We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Soldeu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good and bad.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Overall a disappointing stay, even after considering the price paid. We took the bed and breakfast option. The staff tried to upsell to half board once we arrived. And every other time we met from then on. We like to eat out so it was not an option for us. Judging by the basic and simple breakfast, we made the right decision. The room was small and basic ( we were prepared for this- so not a complaint). I noticed a few ants in our bathroom on the first night, but they seemed to disappear until the last night when I awoke itching all over to find by bed and the bedside table covered in ants. On the plus side, staff were very helpful, the lounge area was pretty good, We got a discount on our liftpasses- although the staff tried to use the discount as a bargaining tool to get us to sign up to halfboard. They basically said they will not offer us a discount on our passes unless we go halfboard ( no mention of this on website). I must state though, that when pushed they agreed to give us the liftpass discount.
Overall we had a great time in Soldeu, the hotel problems didn't stop us having a good time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Submit111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    43
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
36
31
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've stayed in the Roc a couple of times now and I really love the place! The guys who run it and work there are so friendly and helpful and full of great advice no matter what your plans are. Without a doubt this is the best value hotel in Soldeu. During ski high season most of the hotels are pretty pricy, even the basic places. The Roc is a little bit further down the road from the telecabine so I guess this is why it's always cheaper. However don't let that put you off as they will drive you up to the telecabine in the morning so you don't have to drag all your stuff up the hill. The walk back is only 10mins and it's all downhill so not a problem. The rooms are basic but have everything you need, the decor is more modern than a lot of other ski hotels I've stayed in in the Pyrenees. Warm and plenty of hot water so no problems. Good food on offer for breakfast and dinner at decent prices. The bar / restaurant area is great too. Very chilled out and a great atmosphere. Fussballe table, board games, big screen tv and free wifi. They also have a couple of very friendly dogs who will happily sit across your feet while you have a coffee in the morning! Views of the mountains from a lot of the rooms and space to park for free on the small road down to the hotel. Although be careful about going down the short road if there is a lot of snow or ice; make sure you can get back up and have some chains or socks with you! The first time I stayed here there was huge dumps of snow all week and we had trouble getting up to Andorra from Toulouse. Eventually we arrived about 10pm after a 4 hour drive, we rang ahead to warn them and they kept the kitchen open for us to have some dinner. One of the guys then sat with us for 30mins giving us advice on where to go and what to do when on the mountains the next. Likewise in the summer they do lots of hiking, cycling and rafting excursions. Far more for your money in this hotel than anywhere else in Soldeu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventureplease37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E London
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had a great stay here. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Location was better than I expected also - about a 5 to 10 min walk to the main gondola (slight uphill on the way there but nothing too bad).
But also got a lift a couple of times in the Land Rover run by Nick (probably could have got a lift more often but didn't mind the walk, not too bad even with ski equipment). Eat breakfast every day at the hotel and a couple of evening meals - really impressed with the food and just what you need before / after a day's skiing.
Room was basic but clean, just what was needed. Great value for money and would definitely return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Recently back from ski holiday in Soldeu and stayed at this really great friendly little hotel. The owner Nick and the on-site manager Paul both bend over backwards to help with anything asked, and the food is more 3 to 4 star, which is more what this little gem is, rather than the 2 star it is allocated! It has a lovely rustic atmosphere, and the food and drinks are very reasonable. Go for the half-board option as you get way more than your money's worth! I will certainly be back, as it will feel like coming home. NB. For skiers there is a free transfer service between 9 and 9:30am up to the lift station, and they can also help get discounted lift passes on-line through their hotel site, but beware VISA users for some reason Verified by VISA does not like this site as had huge problems getting it validated...something I have complained to VISA about!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but I love the loft/attic rooms as very private and great view through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently stayed for a one week ski trip. We had originally booked this place based on tripadvisor reviews so felt I should return the favor. This is a lovely traditional style hotel with just around 12 bedrooms. This is a bar and dining area in lower level. The room was a great size with lovely views. There is a good size ensuite with shower/bath option. Room has a small table with kettle/cups which was really nice. Good storage for all our stuff and unlike alot of hotels good lighting in the room! The breakfast is excellent and general comment on food in this hotel is fresh - everything is super fresh. Good choice of cereals, yogurts, juices, fruit, the most gorgeous bread. I was very happy to be having weetabix with warm milk every morning! Nice ham/cheese every day also. Dinner in the evening is excellent...beautiful fresh salad buffet and different starter, main course & dessert every evening. Loads of food to fill the largest of appetites!! The bar is really nice and doesn't have that hotel bar feeling, nice atmosphere and feels like being in a pub. Very cosy and family orientated..good range of games for younger folks. Location wise it is a 10 minute (max) uphill walk in the morning to the gondola station and 5 minutes downhill back to the hotel in the evening! The hotel offer a lift up to the gondola station each morning, we just used it once as we preferred to walk...if you are worried about location - don't be its perfect and super quiet at nighttime :) In terms of value for money this place is fantastic for the times that are in it. Really nice staff, well run and offering a great service for a fair price...perfect and I would definitely recommend. I shall stay here in future trips.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies..nice option to request when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emamcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel has a fantastic team of staff, who very quickly make you feel part of the Hotel Roc family. They go out of their way to make your holiday enjoyable and help you to have a great time. The hotel is a short walk from resort centre, and to aid when carrying ski equipment, Nick (Hotel Manager and guide) runs a Land Rover shuttle service up to the Gondola station first thing in the morning. Nick can also help with booking discount ski-passes. The hotel is warm and confortable, with free wi-fi in the rooms. There is a very good range and quantity of food for breakfast, dinner and packed lunches. Paul (Bar Manager, expert off-piste ski-guide, wildlife guide) looks after you in the evenings in the bar and restaurant, creating a very relaxing and enjoyable end to the day's activities. Both Nick & Paul are very knowledgeable about Andora's culture, history, & wildlife. Overall, the Hotel Roc team create a fantasic holiday.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_B186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A ten minute walk from the resort centre, the hotel is basic but great value. The staff were very friendly, and the breakfast had a good selection.

The room was a good size and it was handy to have a kettle in the room as not many do in Andorra. Good hot shower too!

Very easy to find, just off the main road, and has free parking.

I'd definately recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldeu
0.5 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 17 in Soldeu
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galanthus & Spa
Hotel Galanthus & Spa
#4 of 17 in Soldeu
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 17 in Soldeu
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parador Canaro
Hotel Parador Canaro
#1 of 3 in Incles
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel

Property: Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel
Address: Carretera General, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a two star chalet hotel in walking distance to the ski slopes ofSoldeu, Andorra. We pride ourselves on a warm and friendly familly run hotel, giving you the best value stay in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing