We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location only a few mins walk from gondola” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bruxelles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bruxelles
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Soldeu
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location only a few mins walk from gondola”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

A small hotel and bar and restaurant, 20 rooms only. The top room was great albeit some headroom restrictions but reduces night time noise. No lift so 3 flights of stairs can be tough in bringing luggage up.
Breakfast from 8 am which comprises cereal, toast, ham and cheese etc and this was ok although cooked eggs etc would be nice.
Dinner was restricted from 7 to7.30 for guests and was standard fare eg steak, spare ribs etc but reasonable quality, 3 courses. Options and alternatives are available. More green vegetables would be good.
Hotel was very clean and comfortable. Popular bar for non guests with lovely outside patio space.
Coffee and orange and snack set out for early breakfast start for end of holiday.
Nice hardworking team to try and keep you happy for your holiday

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    72
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
37
77
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We initially booked this hotel due to the price and location to the ski resort's Gondola.
We prefer ski in ski out locations, but this is the best alternative. The hotel has it's own ski lockers at the Gondola Station, which is a few hundred yards up the road. No walking in ski boots up the hill!
The rooms are small, but be honest, if you are on a ski holiday and you think the room is small, you aren't skiing hard enough during the day! Non of the rooms have balconies which is a pity as the back of the hotel gets the sun all day. Many of the rooms are interconnecting. This can cause noise problems, but if you are a noisy person, then you need to keep quiet. The owners of the hotel live on site and there are enough signs asking you to be quiet. The back of the hotel does look over the main runs back into the town and as they get pisted at night you can hear them. This is normal in a ski resort, they wouldn't piste them during the day because you want to ski! If you can't sleep for the noise, then take ear defenders, or ski harder during the day so that you are tired at night. What do you want? Well groomed pistes, a hotel near to the lifts or badly groomed runs and a very long walk in ski boots to the lifts! You can't have it all ways.
Thanks to a previous review, we noted there wasn't a kettle in the room, so we took a travel kettle and some coffee and hot chocolate etc.
Someone else said that you couldn't have the windows open. At night we closed the shutters, so that the gaps were showing ( you'll know what I mean when you see them) then we opened the window and put the (false) curtain behind it to keep it ajar. The ventilation was great this way.
The rooms are kept every clean and tidy and, no, they don't change the bed during the week, but how often do you change your sheets at home? This is a small family run hotel, not a 5 star luxury hotel!
Food, nobody as far as I could see had any complaints whilst we were there. We certainly didn't. Breakfast was continental, croissants, toast, cereal, jams, honey, cheese, ham, orange juice, tea, coffee. Enough to get you going, if you want more, then go to a more expensive hotel.
Evening meals were based on their 3 course meal at €13.40: soup; meat with vegetables and a small pudding. But for a supplement you can have anything off the evening menu. Well worth the extra €2.70 for a steak with pepper sauce! I am vegetarian and the choices were wonderful for me. Many of our fellow guest had the burgers, which (to me) looked huge. The roast chicken dinners went down well and ice cream for pudding was definately a favourite. Be warned, this hotel is every popular with non guests and you are asked to go to dinner between 19:00 and 19:30. After this time your table will be given to visitors. Many of our fellow guests fell foul of this and had to eat in the bar area. We even came down and had lunch here on one of the days (it was snowing and a storm had come in and only one run was open) we weren't disappointed. Between us we had a pizza €11.00, enough for two. The crepes are a favourite with visitors and I can recommend the Nachos as a cheap filler! On the lunch menu sandwiches are €5, Chicken and chips €11 to steak at €19, burgers (no salad) are €6, pasta €10, crepes €3-6. They boast having 50 varieties of sandwich! The terrace is always full on sunny days and gets the sun from 11am in the morning to 6pm in the evening, but if you want a cheap beer the Aspen over the road is cheaper ( but no terrace).
My only negative, and it is a small thing, is that there is no where to go in the hotel after your evening meal. The hotel is very well patronated by locals and guests of other hotels, so it gets busy in the evening. But there were plenty of (cheaper) bars nearby to sit and talk about the days skiing.
Things to remember about this place should you be going. Firstly, the wi-fi is €2 a day, but we managed to get 3 devices on this each day, the safe is also €15. The TV in the room has limited channels, in fact only 2 English ones and they are news channels. Not that I watch TV when on holiday, but a music channel would be nice.
But, all that said, all in all, a great home from home, family run, clean hotel. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. We liked it so much we are going back next year!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Went for a ski holiday in February 2014 and loved this place! It's right in the middle of Soldeu and though small, it's a fantastic hotel! The food was great and freshly cooked every night, the rooms were clean and comfortable and we had a fantastic view of the mountain. Staff were incredibly helpful and always had a smile. Only slight complaints are the lack of a bath (though the shower is very good!) and that the walls were very thin!!!! Would absolutely return, great value for money!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zoot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Let's start on the positives, very nice very clean hotel, food was very nice good quality, if there is anything you don't like like they are happy to change the menu for you,all the staff very helpful, rooms always cleaned to a high standard, the only downfall, there is no where for guests to sit when he restaurant is filling up numerous time we was ask to move tables to accommodate outsiders, if your late for dinner 7.00/7.30 times allowed your table is given up and you have to wait until a table is free which you could end up eating your dinner on the bar,take a travel kettle as none in room I would recommend and will be going back to this little gem of a hotel

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds united kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

In the middle of the town 2 min walk to gondola
Then hotel staff couldn't do enough for us pleasant friendly the food was amazing
Also our friends daughter travelled from Barcelona for 3 days it was no trouble to accommodate her
The rooms were always clean and tidy

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Really enjoyed our weeks stay at the Bruxelles hotel, it's located on the main road going through Soldeu, with great access to shops and bars. The gondola lift is a 5 minute walk up the main road and the hotel supplies lockers for your equipment in the gondola station which is really handy. The rooms are fairly modern and are kept clean, however the walls between rooms are very thin and doors tend to slam shut, coupled with the fact there's no curtains to keep out the light we had several unrestful nights sleep. The breakfast is a small simple continental buffet which sets you up nicely for the day. Dinner is a 3 course set menu each night which is varied and very tasty. The waiters and staff are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again as Soldeu and El Tarter is a brilliant ski resort and the hotel added to the experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitea88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from Bruxelles, which exceeded our expectations.
Rooms are very clean and comfortable, the evening meal was excellent with a basic continental breakfast. The staff were very friendly and the use of a locker at the gondola was a great bonus.

As mentioned in previous reviews the sounding proofing is not great, I think if the hotel put carpets in the rooms it would help.
We will definitely come back and stay next year.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WynWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldeu
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
0.0 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 17 in Soldeu
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Segle XX
Hotel Segle XX
#1 of 2 in Ransol
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 17 in Soldeu
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
4.1 mi away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#8 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bruxelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bruxelles

Property: Hotel Bruxelles
Address: 2 Ctra. General, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bruxelles 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bruxelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruxelles Hotel Soldeu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing