We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location, Location, Location...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sport Hotel Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sport Hotel Village
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Soldeu
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

All though this is a very comfortable hotel of high standard, it is never the less its location which really earnes it top marks. We were five couples travelling together to ski the Grandvalira area, and having been there several times before and tried a couple of hotels in Canillo, we this time decided to try out Soldeu and Sport Hotel Village as our "base camp". Considering the improvement in location - having quick access to the centre of the Grand Valira area - the change was a huge success. The hotel's common areas and amenities are very good, and the huge spa is worth a visit - even though it is a bit on the expensive side. The rooms are nice, without reflcting the same standard as the rest of the hotel - choose a room facing the slopes, definitely worth the extra cost. We mostly dined out, but the one dinner we had at the hotel was nice - but not memorable. There is a gourmet restaurant at the hotel but we decided on other restaurants outside the hotel - which were very nice. The breakfast was of a very hign standard with lots and lots of choices. The best thing about this hotel though, is - as mentioned - its location. This is "ski in and Gondola out", i.e. the Gondola is placed in the same building complex as the hotel. There is also an absolutely excellent ski rental in the same complex - which offer practically any type and quality of ski that you, and the different snow conditions, might crave. To make a long story short - we are definitely returning to Grand Valira Next winter - this time 6 or 7 couples, and we will without a doubt be staying at Sport Hotel Village.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony facing the slopes. PS. Very varying size of the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FredRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    151
    41
    16
    6
See reviews for
158
142
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel, all the ingredients for a great skiing holiday.
Welcoming lounge and bar area, nice bedrooms which although they could do with a update are comfortable with good housekeeping service. Worth paying extra for a room with a balcony overlooking the pistes where we relaxed in the early March sunshine this year after a day on the slopes. The lockers, ski hire shop and slopes are literally directly outside the hotel. Buffet food is consistently good, and we are not buffet fans! However the variety and quality of food is excellent with fish and meat available to be cooked to order on request by the chef. Wine is reasonably priced. The service throughout the hotel is excellent.
The spa at the neighbouring Hermitage is excellent and although expensive worth it as a treat. We did not use it this year as the weather was so good but after a cold day on the slopes it does come into its own with the range of saunas, sanariums, steam rooms rooms and the amazing pool.
Just 1 request which so many people make, please give us complementary jugs of water on the table! This would make so much difference.
Having skied in many different resorts we keep returning to Soldeu and the Sport Village. The ski area is huge and varied with something for all levels and the standard of instruction very high. We have enjoyed great ski conditions and blue skies and sunshine in early March most years.
Would highly recommend

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a balcony overlooking the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenwilson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I did not expect to be writing a positive review for the Sport Village Hotel. We had booked a Jacuzzi Balcony room and mistakenly had believed we would be getting a Jacuzzi on our balcony. It was in fact a small balcony and a separate Jacuzzi bath in the bathroom. Our first impressions were not great as the furniture was shabby and the wood in the bathroom splintered due to a leaky shower. I complained to reception and was told that if I wanted 5 star quality I should book into a 5 star hotel. I feel that basics like clean and well furnished rooms should be expected from a 4 star + hotel. Despite this we actually really enjoyed the hotel and would likely return there. The views are fantastic in the mountain facing rooms and there is minimum hassle with it being a ski in/out hotel. The lockers for equipment are very close to the hotel. Being in Andorra towards the end of season meant that many of the bars and restaurants outwith the hotel were closed, however, as a fussy eater I was pleased at the choice for breakfast and evening meals. The rooms can be noisy if below the common areas and are very hot at times. It is not possible to control the temperature within the room. We travelled through Thomsons but were assigned a Crystals rep Emma who really went out of her way to make the holiday as good as it could be and she also offered social skiing for those not looking to take lessons.

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Est L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We came to Andorra to ski for a few days and this hotel was the perfect choice.
The hotel is great, same as the perfect location. If the purpose of your trip is winter sports, then I doubt there is a hotel with a better location. The Sports Village is a ski in/out hotel. I don't think there is any other hotel with this benefit. Lockers for the equipment are included and you can even buy the ski passes at the reception.
The hotel offers an excellent buffet breakfast and it's worth taking it, even though the service is not the best. We also tried the restaurant during the evening and they also offer a buffet dinner. Same as with breakfast, the quality is great and it offers many options.
I only got disappointed at the check-out when we asked if we could keep the room until the afternoon as we were going skiing and only leaving the hotel at 4 pm. I know this is a big request, but considering the hotel was empty I though it wouldn't be a problem. Unfortunately the hotel didn't allowed us to keep the room (only paying EUR 75) but instead they offered us a room to take a shower once back from skiing. This was very kind but still don't understand why giving us a clean room just for a shower instead of letting us stay at our room and avoid packing/unpacking and moving our luggage around during the morning and afternoon.
Anyways, this didn't affect our stay and overall it was a great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms ocverlooking the mountains are worth to try
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there last week, did not find the reception staff very helpful, room was large but on main road so very noisy all night long. Wifi only available in public areas mainly reception area this area was always cold to sit in. Dining room large but food was not always topped up, so you maybe had some food on your plate but by the time you waited on a main dish being cooked the food on the plate was cold. One waiter who seemed to be a manager was very rude to my husband when he tried to order a drink. Spa is lovely but rather expensive at 32 euros per person per visit. Have stayed at other hotels in the area and I would not hurry back there, for the money I'd stay else where.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lorainevickybruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
292 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We selected this hotel because it was indicated as the closest to the ski lift. We were not disappointed. The hotel itself was really good , spacious with big rooms and nice facilities.
But skiing logistics and organisation was absolutely great. Ski lift is next to ski rental and next door to ski lockers. You can reach all the facilities right from the hotel by the elevator.
One of the best places for skiing vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oleg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was our second visit and I can once again highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a visit to Soldeu. Stayed here in March (room1104) with excellent snow conditions with bright blue skies everyday.
The hotel is above the main gondola and the ski hire shop with the hotel lockers next to the hotel.
The food in the hotel is buffet style and has improved a lot, especially the salad bar. Families tend to eat between 19:30hr and 20:30hr, so to avoid the kids go after 20:30. The Staff are very pleasant and hard working especially the waiting on staff at dinner.
Rooms are of a good standard, but pay extra for a room with a balcony overlooking the slopes,
otherwise your room will be above the main road.
The Spa is free on Mondays and Tuesdays up to 15:00hr, and is 35 Euros after that. If it’s a bit too expensive you can always use the spa in the Hotel Piolet Park and Spa for about 15 Euros which is located at the other end of Soldeu, about a 5min walk.
If we come back to Soldeu next year I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view of the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry-Rhian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldeu
0.1 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
0.1 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 17 in Soldeu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sport Hotel
Sport Hotel
#9 of 17 in Soldeu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Princesa Parc
Hotel Princesa Parc
#1 of 12 in Arinsal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
8.7 mi away
Andorra Park Hotel
Andorra Park Hotel
#1 of 36 in Andorra la Vella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport Hotel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport Hotel Village

Property: Sport Hotel Village
Address: s/n Ctra. General, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soldeu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Soldeu
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Soldeu
#4 Family Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sport Hotel Village 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking 4 * hotel located in the countryside, with welcoming design and unique spaces. Spacious rooms, a superior gastronomic offer and amazing views of the valley of Soldeu, give Sport Hotel Village 4 * the unique features to enjoy the best holiday in Andorra. Its location is ideal for those who want to enjoy a winter vacation in Andorra, as it is located in the same building as Grandvalira Soldeu gondola. During summer, the access to a spectacular outdoor pool and its proximity to the golf course with the highest 9 holes in southern Europe, make the unique Sport Hotel Village Hotel for a perfect summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sport Hotel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Hotel Soldeu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing