We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a FANTASTIC time!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sport Hotel Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sport Hotel Village
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Soldeu
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a FANTASTIC time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

Had such a good time here. The rooms are fantastic and the bathroom is lovely (the bath fils up very quickly!) Ashton the First Choice rep is very nice and helpful we did the quiz on the Tuesday night which was a good night out. We tried the spa when we were there and it was fab! We both did the 60 euro circut where you get 3 hours in the spa and a treatment well worth it! The only 2 things that did annoy me slightly were that when we arrived we were advised there was a safe in the room, we tried to use it but it didn't work. I went back down to reception and they advised me our cards had not been validated so gave us 2 new ones and the safe worked. When we left and settled our room bill they had charged us 14 euros for the se of the safe- but we were never advised we would be charged! Also if you want ANY drinks (inc water) with dinner you will be charged for them and they are charged to your room, i would have thought a 4* hotel would at least give you water with your meal. The food in the hotel was hit and miss and very orientated for the spanish pallate. Some nights there was lots of choice other nights there was nothing we wanted. However the restaurants in resort are good, we triewd these after skiing in the afternoon. The aspen and T-Bar are great really friendly staff (although prices are more than what you have been lead to believe e.g. san miguel and a smirnoff ice 10 euros) if you get spirits e.g vodka, martini, whiskey be prepared for triple measures - very strong!)
If you want good shopping pas de la casa is your best bet and there are organised trips. Ski School is great all british instructers and they put in roups according to skill but will move you up or down if you want. There is also a race on the last day 10 euros and there is a presentation in the Aspen after and you get a photo. There are loads of activities to do in this resort skidoos, husky dog sledges, helicopter rides, hangliding, snowboarding days etc etc.

Overall we had a fab time but the food cold ahve been better in the hotel.

  • Liked — The spa, location and views
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    149
    41
    16
    6
See reviews for
158
138
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

The hotel was nice and the staff were really helpful and friendly, but it was totally let down by the quality of the food and lack of no smoking areas.

The breakfasts were nice but didn't change throughout the week. There was a chef there to cook to order (eggs & omlettes) in front of you, but he wouldn't do this as long as there was cold orders already prepared and waiting.

Dinner was very disappointing. Starters and salads were ok, though all the soups and sauces tasted the same - very salty. The main meals were pretty terrible - there was no variety, real lack of flavour and poor quality. The combinations were odd - no consistency from night to night. The cheese selection seemed to run out early and was not replenished, so we found ourselves having to grab what we could before we were ready to eat it. The puddings were nice and there was lots of fresh fruit available. The problem with all the food was that nothing was labelled and it was hard to tell what was on offer. There wasn't staff at hand to help out and if there was, the language barrier became a bit of a problem.

[Places that we had good food at were Sol i Neu, the restaurant that overlooks the slopes undeneath the gondola - great pizzas and burgers. Hotel Bruxells down the hill on the main street did really nice burgers and paninis - awful nachos though]

The other problem we had at the hotel was the lack of no smoking areas. We regularly got stuck in the corridor by the lift, next to a woman smoking in her dressing gown. The smell also penetrated our rooms. There were also no non-smoking areas in the bar, which spoilt our enjoyment of relaxing with some pre/post dinner drinks in the evening.

We also used the Spa in the Sport Hermitage. We were baffled to learn you HAD to buy flip flops for €12 and then €40 just to use pool/jacuzzi/steam/saunas for ONLY 3 hours. As guests of the sister Sport Village we thought this was a bit tight!

I had a great head massage, but i dont think it lasted the alloted 25 minutes and the girl seemed to miss out the neck part of the treatment! I got similar comments in the changing rooms from people who had a full body massage - one person just got a back massage and the other got her back and arms done! Make sure you know what you are getting and don't be afraid to make sure you get it, you certainly pay enough.

  • Liked — Good location for using slopes, nice views of slopes from room
  • Disliked — The food and lack of no smoking areas
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tumbledown06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2007

We absolutely love this hotel! We have stayed at both the Sport & the Sport Village - the village is definately worth paying slightly more for. The rooms, food, location, public area's are all slightly nicer than the Sport and if you are lucky enough to get a room overlooking the slopes - the views are fabulous.

We used the Spa in the Hermitage, serveral times, which is wondeful experience. You have to pay but there is direct access to the hermitage from the Village, you can walk from your room to the pool in your robe if you wish - many do! We thought about paying the extra to stay in the Hermitage for our 2008 visit but the village has more of a relaxed 'skiing' feel. We didn't want to feel the need to dress up for dinner!

We have booked the Village again for Feb 2008. The ease of access to the slopes, the fantastic ski schools, choice of bars and weather (amongst many other things) will keep us coming back to Soldeu for years to come.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

What a fab hotel in an excellent location... The rooms were very clean & the food was lovely - great selection!!! So handy to have the gondola on your doorstep! i would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

I stayed here in February for the ski season, having stayed in Soldeu before and admired the hotel and its fantastic position! The gondola actually goes into the bottom of the hotel and you ski from the slopes directly into a subterranean lobby with lifts back up to the gondola station. If you are a resident of the hotel, your ski lockers are about 5 metres from reception and only a 20 metre walk from the gondola station - fantastic!

Contrary to the earlier review, I found the food great - there was always a good selection, both at breakfast and dinner, with a feature kitchen area which would have a chef cooking up something more unusual.

The views are obviously spectacular if you are facing the slopes - you can see what the snow conditions are like and how busy the gondola is!

I'm just about to book my trip for 2008!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Chiplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

The hotel is in an excellent situation with good links for public transport if you want to walk outside the village.The hotels bedrooms rooms and general accomodation was excellent, although be aware there is no air-conditioning in the summer and the temperature was 31C some days.
Dining however was a disappointment, breakfasts were good. Dinner however was buffet style, on most nights the food was out for ages, was luke warm and often overcooked. Guests had to keep asking the few staff available to fill up empty dishes.
In the evening the hotel was very quite - which suited us but there was only entertainment on one of the 11 nights we stayed. When we tried to get a cup of coffee from the bar at 11pm they had stopped serving for the night.
Overall good accomodation but not the service you would expect from a 4 star hotel

  • Liked — situation
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

I recently spent a few nights in this hotel and I had a good time. The hotel was excellent, the rooms were of a good standard for a 4* hotel and the staff were nice. It boasts a great location beside the Gondola lift giving access to the Grand Valira ski area and the hotel is also on the main street of Soldeu. The food I would say was only average for a hotel of this standard. While there was a good selection for both breakfast and dinner there was little imagination used in it's preparation. Also, the hotel bar shut at midnight! We were (4 of us) the only group drinking in the bar one evening but without warning the bar was shut and we couldn't get more drinks! Overall I enjoyed my stay and I got excellent value for money. I shall certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucky1forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldeu
0.1 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
9.5 mi away
Hotel Princesa Parc
Hotel Princesa Parc
#1 of 12 in Arinsal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Andorra Park Hotel
Andorra Park Hotel
#1 of 36 in Andorra la Vella
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 17 in Soldeu
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hesperia Andorra la Vella
Hesperia Andorra la Vella
#2 of 36 in Andorra la Vella
4.5 of 5 stars 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport Hotel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport Hotel Village

Property: Sport Hotel Village
Address: s/n Ctra. General, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Soldeu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soldeu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Soldeu
#4 Family Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sport Hotel Village 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking 4 * hotel located in the countryside, with welcoming design and unique spaces. Spacious rooms, a superior gastronomic offer and amazing views of the valley of Soldeu, give Sport Hotel Village 4 * the unique features to enjoy the best holiday in Andorra. Its location is ideal for those who want to enjoy a winter vacation in Andorra, as it is located in the same building as Grandvalira Soldeu gondola. During summer, the access to a spectacular outdoor pool and its proximity to the golf course with the highest 9 holes in southern Europe, make the unique Sport Hotel Village Hotel for a perfect summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sport Hotel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Hotel Soldeu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing