We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Soldeu
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great location and only a short walk to the local shops and ski slopes. The rooms, although basic are presented well and feature some nice additions such as a DVD player and television. The large headed shower was certainly welcomed after long days on the slopes! The basement bar is great and relatively inexpensive although we found the restaurant to be only substandard in its offerings.

A word of warning, don't be surprised to see an additional charge presented to you at the start of your stay for cleaning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoc, Owner at Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your time to make a review.
It is important that it is understood this review is for our self catering apartment, not the hotel.
As in nearly all self catering apartments daily housekeeping is not included, but we do offer it. For the apartment, if clients do not wish to do a basic end of stay clean there is an extra charge.
When staying in the rooms of the hotel daily housekeeping is always included in the price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    43
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
36
31
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were lucky to get the March big dump in our week (1st March) and the skiing was awesome.
As previous reviewers have said the staff are very helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. The bar and restaurant are good and the food is really good value for money.
The walk up to the Gondola is only 10 minutes and quite nice, downhill on the way back which is always better :)
Going half board is definitely worth while, we ate out one evening at Borda del Rector which is a short walk down the hill towards El Tarter and was very nice grilled meats. Recommend the half shoulder of lamb.
Overall would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovehippopotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Brilliant stay at the Hotel Roc. Absolute bargain of a place and deserving of far more than its 2 stars. The rooms were spacious, very clean and nice and warm. The shower was excellent and the breakfast was great value. Most importantly, Paul behind the bar was really friendly and gave us some great recommendations of where to eat in town (tapas and all you can eat ribs both excellent) and took us on a day's guided skiing which was one of my favourite ski days ever. He was so helpful and knowledgeable and completely made the holiday.

I cannot recommend this place and Soldeu overall enough and will definitely be booking again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorenzo182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

From the moment Pete met us at the airport right through to the manager Paul taking us back, nothing was too much trouble at this hotel. Yes, it is a 2 star Hotel, but the personal touch you get from all of Nick's staff is invaluable. What these guys don't know about Soldeu, Skiing and the surrounding Grandvalira area isn't worth knowing. As we are releatively inexperienced skiers , we appreciated the excellent advice that Paul and Pete gave us. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the shower was powerfull and hot. Breakfast was continental style with fresh bolied eggs most mornings. Evening meals were massive and the chef always had a spanish twist to the specials eg spanish meatballs were fab. The hotel is around 800 metres down the hill from the centre of Soldeu, an easy 10 min walk or the landrover shuttle from 9am each morning was bliss. Tips - the ski lockers at the Gondola station can take 6 skis with boots 50Euros for 6 days. Also, if you do not want to ski all day, purchase a 9am-12 noon ski pass (it was enough for us) and you can catch the Gondola ride back down to the centre anytime after 12 as it is free. Thanks to Nick,Paul and Pete for making our ski holiday. Hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PKMBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I've stayed twice at the Roc de Sant Miquel and both times were excellent! The staff are so friendly and welcoming! They make sure that everything runs so smoothly!

The breakfast and dinner were both great. Room was lovely! No complaints at all!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from a week at Hotel Roc booked via "The Adventure Company" for a weeks activity holiday and can't find anything to be disappointed with . The hotel which runs more like a chalet than a hotel and that gives a personal/family feeling to your stay; our group of 19 were the only one in the hotel. Room were comfortable with good powerful showers; nothing more than basic amenities but everything that we required for our stay.

Great breakfasts, and excellent value packed lunches set us up well for days filled with hiking, mountain biking, Zip-lining and rafting; the evenings were filled a variety of entertainment from quiz night to a live music evening and we ended with week with ice karting which was a great adrenalin filled way to finish. The highlight of the evening meals was the Tapas on our last night, plentiful and delicious but there was always plenty to eat........ and drink of course.

All of the staff we encountered were great, Andy, Stuart, Sarah and Sam the guides, Angie who ran the bar/restaurant and Nick the owner made our stay what it was. I can highly recommend Hotel Roc for adventure seekers - if you are looking for the 4-5 Star hotels go further up the hill but if you want a comfortable base for your adventure based stay in Soldeu then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoc, Owner at Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind and honest review, glad you had a great week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here recently on an adventure holiday. Great breakfasts and packed lunches but the evening meals were a little bland. However, the staff really made this holiday - very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was small but perfectly adequate (we are talking 2 star here after all). I loved the shower - a paint stripper if you know what I mean! - just perfect after a hard day out walking/biking etc etc. Nick (the owner) is lovely and Angie who runs the bar was very helpful. The rooms were cleaned perfectly every day. The towels are only changed once a week so you should take extras if this is a problem. You can set up a tab at the beginning of the week for drinks and packed lunches and pay at the end.

It's only a 5-10 minute walk into Soldeu where there are plenty of lovely bars. Be aware it is uphill on the way into town.

There are dogs at the hotel but they are very friendly. The views from the hotel are excellent and it strange to see a ski resort with no snow. The area is lovely to walk in and we had a great week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue190747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldeu
0.5 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 17 in Soldeu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galanthus & Spa
Hotel Galanthus & Spa
#5 of 17 in Soldeu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#4 of 17 in Soldeu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parador Canaro
Hotel Parador Canaro
#1 of 3 in Incles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel

Property: Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel
Address: Carretera General, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a two star chalet hotel in walking distance to the ski slopes ofSoldeu, Andorra. We pride ourselves on a warm and friendly familly run hotel, giving you the best value stay in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing