We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Xmas 2013”
Review of Sport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sport Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Soldeu
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Xmas 2013”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked last minute as the snow was good in Andorra, could not have been more pleased, Sport hotel was great, position unbeatable, service good, great value for money, memorable time had by our family, we had read some dodgy reports but none were true. The only small criticism was that we paid for a mountain view room but here was no mountain view as there are constructing a new building opposite the hotel so the extra payment was for a view of scaffolding. Apart from that would recommend the hotel as reasonably priced and as close to ski in ski out as you can get

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavoSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    78
    44
    17
    7
See reviews for
70
66
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed 16.03.13 for 7 nights as part of Crystal holiday ski package for half board. The very best thing about this hotel is the location being opposite the gondola station with ski lockers right across the road. We were grateful for the complementary visit to the spa on the Tuesday afternoon (you have to be in before 3pm to take advantage of the complementary use)

The choice of food was varied, just avoid the 19:30 rush when the cooked to personal taste section is packed out - the restaurant goes less busy from 20:15 - oh the choice of deserts is heavenly!

The rooms are well laid out - the bed was a bit firm for my liking - but each to their own. The Irish bar in the basement of the pub is worth checking out - the staff their are very friendly.

If you want a relaxing evening sit back and relax in the lounge with a drink in the hotel - if you want lively Apres Ski which can include singing and dancing check out the bars down the road - Fat Alberts and Aspen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swimmer68_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent location for skiing, opposite gondola and chair lift. Lockers for ski gear across the street.
Great staff and very good food. Reception staff very helpful. Lovely spa with beautiful pool with view of mountains but you have to pay for use of pool, sauna and jacuzzi as this is within spa, would be nice to have just been able to use pool separately, but was €35 to use per day.
No tea or coffee making facilities in room and no mini bar. Also had to pay for water/ juices with evening meal and would not supply jugs of water.
No WiFi in the rooms only in the Lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaudiaPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We arrived at the Sporthotel in early March and spent a week staying at this hotel. I had stayed there before - but about 18 years ago!

Hotel is great for the price and the location is perfect.

We received excellent service from all staff - and our special thanks go to Jesús who was a lovely friendly and attentive waiter..

The food was really good and plenty of choice. Avoiding the 19:30 queue at the meat/fish to order station is advised.......post 20:00 is perfect.......

Wines are good - although don't expect wine to be cheap - a glass was 6 euros....not like Spain.... But it was good quality.

Our room was fine - I too, like many others, asked for a piste view (4 months in advance) but to no avail.......heh ho - it didnt spoil my ski holiday!
The lounge area is lovely and big and pool tables good!

All in all a very good hotel - with good facilities (lockers included).

Would recommend!

Thanks

Stephie (and Trish)

Room Tip: top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3-10 March 2013. Room size was ok, very clean, glasses not cleaned each day though. We're told we would be getting a room with a balcony, but didn't, not fussed though. No coffee/tea making facilities in the room, for a 4* should be standard. We did half board, sat at table 13, had the best waitress in the world, such brilliant service and friendliness. Food was very good, not cold as some would say, but warm, large wide variety. Got a pass to the wellness centre, had to be used on day 1 or 2 before 3pm, we did half day skiing on day one and then used the wellness centre, highly recommended!
Lockers just over the road, watch out on the pavement/side-walk, black ice, could fall before you even hit the slopes, but all in all very convenient.
I am usually very fussy at hotels, and I couldn't really fault the service and cleanliness, however, wifi only available in reception area, but very nice seating area. They make their money on glasses of wine at the table, for Andorra, I thought was a little pricy. But all-in-all, we would stay at Sport again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bradandjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we stayed for a skiing week:
- the rooms are adequate with minor hitch of medium sized bathtubs instead of showers (the curtains are always sticking to your body when taking a shower)
- food is very good with more then ample choice of main and side dishes, when we have asked for warmer cups to make better cappucino the waiters were bringing specially warmed ones for us, this was a nice touch
- ski lockers are conveniently located on the way to the lift, some 50m from hotel, 100m from the gondola lift entrance
- two ways to get to the lift: either you go to the gondola or take a lift down to the slopes level and take 100m walk to the chair-lift. The decision depends on quantity of people waiting for gondolas. Beginning of march 2013 the longest wait for gondolas was 5..7 minuts so just enough to warm your ski shoes ;)
- slopes access - very easy to blue and black runs, 10min on ski to nice red slopes in El Tarter

Room Tip: to get better view try to get rooms on 3rd and above floors and facing the slopes on the other hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wojtek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We are currently on holiday in Andorra and staying at hotel sport. The hotel is very dated and dirty. The bath and basin looks as if it hasn't been cleaned for at least several months as covered in dust and hair! The rooms are very basic but don't spend long in them so its ok. The food within the hotel is mediocre, it's buffet style and is the same thing every single night, the staff within the restaurant are very helpful and pleasant.

Our hell came from storing our ski equipment in the hotel lockers which are provided to you. The lockers are based on five people sharing however, we are only a couple so we had to share our locker with 2 'strangers'!!! We were slightly worried about this as we have our own equipment and were worried it would go 'missing'.

On our 4th day we put our skis and snowboard away in the locker and came back to them the following morning to find a huge penetrated crack in the board. My partner was not at all amused and we voiced it to the hotel manager, the holiday rep and also the supervisor in the locker room.

We took the board to the local repair store and they advised the board was irreparable and unrideable. This was basically a £500 snowboard down the drain! The hotel held no responsibility for the damage and called us liars and said it was caused on the slopes although it wasn't, they didn't listen to us and were so unhelpful and abrupt and because of this we will not be coming back to the Sport Group Hotels and we would advise others to stay at the Himalaya Hotel down the road, as its dry stylish, modern and comforting. Our travel rep however, was very sympathetic and advised the hotel just wasn't listening to us.

The Sport Group owns the majority of the shops, bars, hotels and restaurant in the Main Street at the top of the hill and I wouldn't trust them ever again with my ski equipment and the way they dealt with the whole situation was appalling.

We didn't let this ruin our last couple of days though, we did lots of shopping and enjoyed the slopes :-) we were also lucky to get some lovely snow and sun whilst in Andorra.

Room Tip: Stay at the Himalaya Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Secret1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldeu
0.0 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 17 in Soldeu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 17 in Soldeu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Galanthus & Spa
Hotel Galanthus & Spa
#4 of 17 in Soldeu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Parador Canaro
Hotel Parador Canaro
#1 of 3 in Incles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport Hotel

Property: Sport Hotel
Address: s/n Crta. General, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Pyrenees, the Sport Hotel is built and decorated in typical mountain style. The combination of local wood and stone make this hotel cosy and welcoming. 165 large bedrooms with bath and shower, hairdryer, telephone, satellite TV, safe deposit box and heating. Large comfortable lounges, bar-cafeteria, internet corner, wifi in the lobby, games room and restaurant.Breakfast and dinner are hot and cold buffet service with show cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing