We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, spacious rooms, hard to find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roc de Caldes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Roc de Caldes
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, spacious rooms, hard to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very hard hotel to find. If you are coming into Andorra la verre from France, as you come into town you will cross a roundabout with a Porsche garage on your right. Take second exit and hotel entrance is 40 yards on your right just before the petrol station. No signage until you pull into the drive.
We have just returned from here and weather has been great. Hotel is very nice in the public areas and has a nice sauna and indoor pool. On the downside the "sun terrace" was tiny with no loungers at all.
Rooms were very spacious with nice balcony, slightly tired but very comfortable with reasonable mini bar.
Highlights: staff were really friendly and helpful, breakfast was very nice and served until 11am, pool was good, parking was plentiful, wifi in public areas was free and fast.
Low points: we only ate in the restaurant one night and food variety and quality was very poor, price was steep compared to really good restaurants in town.
The hotel is having a massive extension built next door so we asked to change rooms so we could see the mountains not the building site and this was done immediately.

Overall a reasonable four star hotel with really lovely staff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    44
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
71
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

The interiors are being updated due to the hotel's long existence. However, the location of the hotel is enjoyable due to its views and the proximity to the village center.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jisierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed there for one night during our honeymoon roadtrip. Finding the place was a bif difficult because of the gps which couldn't find the location although it is very central and is on the main road (wish they had a beter sign somewhere...). At the beginning the hotel looked very odd since it is currently under construction for renovation, but as we entered it- we found a beautifully decorated lobby, very nice and generous staff and huge luxury rooms! We enjoyed the stay at the hotel very much! would definitely visit there again! Breakfast was also very nice, served in a restaurant with a great view. Only disadvantage for us was the construction noise that woke us up at 8 in the morning- not that terrible for us. Still a good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_safirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights in the Roc De Caldes, after having extensively searched for a 5* hotel in Andorra for a long week end of relaxation in the mountain. We purposedly avoided Pas de La Case, as it's always full of construction sites everywhere, and apart from good slopes and a decent ski resort, there are buildings everywhere, appartments etc...charmless! Well, pretty much the same can be said about Andorra. as a whole... for the 30k that separates Pas de La Case to Andorra la Velha ( and Escaldes Engonordany where our hotel was), ALL you see are cranes, buildings sites and constructions...so much for a moutain background! The hotel actually sits in the middle of a construction site too, and has 2 cranes at both ends of it, although I must be fair in saying that we did not see it from our room. Thank god for that. However when you step on the terrace of the room, you are treated to a view of building sites pretty much everywhere. What an eye sore!

Now, the hotel itself: yes a 5*, but by Andorran standards: and the Andorran are not known for their hospitality or their smiles! So you will get "hello" and "bye bye" as you walk past reception -if you actually bother to look in their direction, otherwise you might as well just carry on walking.
We felt we had to ask for everything, every little info you may need- it doesn't come natural to them to give you some tips or info about the area/hotel and even the hotel facilities, unless you actually ask for it... what a shame.

The spa: yes it looks lovely, but it's not that big and I can't see how over 100 guests could share the facilities at the same time. Lovely pool (because we had it to ourselves!), but the Turkish baths were never steamy enough and the sauna was totally tiny. The so called tropical/invigorating showers (4 of them in total) are not working properly, and you end up with a treacle of water pouring on you after you just spend 20minutes in the sauna. What a shame, as there is potential for a nice relaxation area. We did not see/were told about any massages available, but then again, in this 5* hotel, you have to ask for everything. The people at reception just sit there, surfing the net and just say hello and take your payment upon checking out. Not an ounce of customer service... we did not feel special at all.
They barely speak English (fair enough) but when I spoke Spanish to them (I'm fluent), they respond in Catalan.... how typical!

Another thing to watch out for: the hot water in the room's bathroom is EXTREMELY hot, and although you adjust the temperature to suit your personal preference (in the shower), it suddenly gets EXTREMELY HOT again, WITHOUT warning. It felt like the same water supply was shared by a few people at the same time, so much so that it would for instance get super hot if someone next door was washing their teeth and pumping all the cold water out.... we burnt ourselves a couple of times, but were smart enough to pull away quickly enough.
We did not bother telling reception, because I don't feel the problem would have been solved anyway.... especially if it affects all the pipes.

Breakfast cost about £7 and is pretty generous, although you would have to pay an extra 2 euros if you want anything fried like eggs etc.. but with what's on offer on the buffet, that should be enough to have a hearty breakfast.

The view from the restaurant is very nice and you can actually see some mountains in the background, without the views on the building sites. Now, that IS nice!

The satellite TV caters very little for English speaking guests with ONLY CNN to watch, otherwise you have to pay to watch some movies. There are however lots of Spanish and Catalans channels, so very good for the Spaniards I guess!

The rooms are huge though and the bathroom is very large and nice too, with separate toilets and mirrors everywhere. All the usual complimentary towels, toiletries and bathrobes etc... but that's expected for a 5* hotel.

Not sure I'd rush back to this hotel; it was nice because we were almost the only ones in the hotel at the time of our stay, but if you are looking for a relaxing time in a lovely spa, it would definitely be a bit too crowded when the hotel is full or has half its room occupied.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank DivingFrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escaldes-Engordany
0.4 mi away
Roc Blanc Hotel
Roc Blanc Hotel
#2 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Exe Prisma
Hotel Exe Prisma
#3 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mola Park Atiram Hotel
Mola Park Atiram Hotel
#1 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Andorra
Hotel Plaza Andorra
#4 of 36 in Andorra la Vella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hesperia Andorra la Vella
Hesperia Andorra la Vella
#2 of 36 in Andorra la Vella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Acta Arthotel
Hotel Acta Arthotel
#3 of 36 in Andorra la Vella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc de Caldes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc de Caldes

Property: Hotel Roc de Caldes
Address: s/n Crta d'Engolasters, Escaldes-Engordany AD700, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Escaldes-Engordany Parish > Escaldes-Engordany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Escaldes-Engordany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Roc de Caldes 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Roc de Caldes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roc De Caldes Andorra/Escaldes-Engordany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing