We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski family Hotel”
Review of Sport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sport Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Soldeu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent location for skiing, opposite gondola and chair lift. Lockers for ski gear across the street.
Great staff and very good food. Reception staff very helpful. Lovely spa with beautiful pool with view of mountains but you have to pay for use of pool, sauna and jacuzzi as this is within spa, would be nice to have just been able to use pool separately, but was €35 to use per day.
No tea or coffee making facilities in room and no mini bar. Also had to pay for water/ juices with evening meal and would not supply jugs of water.
No WiFi in the rooms only in the Lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClaudiaPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 230 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

We arrived at the Sporthotel in early March and spent a week staying at this hotel. I had stayed there before - but about 18 years ago!

Hotel is great for the price and the location is perfect.

We received excellent service from all staff - and our special thanks go to Jesús who was a lovely friendly and attentive waiter..

The food was really good and plenty of choice. Avoiding the 19:30 queue at the meat/fish to order station is advised.......post 20:00 is perfect.......

Wines are good - although don't expect wine to be cheap - a glass was 6 euros....not like Spain.... But it was good quality.

Our room was fine - I too, like many others, asked for a piste view (4 months in advance) but to no avail.......heh ho - it didnt spoil my ski holiday!
The lounge area is lovely and big and pool tables good!

All in all a very good hotel - with good facilities (lockers included).

Would recommend!

Thanks

Stephie (and Trish)

Room Tip: top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank widbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed 3-10 March 2013. Room size was ok, very clean, glasses not cleaned each day though. We're told we would be getting a room with a balcony, but didn't, not fussed though. No coffee/tea making facilities in the room, for a 4* should be standard. We did half board, sat at table 13, had the best waitress in the world, such brilliant service and friendliness. Food was very good, not cold as some would say, but warm, large wide variety. Got a pass to the wellness centre, had to be used on day 1 or 2 before 3pm, we did half day skiing on day one and then used the wellness centre, highly recommended!
Lockers just over the road, watch out on the pavement/side-walk, black ice, could fall before you even hit the slopes, but all in all very convenient.
I am usually very fussy at hotels, and I couldn't really fault the service and cleanliness, however, wifi only available in reception area, but very nice seating area. They make their money on glasses of wine at the table, for Andorra, I thought was a little pricy. But all-in-all, we would stay at Sport again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Bradandjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we stayed for a skiing week:
- the rooms are adequate with minor hitch of medium sized bathtubs instead of showers (the curtains are always sticking to your body when taking a shower)
- food is very good with more then ample choice of main and side dishes, when we have asked for warmer cups to make better cappucino the waiters were bringing specially warmed ones for us, this was a nice touch
- ski lockers are conveniently located on the way to the lift, some 50m from hotel, 100m from the gondola lift entrance
- two ways to get to the lift: either you go to the gondola or take a lift down to the slopes level and take 100m walk to the chair-lift. The decision depends on quantity of people waiting for gondolas. Beginning of march 2013 the longest wait for gondolas was 5..7 minuts so just enough to warm your ski shoes ;)
- slopes access - very easy to blue and black runs, 10min on ski to nice red slopes in El Tarter

Room Tip: to get better view try to get rooms on 3rd and above floors and facing the slopes on the other hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wojtek s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We are currently on holiday in Andorra and staying at hotel sport. The hotel is very dated and dirty. The bath and basin looks as if it hasn't been cleaned for at least several months as covered in dust and hair! The rooms are very basic but don't spend long in them so its ok. The food within the hotel is mediocre, it's buffet style and is the same thing every single night, the staff within the restaurant are very helpful and pleasant.

Our hell came from storing our ski equipment in the hotel lockers which are provided to you. The lockers are based on five people sharing however, we are only a couple so we had to share our locker with 2 'strangers'!!! We were slightly worried about this as we have our own equipment and were worried it would go 'missing'.

On our 4th day we put our skis and snowboard away in the locker and came back to them the following morning to find a huge penetrated crack in the board. My partner was not at all amused and we voiced it to the hotel manager, the holiday rep and also the supervisor in the locker room.

We took the board to the local repair store and they advised the board was irreparable and unrideable. This was basically a £500 snowboard down the drain! The hotel held no responsibility for the damage and called us liars and said it was caused on the slopes although it wasn't, they didn't listen to us and were so unhelpful and abrupt and because of this we will not be coming back to the Sport Group Hotels and we would advise others to stay at the Himalaya Hotel down the road, as its dry stylish, modern and comforting. Our travel rep however, was very sympathetic and advised the hotel just wasn't listening to us.

The Sport Group owns the majority of the shops, bars, hotels and restaurant in the Main Street at the top of the hill and I wouldn't trust them ever again with my ski equipment and the way they dealt with the whole situation was appalling.

We didn't let this ruin our last couple of days though, we did lots of shopping and enjoyed the slopes :-) we were also lucky to get some lovely snow and sun whilst in Andorra.

Room Tip: Stay at the Himalaya Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Secret1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Visited this hotel first week in February 2013, a week of incredible snowfalls. The hotel is comfortable, bright and inviting and the staff all lovely. food in the self service restaurant is excellent with your choice of main course cooked in front of you to your liking and there is a great choice for all courses.
Altogether a welcoming comforting haven very close to the main gondola if you are a skier/snowboarder and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fen_boy_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

When I first visited the Sport Hotel it was the number one Hotel in Soldeu, that was 15 years ago, so has it stood the test of time? We came for a weeks skiing at the end of January -- the snow was great and the resort has really expanded with more Hotels and a vast ski area. So has the Sport kept up -- sadly no. The public rooms are fine, good decorative order but some of the furniture is looking past it's best, some chairs are actually broken. We were allocated a room on the 4th floor at the back overlooking a run down building site, at least it was covered in snow! The room was exactly as I remembered it from my previous visit although now it looked quite dated- definitely in need of an upgrade.
Free Wifi is available in the public areas, not in the rooms . We were given one free visit to the spa / wellness centre, which is shared by the other two newer Hotels in the Sport chain, the village and the Hermitage so the sport does not have it's own swimming pool , should you want a return visit it will cost you 36 Euros ! Quite a few of the resorts Hotels now have their own pools which are free to Hotel guests.
The food in the restaurant was good, with multiple choices from the buffet, fresh meat or fish was cooked to your order by the chef, BUT all hot food is Luke warm, cold plates add to the rush to the one microwave. Staff in all areas are helpful and attentive.
Apart from the other two sport hotels the original sport has the major advantage of it's position, -- just opposite the main gondola so three minutes and your on your way to the main ski area, but that's the only big plus point .
Come on Sport -- there are now other hotels in the resort which are as good as if not better, you need to up your game especially in the accommodation areas.

Ls

Room Tip: Make sure you specify a room at the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SKIIERTORBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldeu
0.0 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 16 in Soldeu
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 16 in Soldeu
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Galanthus & Spa
Hotel Galanthus & Spa
#4 of 16 in Soldeu
304 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#2 of 4 in El Tarter
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport Hotel

Address: s/n Crta. General, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Soldeu
Price Range: $166 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Pyrenees, the Sport Hotel is built and decorated in typical mountain style. The combination of local wood and stone make this hotel cosy and welcoming. 165 large bedrooms with bath and shower, hairdryer, telephone, satellite TV, safe deposit box and heating. Large comfortable lounges, bar-cafeteria, internet corner, wifi in the lobby, games room and restaurant.Breakfast and dinner are hot and cold buffet service with show cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing