We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We have just arrived back from a week of superb skiing/snowboarding in Arinsal.

The hotel, as other reviews have said, is a 4* on the basis of the facilities available (i.e the spa). The rooms are basic, however comfortable and have what you need considering you are out all day on the slopes and all you want at the end of the day if you're anything like me is a long hot bath! So plenty of hot water - thank goodness.

The food at the hotel was plentiful and fab variety - every night the main courses differed and there was always oodles to eat. The hotel staff were generally polite on the whole in particular the waiters/waitresses in the restaurant.

The snow was amazing during the time which we were there. I was quite concerned before we left for Andorra that there hadn't been snow since the 12 Feb but from Wednesday of our week's stay it snowed everyday so lovely fresh powder to fall on! :)

I will definitely be returning to Andorra, hopefully next year. It is so different to France for instance, so much more relaxed and beginner/intermediate friendly. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beci66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    605
    179
    76
    33
See reviews for
551
659
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Don't listen to any of the negative reviews about this hotel. Some of the issues about waiting a while to check in, rooms being too small or too hot. Hello, this is a hotel. I would rather be too hot than too cold, at least I could open a window if need be. Rooms are not huge but nether the less , you sleep and shower and then your out all day. If you wanted a quicker check in time than I suggest you travel independently on your own as oppose to a package holiday and that way you will arrive alone and not with a coach load of other guests.

I took my two teenage kids to Arinsal on 11/01/09 for one week. It was my second time skiing and thier first time. I booked it through Ski Direct who were agents for Inghams. I was impressed the minute I got on the coach after arriving at Tolouse as the Inghams Rep, Jonathan had all our passes,equipment hire and tuition cards ready so that when we arrived at the hotel we could go straight to the Gondola, up the mountain to sort out our equpiment hire so that the next moring we were all ready for our lessons.
The hotel staff were really friendly and the food was great,loads of choices.
Arinsal is a lovely place to learn to ski or improve, I loved this hotel and one day will return again. Next year I want to try Soldeu or Pas de la Casa and for this reason I won't be stayingat this hotel.

All in all a fab holiday,great skiing and tuition and a truly lovely hotel

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LickleJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a great weeks skiing holiday in Arinsal from the 15th to 22nd February and really enjoyed our stay at the Princesa Parc. We had six days of blue sky, sunshine and great snow.

As some reviews have suggested the Princesa Park is not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The rooms are definitely not up to the 4 star standard you would find at a Hilton or a Marriott in the UK. If this sort of quality is what you are looking for this hotel is not for you.

The rooms are small with very little storage space and both the room and bathroom lack any sort of ventilation, therefore unless you periodically open the window the room tends to feel damp and stuffy. If you want to use the room safe it’s an additional 18 euros for the week. There was also an absence of any tea/coffee making facilities in the room– not really 4 star service.

The hotel location is absolutely fantastic, just a 5 minute walk along the stream side path to the gondola.

The cooked breakfasts were very good, an ideal feed before you hit the slopes. The dinner did periodically lack a bit in quality and warmth but I must say we didn’t think the food was as bad as some of the latest reviews have suggested and the choice available was good. I also add that unlike some reviews we never had to queue for the restaurant though we did see some queues forming at popular times.

For après ski, the food and atmosphere in both Quo Vadis and El Moli were good and we would recommend either. We would not however recommend the Indian adjacent to the hotel, the quality of food was worse than a budget supermarket curry and not exactly cheap at 15 euros for chicken masala and pilau rice.

We found that food and drink generally is not cheap due to the strength of the pound though some purchases are of better value than others. The Spanish produced beers and wines in resort and hotel bars were not too badly priced however soft drinks and imported alcohol were more expensive. Food and drink on the slopes is also quite expensive, we ended up buying things at the supermarket (mars bars etc) for a quarter of the price than that on the slopes.

All in all a very enjoyable holiday, as far as recommending the Princesa Park, well I think it’s the probably the best hotel in Arinsal but if your after a bit of luxury as the brochures make out, you’re not going to get it at the Princesa Park.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalverleyRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We have just arrived back from a great week in Arinsal. We stayed in the Diana wing of the Princesa Parc which is "supposed" to be the 5 star wing. The rooms are nice but a bit on the small side with very little storage and hanging space to unpack clothes. The heat was a bit overwhelming but this is better than being too cold. The jacuzzi, bath robes and slippers are a nice touch but thats as far as the luxury goes. The bed linen was never changed throughout the week long stay which is not very five star service. The breakfast is absolutely fine but the dinner is lacking in selection, quality and warmth with dishes such as calve's tongue! In paying 5 star prices one would expect 5 star food but this is where the Princesa Parc fails most. Apart from the food we had a great stay and Arinsal is a great village with first class ski school instructors. Would still recommend but maybe not for Half Board.

  • Liked — The Location and Facilities
  • Disliked — The Food!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SarahDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Nice hotel and setting, rooms very comfortable, enjoyed our week there, breakfast and dinner were good. When we checked out I accidentally left my mobile phone in my hotel room on my bed, couldn't contact the hotel until I reached a pay phone, it had mysteriously vanished by then from the room???!
Good location and very comfortable to stay in just watch your personal items!

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
Thank Dub6w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Hello,

We stayed at the Princesa Parc from the 25th Until the 1st Feb. When we arrived at the airport we was told that we were going to be diverted to Barcelona due to the weather. Not a problem. Until we got there. The baggage situation was a nightmare (wouldnt put me of going again)

We finally found our rep and on our way we got. Stopped of at a dodgy unplanned stop for a drink and another hour and half we arrived. We were given Champagne which was yummy. Didnt take long to check in. Directions to room were not clear but we figured it out in the end.

The room-

We stayed in the princesa part and i was sceptical about the room from some reviews. But i felt it was a very decent room. Plenty of space, two showers, coomfy bed. Was very warm too.

Food-

The food was yummy. Reviews on here did not to it justice and again had me worrying, The prices in the restraunt for drinks were a bit pricey , 3 euros for a small coke, cheaper to get the beer. We had all sorts and only dined out two nights (due to discovering apre ski nachos and beer)

Skiing

We started beginers ski school, which was bril. Friendly staff who didnt get mad the amount of times i fell over. Brilliant ski conditions, fantastic location. Couldnt have made you feel more welcome.

Nightlife

Apre ski is brill! Quo Vadis came top for us. Lovley nachos , good entertainment, good laugh all around. We did venture to the other pubs like the irish bar but always found ourselves back there.

Overall the reviews on here dont always do the princesa parc good! Will be def going back next year!

  • Liked — Closeness to the night life
  • Disliked — Having to come home!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank falls_alot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2009

Location: I've been to a few ski resorts across Europe and stayed in different accommodations ranging from hostel to 4-star hotel. For location, Princesa Parc definitely has its advantage given that it's the only above average hotel (rated 4 stars+) that's within 5 minutes walk from the gondola station. The walk to the station was pleasant - stone steps with the river on one side and mountain on the other side.

Common areas: First impression was great. The hotel has lots of natural lights penetrating everywhere from the restaurant to the lounge. Check-in was fast and staff were friendly, even the welcoming drinks were pleasant. Throughout our one-week stay at the hotel, we enjoyed the two lounges the most (one in the main building, one in another building (Diana Hotel) connected by a gallery-like corridor). There was a good selection of beverages (even over 10 types of hot chocolate and tea!). Prices were fair and service staff were really friendly. We particularly liked the lounge in Diana Hotel because of its fantastic mountain and village view and cozy fireplace. There's live piano music in one lounge and guitar performance in another (both pianist and guitarist are also singers). Both are relaxing but the downside is the cigarette smoke from customers.

Room: Everything just went downhill after checking in. The hotel has made tremendous efforts to take you outside of your room so that you could spend more money in the cozy lounges! Our bed was rock hard and dented (a big dip at the end of the bed) and pillows were sheet thin. The tv is small but we'd be happy to have one if it could give us some entertainment. If you're not a news addict (BBC, Sky and CNN are the only english channels), please bring a book or your only activity in your room is to sleep. If you need a cup of tea or coffee when you're relaxing in your room, be prepared to pay 6 euros for the service charge because there is not at least a small kettle in your room, unless of course you don't mind walking with your sore legs to the bar through a cold corridor. Overall, we wouldn't really care much about the size of the room as long as it is a cozy decent room in a 4-star hotel. But our room was a big disappointment.

Food: We had heard different opinions about the food so we were prepared to dine out sometimes even though we went with the half-board. The breakfast was above average - lot of selections with hot (English breakfast) and cold (hams, cheese, cereals, fruits) food and drinks. Unfortunately we only found out their made-to-order omelets and crepes by the end of our stay. On the other hand, the dinner was horrifying. We only dinned in twice (only because we were too tired to walk out) and dinned out for the rest of the week. Not sure if it's because the food was sitting in the heating trays for too long, the meats and fish were dry like jerky and vegetables were tasteless. There was no free drinks - ridiculously, tea and coffee were even unavailable even if you're willing to pay for them. It almost seemed to us that the breakfast and dinner were completely run by different restaurant owners. So, we highly recommend you to get B&B only unless you can't walk for 5 minutes to some nice restaurants in the area. Some recommended restaurants: Cafe Everest (Swiss fondue), Surf (Argentinian beef - huge portion recommend you to share), Restaurant 360 (international food, real chocolate milkshake!) and The Rocky (Catalan stone cooking).

Services: Lounge staff were friendly but the spa and reception were so-so. One of the Spanish-speaking women was very rude to me after found out that I did not bring my hotel registration card with me (I made the booking with my registeration card on the previous day and had my room key with me on the day for the spa). Reception staff were mostly friendly except one man who worked in night shift. When we checked out, we asked for the locker key deposit refund. But we realized the locker key wasn't free (3 euros/day) when the man demanded more money from us. Since the day shift staff who gave us the locker key only told us to pay for deposit but never mentioned the rental fees, we wanted an explanation from the man. The man started being very rude to us as if we didn't understand English! We're very upset. It's not about paying 21 euros rental fee for the small locker which could basically hold nothing but your passports and camera, it's about deceiving us and treating us rudely.

Andorra is underrated for what it has to offer to value-minded skiers. Princesa Parc is overrated for its 4-star rating until it improves its service and food qualities There are some 2-or 3-star hotels that locate just as close to the gondola station as Princesa Parc. We'd recommend you to stay in a good rated 2- or 3-star hotel nearby and go to Princesa Parc for drinks and live music or get breakfast only if you really want to stay there.

  • Liked — Lounges, Spa facility (not the staff)
  • Disliked — Staff (night shift), dinner food
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmateurTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arinsal
0.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
#3 of 12 in Arinsal
189 reviews
5.1 mi away
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
#2 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
1,033 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Andorra
Hotel Plaza Andorra
#6 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Andorra Park Hotel
Andorra Park Hotel
#1 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
980 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Andorra
Holiday Inn Andorra
#4 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
1,015 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Princesa Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Princesa Parc

Property: Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
Address: Carretera General d'Arinsal, Arinsal AD400, Andorra
Location: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spa Princesa Parc 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Princesa Parc is a Holiday Club Hotel located in Andorra, in the Pyrenees, between France and Spain. This hotel is two steps from the foot of the ski slopes and offers a range of upscale services It will help you to relax under the best possible conditions. In winter to enjoy the snowy landscapes and fresh snow and in summer to contemplate and enjoy the natural landscapes and sporting and cultural resources of this region. For a quality stay in the mountain, choose a hotel with a variety of lodging capacity, restaurants and bars as well as many activities for relaxation and wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Spa Princesa Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesa Parc Hotel
Princesa Parc Arinsal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing