We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and Clean, but smokey, noisy hotel and awful food”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Austria
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Soldeu
Northamptonshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Functional and Clean, but smokey, noisy hotel and awful food”
Reviewed February 17, 2009

We've stayed in 2 and 3 star hotels during cheap get-away ski weekends many times so know what to expect. This hotel is just as described on the website ~ a decent, clean place to stay. The front of house team are efficient rather than friendly.

We had a really tiny room with minimal storage that had a view of the concrete wall at the back of the hotel ~ but we were there for the skiing so that wasn't a problem. The room, although tiny, was clean and bright and had twin beds, although these were different heights, one being a fixed bed and one being a good quality camp style bed ~ but clean and comfortable. The room was clean although there was broken glass on the bedroom floor, which my foot found ~ my fault for walking around barefoot! We tried to turn the TV on a couple of days in to the break; it didn't work, which was a shame but not really a problem.

The floor has marble-type tiles which we think are heated ~ the rooms are lovely and warm but the heat definitely wasn't coming from the radiators in the room ~ I suspect they are no longer used following a previous overhaul of the hotel.

The bathroom was clean and big enough, with the usual deep but short bath and overhead shower. Plenty of hot water.

The restaurant staff and bar staff are lovely, friendly, good natured and happy to please, but the food is really awful. We stayed half board but should have stayed B&B. Wine and water prices are OK, with a large bottle of water priced at 3 euro and a bottle of house wine just over 10 euro. The bar area is nice with a range of seating areas, a TV, an electronic dart board, a pool table and table top football. There's a 'Blues Brothers' theme on the go, with music to match. Nice big drink measures and prices are OK.

Location was as stated ~ just outside of Soldeu. We used our hire car and parked at the El Tarter car park each day (free) so no problems there. There seemed to be a frequent ski bus service as we saw lots too and from the slopes each day. We parked on the main road outside the hotel each evening ~ we never had a problem finding somewhere to put the car.

The skiing is great, a variety of slopes at different levels, well prepared and maintained, although signposting could be a lot better ~ I often found myself tackling a slope above my preferred level! Lots of lifts with queues but it was the French school hols and the start of the British half term too. Staff on the lifts were friendly and helpful and there's a great choice of slope side bars/cafes, most of which had a great atmosphere. We had to use snowchains for the first time, otherwise I don't think we would have made the journey up to the resort in one piece !

The big drawbacks of this hotel, for us was:

1/ smoking is allowed in the hotel ~ as non smokers we did not appreciate this ~ I prefer to sleep in a smoke free room and drink in a smoke free bar and have nice smelling hair and clothes.

2/ marble floors and ski boots do not mix ~ not only did the floors in the entrance lobby get wet and slippery, the noise was ~ well ~ noisy with people clumping up and down the stairs in the mornings and late afternoons ~ not the end of the world for us but would be a real pain for people wanting to have a snooze before heading for the evening session.

3/ we've never stayed in such a noisy hotel ~ with noise carrying from rooms next too, above and below, the stairways etc etc. Expect plenty of interruptions during the night unless you are a really sound sleeper.

That said, we were there to ski, knowing we could catch up on sleep, and wash our smoke smelling clothes, when we got home !

For the price, the hotel is just OK, but we definitely wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessicabunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    15
    8
    8
See reviews for
7
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2008

After reading other people's reviews on this hotel...i really dont know what peoples problems are.

The hotel as CLEARLY STATED in the BROCHURE and on the INTERNET is indeed 2km out of the main resort of Soldeu.
There are public buses that do run frequently (every 30 mins, although they do stop running quite
early on in the evening) The mountain does however provide a free bus to take you to and from the gondola station, however this only runs about every hour and a half. (not often enough really but hey it's free)

With regards to the hotel itself. again as CLEARLY STATED the hotel is 2 star. although it is by far the best 2 star accomodation i have ever stayed in. The rooms are quite small (but in a ski resort who spends alot of time in there room? other than to sleep, most normal people spend all day on the mountain) but the rooms do have a TV (limited english channels), wardrobes dressing tables, etc. and all rooms are en-suit. what more do you need?

There is a nice friendly atmosphere in the hotel, with Carlos behind the bar (always smiling and helpful) The reception is manned 24 hours a day, and the restaurant is well staffed.

The food in the restaurant is buffet style, with a normal choice of Cerial, english fried breakfast, continental, fruits, breads juices....etc etc...
while the evening meal is superb, there is always at least 2 different meat dishes to choose from, fish dish, pasta dish, veg, chips, potato's, salad and cold meat bar. wide range of deserts, bread and also soup.

Also as we had booked with First Choice we had a very friendly rep available pretty much all the time called Jon....who was always willing to help or just have a chat and a laugh. although jon's tuesday night quiz had a few random questions thrown into it.

Overall i think for the money, The hotel Austria is 100% spot on and would/will definately return.
If people expect 5 star accomodation then they should pay 5 star accomodation money.

Hotel value for money - 100%
Food - 100%
Cleanliness - 100%
Posistion of hotel - 75%
overall - 100%


one last thing, whoever wrote in their reveiw that it was like a motorway running past the hotel........?
There is no motorway in Andorra, and there is only one road through Andorra from France to Spain......So how else is Traffic supposed to get from one place to another.........CLOSE THE WINDOW.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — distance to nightlife
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Born2board
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

I have just returned from staying in the worst hotel......... The Hotel Austria was dreadful. For a start, the rooms were depressing and dark and we slept on camp beds, where all the springs had gone so when you lay down you sank. Then there was the road noise. We were in 102 which was at the front of the hotel, and it was like a motorway running outside the hotel. It lies on the main arterial road from France to Andorra and then into spain, and at all hours there is extremely fast traffic driving past outside.
So we changed rooms on day 3, to a room at the back, which was tiny, had a view of a concrete wall about 10 metres away, but at least we had escaped the constant noise of traffic. Just when all was going ok, we discoverd we could hear everything our neighbours were doing next door. Music blaring shower curtain being pulled, talking loudly, but top it off, slamming doors, and turning the key in the lock, every 5 minutes when they went in and out.

It was a nightmare, and I think I have never slept so little on a holiday ever berfore. (Usually I'm a very sound sleeper). They would return at 4 am and wake my up coming in and then I wouldn't get back to sleep so would ski then next day completely knackered.

THen there was the bath............ i'm 5 ft 3 and I felt cramped. We had a baby 1 yr old who fitted in there perfectly, the TV is mainly spainish channels. THe doors slam like crazy. The electric sockets are dodgy, the light switches flick on and off when your lying in bed, floor is flithy, then to top it all off your miles out of Soldeu, reliant on buses which are infrequent, and unreliable.

Rude waitressing staff, very bad food, espeically dinner, when your starving from your day of skiing the last thing you want is some overcooked , dried up mush, poor quality meat just bones etc, and cheap desserts. I lost 6 lbs in one week from staying at the hotel. Perhaps a good thing, but not when you're on holiday.

In a nut shell, IDONT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE, ONLY YOUNG LARGE GROUPS WHO WANT TO STAY OUT ALL NIGHT ANF WAKE UP FELLOW GUESTS ON THEIR RETURN. A VERY DISSAPOINTING HOLIDAY. SKIING GREAT THOUGH, JUST DON'T STAY IN THIS HOTEL.....!!!!!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank pingpongUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Soldeu hotels

Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2008

This hotel is very near the centre of soldeu, just 2k and there are local buses however it can be a pain and the walk back up best avoided. The hotel was cheap and lovely and warm but fairly quiet and just that litle bit too much of a hassle o go back down to Soldeu in the evening unfortunately. Breakfast was great but the evening meal tended to be over-salty no matter what it was.

I would recommend this if you're looking for a cheap skiing holiday.

  • Liked — cheap and warm
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BoardingBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

Stayed here last ski season and got a great price deal but there's a reason the Hotel Austria often comes up cheapest! The hotel itself is about a 1.5km hike UPHILL from Soldeu centre and the free bus was almost non-existent when we were there so we got taxis to and from the slopes most days - around 5 euros each way. you think you're saving money by staying at somewhere out of town like the Hotel Austria but actually you end up spending more on transportation and hiring a ski locker so beware of false economies.
The hotel itself was clean and the staff friendly enough but the food was pretty grim, the heating was either completely off and you were freezing or wouldn't shut off so you had to sleep with the windows open, and the walls are paper thin so bring ear plugs or you'll be up all night.
If you're trying to go skiing on the cheap, this is a good bet but be forewarned about the quality of the food, the hotel's location and the noise!

  • Liked — clean and friendly staff
  • Disliked — noisy, too far from slopes, below-par food
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smellymel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2007

After reading the reviews I was a little scared of what may be in store .
Anyway it was better than I expected and ideal if you are on a budget. The first choice rep was helpful and the food was fine.
Just make sure you get a locker in the town because you can't walk into town and the bus service is not that reliable, especially after early evening.
I will try and stay in the town next time but would have no problem staying at the Austia if price meas I have to.
The ski school is excellent as was the sun. I just wish the southern europeans were a little more polite at the lifts and if i was a little bigger i would have taught them a few manners!

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank UkSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset, uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2007

We stayed at this hotel from 18th to 25th February and were told by our travel agent(hotel was booked over the phone) that the hotel is 500m from Soldeu centre, this is not the case. The hotel is 2.5 km from Soldeu along the main road which is not lit at night and has no pavement. There is a bus service which apparently runs from about 8am to 8pm but has to be the most unreliable bus service we've ever seen!
On a few occasions we waited at the scheduled time, nothing arrived, one of our party waited an hour one evening, no bus arrived,Other guests waited for the last bus back from the village but that didn't arrive either.
Basically the location and the poor bus service mean any plans for apres ski etc need to involve taxis. These are about 20 euros when pre-booked but can be flagged down for 5 euros if you can find one. Be warned!
Also , the hotel is advertised as 3 star, this is stretching the imagination, room service consisted of the bed being made and that's it as far as we could tell, the bathroom was never cleaned,floor not cleaned either.
There is a tv (which was broken in our room) but you have to pay extra for it. and even then it's only spanish stations! Also in our room the entire socket came out of the wall when we plugged something in it. If you do book a room here then at the front they will be noisy because of the road and at the back they are cupboard sized and the rooms we had were also unbearably hot in spite of us asking for the thermostats to be adjusted.The windows were large and at low level with nothing to stop small children leaning or even falling out..
The buffet was ok and plentiful but be quick with the hot food as it didnt stay warm for long once it was put out onto the buffet.
The games room was dire, pool queue's with no tips on etc and the 'disco' simply didn't exist.
Basically, the hotel is tatty and not a great place to stay so stay in the village if you can,

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank atctourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soldeu hotels
0.0 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 16 in Soldeu
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 16 in Soldeu
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bruxelles
Hotel Bruxelles
#9 of 16 in Soldeu
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pierre et Vacances BORDES D'ENVALIRA Andorra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Property: Hotel Austria
Address: 22 Carretera General Km | Bordes d´Envalira, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Soldeu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing