We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Austria
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Soldeu
Easingwold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was a bit wary as to the standards of the hotel when reading previous reviews but I have to say that they were all crushed when I arrive at the Hotel. It would be foolish to expect luxuries and flashy facilities for the price I paid but this was excellent value for money.

The rooms were comfortable enough, the batroom was adequate and the cleanliness was good. True, some areas could do with a bit of refurbishment but they are perfectly acceptable as they are now. Contrary to what was siad in some reviews, I did not find the room or the communal areas (bar, restauranr, lobby) to be too hot. All that was needed accasionally was to open the window of the room a bit for a while.

Food was also good, nothing fancyfull, just wholesome, well cooked meals. Pasta was available every day as well as 2 meat dishes, 1 fish dish, chipes and vegetable. Breakfast was also acceptable albeit in a continental way. Coffee, juices, cereals, yogurth, fruit, bread, cold meats and cheese were always plentyful.

However, the best of this hotel is the staff. Everyone and I mean everyone was friendly, helpful, atenttive and willing to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

All in all, a great choice if what you want is a nice, comfortable hotel when you come back from the slopes. Mind you, you need a car to get to the lifts although that did not bother us at all. I would highly recommend this hotel to those who are on a budget and do not expect but comfort.

Room Tip: Ask fior rooms with views to the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elcole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
7
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

It is a good place to rest. People i very kind and the cleaner room woman tide even your t-shirts.

The barman is the best. Carlos from Alicante. You can ask him whatever about snowboard.

You have Grau-Roig about 2km length and almost 5km length Tarter. But you'll be skiing in a few minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarioRico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

We got stuck here on a motorcycling trip through Andorra after the weather closed in and we struck gold! Fantastically friendly and helpful staff who couldn't do more to help. 5stars from all 3 of us. Budget accommodation but clean and spacious. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

If you are looking for a hotel with 5 star amenities then look elsewhere, but this is the best value budget hotel that I have stayed in on any of my recent ski trips. The staff are all friendly and welcoming and sorted out any problems that we had. The rooms were basic but adequate and were always warm enough. In my opinion, the food was really good. There was always plenty of it and it was always hot.
The hotel is situated about two miles outside the main resort of Soldeu so you need to get a bus, but this is no problem as they are frequent.
Of the 6 people in our group, we had no complaints and have already talked about booking up here for next year ( guess it helped that we had a great ski week as well with plenty of snow). There is a nice bar with pool and football table for the evenings. If you want to be at the centre of the nightlife then look elsewhere ( but you will pay more money for it).
I found a few of the reviews on here a bit surprising as there were quite a few grumbles but for the money this is great value. Recommended for skiing on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We have just enjoyed a excellent skiing vacation in Andorra. Prior to our trip we did have doubts about this hotel. However, after a pleasant stay we can'nt recognise the negative reviews. Our experience might be due to the improved management some has written about or the fact that we are less demanding - I don't know.

The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. Our room was clean when we arrived and cleaned every morning after we had left. The bathroom had a bathtub and towells were changed when left on the floor in the morning.

We did find the hotel noisy at times, which mostly were due to the fact that it is a concrete building without carpets on the floors - even in the rooms. At night the hotel was quiet. The bed in our room was bad, but we both had a good sleep anyway. The morning and evening buffet was ok and there were plenty of food. There were several evening dishes to choose from every night and none were salty, as some has stated. Throughout our stay the desserts were not to our liking, but the Spanish guests seemed to like them.

As for the location of the hotel 2 kilometers outside Soldeu, this was'nt a problem as the ski bus operated every half hour during the morning and afternoon hours. The bus took us to Soldeu in 5 minutes for 1.50 Euros each. There is no public transport after 9.30 in the evening, which leaves taxi as the only option for nightly outings to the other towns. Walking on the main road is not safe at any time as there is no space left for pedestrians.

We chose to rent a locker at the main gondola in Soldeu and leave your skis and boots there. There is no storage room at Hotel Austria (hoever, ski equipment is allowed in the rooms) The locker in Soldeu will cost you 50 Euros for week, but up to 5 people can share.

We booked the room 3 months in advance and were given a discount. Comparable hotels in central soldeu will cost you the double. For the price Hotel Austria is very good value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pelean69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Soldeu hotels

Teignmouth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

Stayed here for a week, skiing. The hotel is basic but clean, the food is not fantastic but there was several choices. Our room was small but warm,clean and comfortable.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, we would stay here again as it is very reasonable
and although you need to get the bus into Soldeu, its a good service and only takes 5 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cludasdulac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

This is clearly a 2 star hotel.

The main problems is the room are very dirty, they never cleaned the room and bathroom floor during our one week stay.

The food was reasonable for the price/quality, but always salty even after we and other guests had complained about it. This is very big issue for health. Probably they just wanted to force people to buy more drinks.And most of the times was the same food, after the 4th day we had to eat in other restaurant as we couldn't take the same food again.

The facilities are almost none or you have to pay, there is only 1 dryer for the whole hotel. Internet was way too expensive (1€ for 10 min). The safe was in the lobby and cost 5€, for 3 days.

Staff are very rude
.
We wouldn't recommend this hotel and definitely won't come to this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjoanasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soldeu hotels
0.1 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 17 in Soldeu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.0 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 17 in Soldeu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sport Hotel
Sport Hotel
#9 of 17 in Soldeu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bruxelles
Hotel Bruxelles
#8 of 17 in Soldeu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Property: Hotel Austria
Address: Carretera General Km 22 | Bordes d´Envalira, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Soldeu
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Soldeu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing