We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in excellent location.”
Review of Himalaia Soldeu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Himalaia Soldeu
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Soldeu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Staff were generally very helpful and friendly. Room bit shabby needed a lick of paint. No coffee/tea making facilities in room which woul have been nice. Interior mini-bar dirty. Food quality generally good and reasonably diverse. We stayed 7 nights and we would say 2 nights food was quite poor quality and cold/Luke-warm. Free Wi-Fi was a bonus and locker area was excellent. Overall we enjoyed our week's skiing and the overall facilities.

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 521 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

Before staying at this hotel, I was very sceptical due to the recent reviews posted here on trip advisor. If it is luxury that you are looking for then do not go to the Himalaia, go the the sports village or even more luxurious is the sports hermitage. However, the Himalaia is great for a base and is a perfectly located as it is close to the gondola and main bars. The rooms are large with a separate bedroom and also a kitchen and dining area. We were on the fourth floor at the back of the hotel and there was no noise. The rooms are warm but there are thermostats to control the temperature, we soon had the room to a comfortable temperature. There is a great selection of food but as many people have commented, it can be luke warm so I would suggest trying to get to the restaurant at 7.00 for first sitting. The bar and lounge area is very nice and the children loved playing in the play area as well as playing pool and table football. There is no need to hire lockers at the gondola station as it is a 2 minute walk to the gondola. The lockers in the basement of the hotel are sufficient, I recommend taking your own padlock as the hotel do charge. The basement can get very cold though so we kept our ski boots in our room. This hotel offers excellent value for money but please do not go with expectations of luxury. It is a great base, comfortable rooms, excellent location and all staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. We did not experience any rude staff. I would certainly return.

Room Tip: I would recommend the 3rd or 4th floor, request a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lemonpipers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The most uncomfortable beds in the world, ended up sleeping on the sofabed the entire week. Building was way too hot, slept with the window open, and on some nights it was unbearable. Friendly staff, food was poor. I've stayed in better 3 stars. Will deffo not stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chunkysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is our second visit to this hotel. It is perfectly located for the gondola and all restaurants and bars. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Some people were complaining about the food quality and choice. Below is a typical night time menu, personally I think that is good. on occasions the food might be a little cooler than you would like, so there is a microwave to solve the problem.

Soup
Salad
a choice of 5 or 6 main course dishes
a chef cooking 2 diferent main course dishes
a choice of over 10 deserts.

one night the main course included Mousaka, Ribs, Stroganof and steak. The only problem I had was which to choose!!!

The beds were very good and all have new matresses.

Finish the skiing day with a visit to the FREE sauna and spa pool.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank peterandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was my first trip to Soldeu and I have since rebooked for a second time. The hotel is situated in the centre with easy acess to all facilities within Soldeu. It is also a short walk over to the Gondola (2 minutes.) Free ski lockers were also provided in the hotel basement (Take a small padlock.) The food was superb with plenty of choice both morning and night. People did mention the noise at night, this was not noticed at all and our room was situated above one of the main bars in the town.

The only isssue we found was the other people moaning about nothing!!!

Overall a good hotel situated very close to the slopes..............see you next month!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rozyarmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

All the staff we're brilliant. Really friendly & helpful. except carol behind the bar who seemed to have a problem with everyone which was a shame. The rooms were adequate but hot. Excellent location for the main gondolla.
Food ok


  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammywammywoodleface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed 16-23 Dec 2012 as part of a ski package with Crystal. Cons: beds very firm, rooms very hot (have to leave windows open, so can be noisy if the room opens onto a bar), one of the two hot tubs didn't bubble (now I'm being picky), although the dinner buffet had a great choice some of the food could have been cooked better (things that were supposed to be hot were cold, meat could be a bit tough). Pros: great location (100m walk to main gondola, so no need to hire lockers at the gondola, middle of town which is only about 400-500m long anyway, so everything is within easy reach), lots of choice at breakfast and dinner, very friendly staff, spa is free (2 hot tubs, steam room, sauna, little gym - other hotels charge up to €40 per day!), very clean, always warm to come back to. Great value (a weeks ski package incl flights, transfers, hotel half board for £350 each). Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Go for a room as high as possible (floor 5 or 6) so you can leave the windows open and not hear too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zctlm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldeu
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 16 in Soldeu
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
0.0 mi away
Hotel Piolets Soldeu Centre
0.9 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#2 of 4 in El Tarter
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himalaia Soldeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himalaia Soldeu

Address: s.n Ctra. Canillo Soldeu, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soldeu
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Soldeu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range: $50 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Himalaia Soldeu 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Himalaia Soldeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaia Soldeu Hotel Soldeu
Himalaia Hotel Soldeu
Soldeu Himalaia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing