We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hotel Bruxelles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bruxelles
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Soldeu
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Stayed here in mid January 2010. Quite a basic hotel but has everything you need (except a pool/jacuzzi) and the staff are very accommodating.

Rooms are pretty small, beds were comfortable and the bathroom was fine. The pressure in the shower was quite adequate and there was no problem with the water temperature. You can control the room temperature with a thermostat and there are electric shutters on the windows to block out the light. There is a safe in the room also but there's a €15 charge for the key (bit cheeky in my opinion). The cleaner does an excellent job and will usually tidy up your belongings as well as clean the room. At the end of our stay, she kindly left us a note, hoping we had a pleasant stay and that she did her job adequately. Funnily enough, the note was written on the back of an empty envelope, hmmm.

The restaurant downstairs is basic but again, adequate and kept well.

Breakfast every morning consisted of a croissant, Cocoa Pops or Corn Flakes for cereal, some bread, butter, jam and honey, a selection of tea/coffee/hot chocolate, orange juice and milk and a fruit bowl. A toaster was also provided but that was it.

Dinner on the other hand was much better. There was a set menu every night but they also provided a vegetarian option. If you didn't like the options, you could order an omelette which was delicious or for an extra €3, you could get a steak which was also very tasty. If you still were unhappy, they have a menu for the public to order from and you could order something from that at a discount of 10%.
Unfortunately, I can't remember everything we ate there but I do remember we had steak and a baked potato one night, roast chicken with chips and gravy another, fish and also spaghetti bolognese. It was all very nice but the deserts weren't very inspiring. A minor flaw.

The staff (there were only three or four at most) were very nice and very accommodating.

The location was okay. A short walk uphill to the gondola station but you could just cut across the car park below and down to the chair lift if you wanted to avoid queueing for the gondola (and the chair lift is faster too).

The only real negative I could say about this place is the noise from the street (if your room faces the street) and the noise from the restaurant (if you're staying in the basement or on the first floor). We stayed on the second floor but we heard complaints about the noise from the restaurant from people on the first floor (if they were trying to go to bed early). So your options are, stay out late-ish or make sure you get a room on the second or third floor, facing the slopes.

Overall, a very nice little hotel. If money is your main concern, this is the place for you. It's no frills value for money with very little downside.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank N4G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    75
    32
    12
    8
See reviews for
44
85
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We booked as part of a package deal and the holiday company block books the whole hotel. My husband, two teenagers aged 13 and 15 and I stayed here just after xmas and into new year 2010. The location could not be better being only 5 minutes walk from the Gondola Station in our ski boots and our room had a view of the mountain and the gondala lift. The ski wear locker provided by the hotel is perfect - no need to hire one near the lift as suggested by others...so we saved 60 euros. There is a good little supermarket next door which is great for drinks and snacks. The Hotel provides half board. I agree with everyone else - breakfast is very basic but the evening meals are pretty good and portions are large. Staff are friendly and super efficient. Hotel guests do have to sit down to eat at 7.00 pm - if you are later than 7.15 they will give your table away to non residents. Again agree with other reviews - we had the downstairs rooms below the kitchen - they were mega noisy until about midnight but we were so tierd from skiing all day that we crashed out anyway. Rooms were tiny but very very clean and the shower was brilliant. We all liked the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OXOlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Have just comeback from the 2009/2010 New Year week in the Bruxelles Hotel in Soldeu. Having read the previous reviews, we had mailed ahead about getting a room above the restaurant/kitchen rather than below, which is worth doing, as speaking to other guests who were below the restaurant, they did say it is noisy until the restauarnat closed at 11.00pm. The staircase up through the floors is the usual solid marble, so noise does travel as revellers come home.
That said, we really enjoyed the hotel, yes the room was small, but we were there to ski for 8 hours a day. It was immaculately clean at all times, all the staff were very friendly, and the food was excellant, with a different menu everyday, with 2 or 3 set alternatives for each course, if you did not like the dish of the day.
For our week, the whole hotel was completely full of Thomson/Crystal/First Choice/Top Flight holiday makers, and the Crystal rep was in the Hotel each morning and evening.
As well as the residents, the hotel appaered to do a roaring trade in serving meals to other skiiers from lunchtime onwards. The bar/reception area is pretty small, and you forget that in Spain, smoking indoors is allowed, so non smokers beware! (The same goes for the restaurants/cafes up on the slopes).
The Bruxelles is not the Ritz, but it is value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SlowDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We've stayed in other hotels in Soldeu (Sport, Piolets, Himalia & the Maistre), and although the Bruxelles is much smaller, it is by far the best place to stay. The dinner in the other hotels is mass produced for many people, but in this hotel you get freshly cooked food and a waiter service. There is a set menu, but you can ask for something else if you don't want whats being offered. The food is so good that even the ski instructors and locals eat there. It's a good place to eat lunch as well. The breakfast was disappointing, as you only get cereal, toast and a croissant. It can be noisy, but this is mainly due to other guests being loud and slamming their doors. We had a room on the first floor above the kitchen, facing the road, but if you keep the window closed all you hear is the other guests! The rooms are reasonably small and there are no baths, however they are kept very clean. We had no problems with the staff, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snoops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for the first week of Feb 2009. The hotel is quite small and quaint but cosy. The food is superb; every night a three course meal with a home made soup for starter. If you didn't like the meal that particular evening, the waitor will offer you a choice of at least 4 other dishes you can have. The food was faultless though and you can tell it was all freshly prepared.

We were in a room on the first floor and, if you have a young family going to be early, you may find it a little noisy as the hotel room doors tend to bang. However, most nights we weren't back until passed 10pm so we didn't notice any noise.

The facilities were excellent - powerful shower, and the rooms were cleaned and towels replaced daily.

The only downer about this is the ski (locker) room is down a steep ramp which is dangerous if it has snowed as it is very slippery but there is an alternative route to the room a little longer way around the hotel.

The staff were very friendly and I'd definately stay in this hotel again.

Hope this helps.

  • Liked — Food and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Sometimes can be noisy
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Divadobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2009

my partner and i stayed here christmas week 2008. we had great snow (were there for the skiing). it was clean, comfy and the staff bent over backwards looking after us - friendly and polite and catered to our veggie and allergy diets. i woudl return very happily. on the second floor and quiet room with view of slopes.

  • Liked — very central, clean, comfy, helped us with our veggie requirements
  • Disliked — twin beds not double
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank trekkerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed 21-28 Dec and had a brill time, I can't understand why so many people moan about this hotel. Our party consisted of 3 adults, a 15 year old and an 8 year old. We had a triple and a twin room for all our party and were located on 2nd floor, as Thomson had emailed the hotel in advance and asked for a higher floor, as we had read the previous reviews about noise. We never experienced any noise problems at all and the only inconvenience was there is no lift in the hotel - but not a problem. The rooms were cleaned every day including Xmas day and the staff were faultless!! There were several times we asked for assistance and they were more than willing to help. The food was of a very good standard and a lot of people do come to the hotel to eat but they always had our table available! The Xmas Gala dinner was FAB - so much so that we couldn't eat it all - and the waiting staff worked endlessly!!

I can't understand why this hotel is only rated as 2 star (maybe due to lack of various facilities) but I have stayed in higher rated hotels which were a lot worse than this.

The only thing we did to improve our stay was book a locker at the Gondola station as it is a bit of a struggle going back & forth in ski boots - was a bit pricey 60 euros for week but catered for all 5 of us.

The other luxery was booking a spa session at the Sport Hotel Wellness which is just HEAVEN!!

We will definately book again for next year and we WILL be staying at the Bruxelles again!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kbayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldeu
1.5 mi away
Hotel Segle XX
Hotel Segle XX
#1 of 2 in Ransol
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 16 in Soldeu
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 16 in Soldeu
486 reviews
4.1 mi away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#8 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bruxelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bruxelles

Property: Hotel Bruxelles
Address: 2 Ctra. General, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bruxelles 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bruxelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruxelles Hotel Soldeu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing