We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the slopes but average hotel”
Review of Himalaia Soldeu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Himalaia Soldeu
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Soldeu
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Close to the slopes but average hotel”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We arrived at the hotel to find they had initially got our booking wrong, 2 apartments had turned into two rooms. This thankfully was sorted out but it did take them over 2 hours and the staff were not the friendliest nor apologetic throughout the process!

The apartments were themselves clean and comfortable for 4 people sharing with an excellent balcony on the front. The laundry service would everyday only leave enough towels for 2 people. This was fixed by a quick call to reception....but every day! The kitchen facilities are practically non existent, you'll not get a cup of tea/coffee in the morning from your room!

The sauna, steam room and jacuzzi we're great facilities, that is when they were switched on and weren't swarmed by kids! It was like a public swimming pool, parents would leave their kids unsupervised to run wild, so don't expect a relaxing atmosphere after a day on the slopes!

The same goes for the bar area, don't expect to get a quiet drink or even a game on the pool table as it to was swarmed by unsupervised kids.

The food was very good, if a little cool at times.

The main plus for this hotel is the location, with lockers available in the hotel it's only a short walk to the gondola. For this alone I would recommend the hotel as for the rest of it you can go out!

Room Tip: Get an apartment on the front so you have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjanetb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    187
    103
    27
    15
See reviews for
192
135
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Decided to stay In the same hotel for a 2nd year. You can't beat the location for the slopes and for après ski. Weather was fab :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthportPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed for a week at this Hotel, and booked a package with Nielson which included Hotel, Ski Passes, boot/ski hire, Ski Lessons and Transfer.
The Hotel is about 2 mins walk to the main Gondola Station. I would echo the opinions of others and if there is a group of you, hire the Lockers at the Gondola station. They are 50 euros a week, and hold up to 5 peoples skis/boards and boots.
The Rooms were spacious and comfortable. The food was better than I expected. Breakfasts were fine, and there was definitely a toaster when we were there!
Dinners were......ok! There was a reasonable selection, but you had to be lucky, or quick, because the food soon got cold. And yes, the meat cuts were on the cheap side, but it was perfectly edible, and none of us got a tummy ache.
We would like recommend the Iceberg Bar for Apres Ski. They have 2 for 1 drinks from 4:30pm, so great after a hard days skiing. We also went to the Merlot restaurant, and the food was excellent.
There are supermarkets and a chemist near to the hotel.
Overall, we were very satisfied with the hotel. It wasnt "amazing", but it did the job!

Room Tip: You have to put up with either the heat, or the noise. We took earplugs and left the windows open be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a7ftt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Not far from the slopes. Good service, breakfast and rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Had a great stay at this hotel for 1 week in Feb.
Hotel is well located near to the gondola station,it is very family friendly with a soft play room for kids (which our 6 year old loved).
The staff are friendly,the food is very good if your not too fussy.
It was hot with plenty of choice(only 1 small whinge,they had a toaster
in the evening but not at breakfast time.slightly strange !!!)
The rooms are very spacious and warm and have a small fridge and sink.
Overall good family hotel.
(1 tip we would recommendis to pay the 50 euros to hire a locker underneath the gondola station rather than use the one's under the hotel,as it saves you walking in the ski boots.ouch !!)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reeds85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Brighton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Excellent hotel in perfect location for Skiing in Soldeu, Andorra. Neilsons skiing holiday - excellent reps, tuition from English Teachers, great ski runs including many good green/blue for learners like me. Apres ski good if you take part. Hotel provided huge food choices, sometimes cooler than I would have preferred, rooms clean, bathrooms good, reception areas comfortable and 24 hour staff very pleasant and helpful. Included jacuzzi/ steam/sauna and gym. Massages available at extra cost. Free ski lockers in garage below hotel. Only downside was daily gondola pass expensive for non skiers and could only be used once up and back. Everything located close by in main street and many restaurants near for choice of meal out, especially try the Merlot Restaurant. Would go back to same hotel tomorrow if possible and would recommend this holiday to anyone including couples and families. Snow had been "created" shame it only snowed properly on the evening as we left next day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook

Helpful?
Thank cuddra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Hotel himalaya is probably the best value hotel in the centre of soldeu - the location is great as it is just across the road from the gondola - the breakfast choice and evening meal was very good and suited all the family - service is excellent and I would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldeu
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 17 in Soldeu
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#3 of 4 in El Tarter
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Piolets Soldeu Centre
9.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himalaia Soldeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himalaia Soldeu

Property: Himalaia Soldeu
Address: s.n Ctra. Canillo Soldeu, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Soldeu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soldeu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Himalaia Soldeu 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Himalaia Soldeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaia Soldeu Hotel Soldeu
Himalaia Hotel Soldeu
Soldeu Himalaia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing