We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hotel but hidden costs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Soldeu Maistre
Ranked #1 of 4 Soldeu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Whole hotel was very clean thoughtout our 1 week stay. Quiet location but no view from the rear of the hotel and as a building has been built behind it. Request twin rooms which take up all the front facing rooms are are much bigger. Food was better than i thought, for Andorra! but still lacking in anything much fresh or vegetable like.

Hotel charges extra for locks for snowboard and use of an in room safe which most in Andorra dont and definitely the first hotel I have ever stayed in that charges to use an in-room safe.

Would I stay there again, yes but i would also check out the Sports hotels in the resort. My rating is based on the fact it is a Crystal/Thompson packaged holiday hotel gather than a normal commercial hotel therefore not as harsh as I would be if it wasnt <£450 per week inc flights pp.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattBCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 185 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2009

Just returned from the Maistre. Overall it is a great hotel. It's very clean and the staff are very friendly. The breakfast was great with a good selection of hot and cold options. The evening meal was typically spanish with a lot of fried vegetables and strange combinations but it was generally well cooked and tasty - just don't expect english combinations. The bar area was very smoky as are most of the bars in the resort. The hotel is in a great location but the noise from the street (usually drunk brits in the early hours) would sometimes wake me up along with the barking dogs. However after a busy day on the slopes nothing kept me awake for long. My main gripe was that we weren't allowed to take our skis or boots into the room and had to use the lockers in the garage which were 2euros a day. I would not normally expect to pay for a locker in a ski hotel but we had no choice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LevenJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Having read reviews in trip advisor we had mixed idea's of what to expect, Although a little small the hotel was clean and tidy the whole time we were there, the staff very polite and helpfull
We were a party of 17 using much of the second floor, a couple in our group mentioned the barking dogs all through the night so if you are in rooms 111 or 211 you are at the end of the hotel where you can expect the dogs barking,
There seemed to be a lot of locals that sat at the bar and smoked quite heavely at certain times of the day which left a blanket of smoke floating in the lounge area,
The Food quality was very good with a good selection of Buffet, if you have kids that just want chips with every thing then this hotel is not for you, as they may go hungry Breakfast was very good, nice and hot, veggy's are catered for.
The only problem was with the opening times for the evening meal, 8pm - 10 pm is too late for most people, having come off the slopes at 5pm waiting for your meal at 8 is just too late finnishing about 9pm, opening 1 hour earlier would have made a difference,
This *** star hotel was ok and i would definately go back

Stayed: January 2009
2  Thank zebblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

Stayed here for a week on skiing trip booked through Inghams
Food is YUK...
Hotel is clean but rooms far to small....no hanging space at all
for three of us in one room - Nightmare

We had a room at the back.. Aviod rooms 211 onwards
as the Dogs will keep you awake... ALL THEY DO IS BARK
from dawn till dusk.

Would not stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cludasdulac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Having stayed here two years ago, I was looking forward to going back, but I was really disappointed this time. The food was dreadful...no vegetables in sight and very little choice at dinner time. The other thing I was particularly unhappy about was the amount of smoke around the hotel. You could not sit in any of the public areas without being irritated by the smell of smoking - we had to put a towel at our bedroom door during the night and have the window open all the time as the smell permeated the entire building. I know there is not a smoking ban in Andorra, and that we are not used to it anymore, but it really was overpowering and as a result I will not stay at the Maistre again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Stayed here in March with Inghams - Two families - kids from 8-20 - Accomodation was clean and good although the double rooms are tiny - ask for a twin and push the beds together - The only other thing is the walls are paper thin - If youget my meaning - Staff were pleasant and food was fine - Love Soldeu for skiing but gonna give it a rest for a while as they seem to have got a bit greedy on Piste - 9 Euros for a plastic Pizza - At the shack (Pizza Corner) Too expensive

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saskia1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

I have to agree with the last reviewer about the food. Breakfast OK but evening dinner not good. Another complaint and not to do with the hotel. Three dogs were tied up outside all day and night and barked continually. Drove us mad!!!! One last thing - The Thomson rep had no interest in families and sorting out things for us - just kept drinking with the 'boarders'.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldeu
0.3 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 16 in Soldeu
499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.2 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 16 in Soldeu
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bruxelles
Hotel Bruxelles
#10 of 16 in Soldeu
217 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Segle XX
Hotel Segle XX
#1 of 2 in Ransol
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soldeu Maistre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soldeu Maistre

Address: General De Francia, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Soldeu
Price Range: $67 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Soldeu Maistre 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Soldeu Maistre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maistre Hotel Soldeu
Soldeu Maistre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing