We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value and a great hotel”
Review of Exe Princep Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Exe Princep Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Escaldes-Engordany
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic value and a great hotel”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife an I wanted to try somewhere a little different for our honeymoon and go somewhere we'd never been before so opted for Andorra.

We booked through a package and opted for the Princep based on the photographs on a website. Overall we thought the hotel was fantastic, absolutely no complaints.

The room we had was bright, spacious, clean and well appointed. Little touches like two sinks in the bathroom were handy.

We stayed for a full week and had been worried about starting to feel a bit claustrophobic by the end of teh week as we would usually book an appartment through somewhere like owners direct. No worries tehre though as the room was big enough and nice enough that it was fien for a seven night stay.

The staff were always friendly and helpful, and the quality, variety and quantity of the food on the breakfast buffet was good, even the breakfast coffee, which can be dreadful at many hotels, was good.

The location was great as well, Although the town is not huge we were just off the main street so didn't have to walk far for shopping or restaurants. In addition tehre was a bus stop 20 metres from the front door and we were only five minutes walk from the Caldea spa.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this to others and fully intend to go back next summer and book an adjoining room to take our daughter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieBisset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    138
    81
    25
    31
See reviews for
37
209
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I had never been to Andorra and was only spending a night so I could say that I had traveled to one of the least known about nations to Americans. I found the price to be the main drawing point which was very reasonable. I was also blown away by not only the size but the cleanliness of the room. The bathroom was beautiful. The location was also fantastic, it is only a few blocks or about a 5 minute walk from the Caldea and all the amazing shopping that Andorra offers is also within walking distance. I was there in the summer and the weather was great but I would imagine that Andorra would be a fantastic place in the winter. I only spent one night but the one night was very enjoyable and close to everything that the city had to offer. The staff was multilingual which came in handy considering I don't speak Catalan. They also went out of their way to contact the shuttle service to make sure I had a reservation to go back to Barcelona in the morning. The only thing I could find to complain about and I'm really nitpicking is the TV only offered two stations in English... BBC and CNN International. That's a real stretch though as I wasn't there to watch TV.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIngston_Marley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Princep is a nice hotel with a nice helpful staff. The rooms were clean and the location is good . The hotel is a close walking distance to the Spa. The Breakfast was nice and the times were flexible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaspraydc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_ahotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Exe Princep Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for you comment and your time with us.
We are very happy to know your stay with us was great and comfortable. We try to work hard every day for the satisfaction of our customers.
We hope see you again in our hotels.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Ahotel Princep is a wonderful place to spend vacation in Andorra. Friendly multilanguage staff, fashionable decor, delicious meal, good location.
The New Year dinner was great. Excellent food and drinks, nice music, traditional grapes and funny New Year caps. Christmas tree was decorated with words in several languages so that every guest feels at home in the hotel.
Very friendly staff was always ready to help, recommended the best places to buy national stuff, booked tickets for new year party, provided right info on working hours of skating сenter and swimming pools during new year holidays.
All our requests were fulfilled and we are now more than happy about new year vacation we spent in Princep.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoya_Zagryazhskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The breakfast was excellent value with its variety, comprehensiveness, quantity, and freshness! And the 3-hour breakfast availability provided flexibility. I was thankful the staff was fluent enough in several languages to be able to help me. The staff was helpful with recommendations on where to eat, which bus stops to go to to catch the right buses, and in helping me change a previous travel reservation. The hotel is in a good location, close to a Cyber cafe and shopping. The boutique feel of the hotel was nice and the modern decor was interesting. Even though my first room faced onto the city street, I did not find noise to be a problem. I like that such amenities as hairdryer, toiletries, and in-room safe were available. The towels were pleasantly soft, and the shower had good water pressure and adjustable height. The air-con in my second room worked very well. I did receive a wake-up call as requested (albeit a little early).

As other travellers have said, the rooms are not spacious, but as a solo traveller, I did not find this to be a problem. My first room lacked a full-length mirror (but had a nice city view). I didn't care for the type of lighting by the bathroom mirror, and overall, the lighting was a bit dim in the room. Although the hotel offers free wifi, it would be more convenient if there was a computer(s) guests could use that was complimentary (or at least for a very reasonable price). The towel rack by the shower had too many rungs that were too close together to easily hang big towels. Toilet paper and bedsheets could be softer. There didn't seem to be any television channels in English and the remote did not work in my first room. The soap/shampoo rack with the wide spaces in some of the showers was not convenient (shampoo/soap would fall through).

Overall, I thought the stay was pleasant and of decent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lriglevart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

It was ok, but as other reviewers pointed, rooms are kind of small. We had one that had the patio view and that made the small room to look sad. I was also expecting a little bigger TV, it was smaller than 32 inches. And yes, there are some details that don't make the hotel worth 4* from my point of view (and I am not a spoiled tourist, I have been to hostels and other humble hotels, I know what to expect) : old towels, overall decoration.
But as said, it's a good hotel to sleep, good location. We did not try neither the breakfast nor the lunch.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veivalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We arrived here late and they were very accomodating. The rooms were clean, very quiet and affordable. We enjoyed the mountains and the shopping. The breakfast was wonderful (not included).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mndrittenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escaldes-Engordany
0.2 mi away
Hotel Exe Prisma
Hotel Exe Prisma
#2 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
#2 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
1,030 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mola Park Atiram Hotel
Mola Park Atiram Hotel
#1 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Andorra
Hotel Plaza Andorra
#7 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
706 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Isard
Hotel de l'Isard
#8 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Princep Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Princep Hotel

Property: Exe Princep Hotel
Address: 5 C Carrer de La Unio, Escaldes-Engordany AD700, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Escaldes-Engordany Parish > Escaldes-Engordany
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Escaldes-Engordany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Exe Princep Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the junction of Andorra La Vella and les Escaldes, in the very heart of Andorra, the Hotel Princep is quite possibly the best choice for those who consider the hotel's location the key factor when making a decision. The hotel has 50 double rooms spread over 5 floors, as well as a Japanese UDON restaurant, a meeting room for a maximum of 25 people, free wi-fi access throughout the whole premises, a ski storage area and parking in the hotel's vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Exe Princep Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ahotels Princep Escaldes Engordany
Exe Princep Hotel Andorra/Escaldes-Engordany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing