a fish and or meat, so those choices are always piping hot. We had to be very careful with the food due to an allergy to pepper. We emailed the hotel ahead of arrival and they advised that all the food is precooked (with spices). We thought we would have to eat out where they cook without pepper, but happily to say we were safe each night due to variety of food and fresh grill cooking. Drink prices were fine (no wine is more that 14euros a bottle and bottles of beer are 3euros...not bad for a hotel) Also the bar offer Sangria, cocktails (and sometimes they are 2for1 at happy hour)
The spa is fantastic. Yes, you have to pay 12euro each per entry each day (per person) but as we only paid £440 each for hotel and flights (at half board) we just added this cost to the price of the hotel... still came in at £500 each for everything!!...a lot cheaper that France, Austria and other Andorran hotels!! Plus, meaning you have to pay for entry means those that dont want to use it arent having to pay for this on their Tour Op bill.
Ski lockers are a bit of a pain. There are not many places to sit down to put skis on/off (a couple of benches and chairs...would be better if they had a row of these to get ready on). Good think is that lockers are free and based in the garage of the hotel. They offer a free minibus (2 or 3 of them) which means we only had to wait about 15mins at the most (most days was about 5min wait) Hotel is 2min drive from the gondola which is nice. Hotel offers rental shop in hotel, but we had booked online with a shop in the resort as there was no way of finding out prices from the hotel - so could have got there and it be expensive (sorry, dont know how much stuff is but seemed to have good variety of new skis/boards)
Wifi in the hotel is very good, Its only available in the reception (loads of sofas). We never had trouble connecting and uploading photos/vids to facebook etc even with about 30 people connected at any one time.
Skiing in soldeu is fantastic. We are intermediates and love to cruise the blues and reds. The areas is amazing for this. Loads of treelined runs and amazing snow this year.
If we go skiing again (legs are getting tired from it all nowadays) we are looking at going back to Soldeu and to this hotel...this is the first time we have said this in 7yrs skiing! I would deff recoomend this hotel - forget the dodgy reviews....obviously v fussh and not open minded!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank x9jpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Públ... P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Park Piolets MountainHotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

It is a great pleasure to read such a thoughtful and detailed review! We hope we get an opportunity to host you again on a future trip to Andorra.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks skiing holiday staying at the Ahotel Piolets Park and Spa. All in all we were more than satisfied with the hotel and would return. We had read the previous reviews but to be honest they didn't really seem to be for the same hotel that we stayed in. A couple of things could be improved though.

We arrived after a 4 hour fog delayed and diverted flight and were quickly checked in by friendly staff. The rooms were larger than expected and as we learnt had good heating. The balconies were nice with good views of the mountainside.

There was a happy hour in the bar, so 2 pints of San Miguel cost €3.50 between 5pm and 6pm. Just right after a days skiing :) There was a longer happy hour for cocktails, but we never ventured onto these!! The bar area was large, and never over crowded the week we were there.

As the hotel is just on the edge of the village, the hotel provide a free shuttle bus (8 seater van) from the ski lockers in the hotel to the gondola station. This worked very well with two vans being used during peak times and as it was well under 5 minutes to the gondola station, we never (and I mean never) had to wait for a van. It would be a 5-10 minute walk or so (longer carrying skis!) so walking into the village in the evenings is very easy and something we did each evening.

The only two minor issues were the type of food (not the quality) and the wifi.

The food was typical for Soldeu (and many many 4 star hotels these days). It was buffet style self service so you could eat what you wanted from the selection in any order you wanted! To cater for many different nationalities there was a wide selection of different food. It all looked good but it wasn't very well labeled. One of the part didn't like seafood and it was hard to have to keep asking passing staff of each dish was. The food we had all tasted good - by the end of the week it was getting a bit the same. There was always freshly cooked meat or fish, paella, stew and others, a wide range of salad and mostly fish starters, and usual deserts. We were more than full up!

The other minor issue was the wifi. It only officially worked in the bar area and it was limited by data transfer so every day or so it stopped working and you had to go and ask for another free code. When working the wifi was fast and no other problems.

So all in all, as with the other hotels we have stayed in in Soldeu, it was a good experience that we would repeat.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 1st floor, and the WIFI from the bar just worked in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Públ... P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Park Piolets MountainHotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing to share your experience. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your overall stay. Thanks for your feedback.

See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Party of 7 Jan 14 -3 older teens and 4 adults Great location with view of the slopes,definitely not a 4 star I would say 2+ Food repetitive the restaurant was badly managed as none of the dishes were labelled, we could see the food labels sitting in a pile most nights but they were never placed beside the dishes. The coffee and tea counter had no milk jug, at breakfast you had to walk down stairs and across the restaurant to the cereal counter to pour milk in your tea. 5 of the 7days staying at the hotel our room was not cleaned - extremely disappointing after a long day on the slopes all you want is a tidy room with clean towels, i don't think there was enough staff employed to clean all the rooms. The hotel lobby bar did not open until 4pm therefore if you wanted a coffee or a beer after the restaurant closed at 10am breakfast you had to source it elsewhere. The hotel has limited ski lockers and unfortunately we were unable to obtain one - the next option is to hire a locker at the Gondola €50 for the week it holds 5 sets of skis and boots. The hotel offers carparking at €12 per NIGHT, however there is a public carpark directly behind the hotel for €3 per day. We were able to see our car from our room. The ICEBERG bar attached to the hotel attracts a young loud crowd - it is by no means classy or cosy just a plain bar playing loud music serving cheap beer. If you have stayed in the Nordic or the Sport Hotel there is no comparison especially were the food is concerned. I can recommend FAT ALBERTS for a yummy meal 3 course including a prime streak approx €30. Would I stay in Apiolets again - NO! I would rather pay extra and dine on nicer food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor slope facing to avoid the noise from the main street and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank compass221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Públ... P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Park Piolets MountainHotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a thorough review. Regarding the hotel, we are sure that you were staying at the Hotel Piolets, the one located in front of the slopes, and not at the Piolets Park & Spa, a mountain resort located 300 m far away.

Regarding the buffet, we value your feedback, and we are introducing new dishes adapted to all tastes.

We hope you had a safe journey home and when the times comes for you to return to Andorra, please reach out to us in advance, as we would love to set you up for a better experience.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldeu
0.4 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 16 in Soldeu
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 16 in Soldeu
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Grau Roig Andorra Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sport Hotel
Sport Hotel
#7 of 16 in Soldeu
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piolets Soldeu Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park Piolets MountainHotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Piolets MountainHotel & Spa

Address: 19 Carretera General 2, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soldeu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soldeu
#2 Spa Hotel in Soldeu
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range: $220 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Park Piolets MountainHotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* mountain hotel, ideal for mountain lovers, families and a relaxing short break. It is situated 300 m away from the biggest ski station in southern Europe, Grandvalira and 18 km from Andorra la Vella with more than 1.500 shops. Hotel has 150 rooms. 76 Premium rooms completely renewed during 2016. All rooms have views onto mountains. Typologies available: double, triple, quadruple and suite. Buffet style restaurant with views onto the mountain and 8 show cooking areas. Lounge Bar with terrace. Mountain Wellness & Spa with dynamic swimming pool, indoor whirlpool, outdoor whirlpool, sauna and hammam. 7 health and beauty treatment cabins. Massage under request. Gym overlooking onto mountains. Kids' Club. Ski Room 100% renovated. Free shuttle to Soldeu ski station during winter. Sports shop with rental and sale. Outside car park and indoor garage. Room service. 24-hour reception. WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Park Piolets MountainHotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ahotels Piolets Park And Spa
Ahotels Piolets Park Hotel Soldeu
Ahotels Piolets Park Soldeu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing