We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean, basic accomodation”
Review of Xalet Verdu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xalet Verdu Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, clean, basic accomodation”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We only had bed and breakfast so can't comment on the restaurant. Rooms are a good size and seemed cleaned to a good standard. Plenty of choice at breakfast although we were always in too much of a rush to have much. Not too far a walk from the gondola at the end of the day but uphill unfortunately! The only thing I would say is that for a ski resort it should have a proper secure boot/ski storage room. Ski's could be left in the basement garage ski locking rack (10 euro deposit for the padlock and key) though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iggyhusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    144
    55
    17
    7
See reviews for
136
162
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here for a short stay. This hotel was Perfect location as the gondola was only a 2 minute walk away to get up to the mountains. It was very clean and basic. We had half board, Breakfast was good, the first evening meal we had was good, chicken cooked nice etc.. the 2nd however was turkey and was processed turkey-looked like it was frozen turkey and tinned veg. On the other hand the staff where very friendly and the receptionist very helpful. I would recommend staying here for a skiiing holiday, but self catering if you are a fussy eater.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just got back from Arinsal as part of a quick ski trip that we booked last minute. We picked the Verdu as it was very cheap for a half board hotel and close to the Gondola up from Arinsal and the 6 pack down so no need to rely on ski buses.
We weren't expecting much to be honest, (just a warm dry base for skiing) but we were really impressed with what was delivered.
We were a family of 3 and had a room on the 4th floor (412). The hotel, was clean, had good sized rooms and the staff were lovely (it definitely helps if try to learn a little Catalan!!).
The food was fine and plentiful, though if you are full on "egg and chips only" then don't forget you're in Andorra and some of the recipes are not standard UK fare. But we had no issues and the staff were happy to accomodate any changes to our order.
Worth mentioning is the fact that you can hire a locker at the top of the Gondola to store your skis and boots in which makes the morning trip to the slopes with kids much, much easier. The cost is about 35 euro for the week... and they are worth every penny!!
The town itself and the skiing was much, much better than the guide books had led us to expect and The Derby Irish Bar was great and family friendly too.
All in all an unexpected delight and we would certainly not hesitate to recommend or return to the Xalet Verdu.

Room Tip: The top floor family rooms seemed a little quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robotdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is very well located, you can walk down hill to the gondola in the morning and walking down hill from the chair lift in the evening when your legs are tired, never have to walk uphill except when walking back from the bars, it was lovely and clean, the cleaning women did a great job. everyday, we left it in a mess most mornings as we were running late and she would even fold our clothes.the room was big and plenty of wardrobe space and a big bath with plenty of hot water and loads of soft fluffy towels. The double bed was too singles put together that easily rolled away from each other, which was annoying . It was a really warm hotel also. the breakfast was great hot and cold foods, you have to be remember that their meat is not the same as ours but the omelettes and eggs where lovely. The dinners where good the starters were great could fill you up on that, most of the dinners were lovely just think we got a little tired by the end a lot of fish but there was always a choice. The hotel staff where the best I'd seen ever I could easily say always had a smile on there face and very understanding , we had a great laugh with them. Overall it's a great hotel the

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corksligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here whilst on a skiing trip. I found the room (201) to be very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was in good condition and the room itself was always nice and warm. The staff were friendly and the breakfast plentiful. The only thing I would say is that the sound proofing isn't great so ear plugs are advisable.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrislorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Hotel itself has somewhat dated decor but to be honest we went there to Ski so that was not my priority for this stay. The hotel is however located only 200 meters or so from the main Gondola to the ski slopes (less than 5 min walk downhill) or if you prefer to walk to the 6 chair lift uphill its about a 10 min walk, so this place is perfectly situated. Amenities at the hotel were great, with Xalet Verdu offering a lounge area with pool table, a bar lounge and a decent breakfast to get you started for the day included in the price. The breakfast is not huge but does offer both hot and cold options which you want in a ski environment, however to be honest I didn't think much of the quality of the food being served (Bacon tasted over smoked and I think on one day it may have been powdered eggs **** thats just my thoughts and I could be entirely wrong).
Rooms were warm and great for drying out your clothes after a long ski day but I must admit we did open the windows slightly at night as it was too hot, but thats better than being too cold. Beds were springy and not the most comfortable and you may want to take your own pillow as it was rather small yet long, unlike any other pillow I have seen in a hotel before.
Staff were OK. I read reviews that they were great but I actually found them not to be engaging but this might have been a slight language barrier, for instance we arrived at midnight and were hungry so asked if there was anywhere in town still open to eat. They advised that there was not and yet we walked down the street 50 meters and found a place that served food until 1.30am so you would think that a hotel would know that the business next door was open until that time. Not a major thing but was an example of general service experienced at the hotel.
The price we paid was part of a ski package with EasyJet so the room price was dirt cheap and well worth the price we paid as we just wanted to ski.
Would I stay here again? Yes I would as it is great value and a great location.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room away from the road if you are noise sensitive as you do hear the snow ploughs c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank APHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Xalet Verdu is in a great position to access both the mountain & the town of Arinsal. Just a 5 minute walk downhill to the gondola & a 5 minute walk back (again downhill) if you use the 6 man chair to get back which finishes at the top of the resort. Either is no problem as you can leave your gear in the secure cage on the mountain.
Arinsal has limited skiing, but links to Pal which offers more - for me though the highlight is Arcalis - a hidden gem & some of the best snow I've skiied on + great & limitless off piste. Access via the free local bus - be warned you may have to push & shove to get on both ways, or use the local bus for 3 Euros. Dont miss it.
Good local bars are aplenty in resort, with Quo Vadis & La Taverna a favourite of mine - good beer, cheap & really friendly staff.
The hotel was great. Friendly staff, good location, plentiful food at breakfast & evening, with a great free buffet. For the price we paid I cant complain - well just 1 little niggle - the hotel was too warm. Would & will visit again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 27steve62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arinsal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
3.5 mi away
Abba Xalet Suites Hotel
5.2 mi away
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
#2 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montane
Hotel Montane
#4 of 12 in Arinsal
288 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mola Park Atiram Hotel
Mola Park Atiram Hotel
#1 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
#3 of 12 in Arinsal
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xalet Verdu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xalet Verdu Hotel

Property: Xalet Verdu Hotel
Address: Prat del Verdu, carretera Gral, Arinsal AD400, Andorra
Phone Number:
Location: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Xalet Verdu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xalet Verdu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Xalet Verdu Arinsal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing