We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, Friendly Staff & Random Food Fun!”
Review of Hotel Montane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montane
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Myself, boyfriend & four friends stayed at the Hotel Montane from 7th - 14th March 2010 and we thought it was great! The rooms are basic and some only have a shower & not a bath but all were spotless & comfortable, with some nice toiletries for you to use. Take some slippers though as the tiled floors can be a little cold & sometimes the heating wasn't on quite high enough to keep the room warm when it was -12c outside. The main thing however is the location - there is no better in Arinsal! Right opposite the bottom of the Gondala with stunning mountain views I don't think it could be bettered. The staff were all English speaking, polite & friendly. I lost a diamond earring while I was staying there & it was found by the maid & handed in - not sure you'd get that level of honesty in lots of UK hotels! Our highlight of every evening though was the half board evening meal : ) It was a choice of three dishes for three courses & was always completely random - we had wedding cake for one dessert!! On the whole the food was very edible (sometimes a little heavy on the salt) & the chef was happy to accomodate special diets - they did a good job with limited ingredients & the portions were always generous (unless you ordered ice cream!) We enjoyed the surprise of the meals so much we only ate out once & wished we hadn't! All in all we enjoyed our stay at this friendly, fun hotel - hope you enjoy yours too!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastMidsGirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 300 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2010

This hotel is in a perfect location, opposite the main gondola. The hotel itself is satisfactory, bearing in mind the star rating. Our twin room (there are no doubles) and it's en suite bathroom were pleasant - I've been in worse with a higher star rating.

However, what really let down this hotel is the attitude of the staff, especially the maitre d', towards tour operator guests. Clearly, the hotel has entered into an agreement to rent out a large number of it's rooms (if not all) through the whole ski season to Inghams/Thomson, but it is not happy with the deal.

This was evident from the attitude of the staff at meal times. We asked to sit in the window so we could appreciate the view, but was told that these tables are reserved for "paying guests". When we pointed out that we WERE paying guests, we were told that we pay hardly anything, unlike other guests.

It was only then that it dawned on us that the tables in the window were made up with cloth table cloths and napkins, candles, etc., however all of the other tables for the use of guests on half board were made up with paper tablecloths and paper napkins.

Unfortunately, from that point on, we FELT like second class citizens, noticing the distainful attitude with which staff treated tour operator guests, as opposed to other guests. It spoilt our stay in an otherwise satisfactory hotel.

My question is - if the Hotel Montane is so unhappy with its agreement with Inghams/Thomson to the point where they cannot hide this from guests - why sign the deal in the first place?

Anyway, the food itself was of a good standard for half board (don't expect any vegetables). We asked what the supplement was to have an English breakfast as opposed to Continental breakfast and was told it was 7 euros - hardly a supplement as this was the standard charge for an English breakfast anyway!

So the upshot of it is, if you book this hotel, just go into it with your eyes open. It is still good value and has an extremely good location, which may make up for its other shortcomings.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wobijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

we stayed in room 501 the gregorys staff were polite and helpfull hope to go again next year if there not full lovely bars local thanks

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregory1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We were a bit worried about the mixed reviews received by this place but we were totally reassured when we stayed there last week. All credit goes to the staff who looked after the hotel to a high standard and were always more than happy to help in any way - particularly Matt and Damien. The rooms were clean, comfortable and I loved the bathroom freebies - better than what I've seen at the Hilton. In fact the bathroom was much better too.

The hotel isn't the biggest in Arinsal but that's what makes this place so much better. And lets set the record straight - on speaking to friends from another (four star) hotel, the food was a million times better in Montane. I agree with a previous review that the continental breakfast is more than enough for the morning, and you could have as much or as little as you wanted. Evening meals were brilliant, good variety and well served.

Without a doubt the best thing about the hotel was its location and free use of the ski locker. It is also central to all the main shops, bars and restaurants. Some nights we could hear people in the streets after the bars had shut, particularly the Friday night, but it didn't cause us much bother. Arinsal is a small place so is to be expected.

We would definitely look to stay here next year, and certainly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed in the Hotel Montane for 1 week. As other people say it's in a great location, opposite the gondola and within a couple of paces of the main nightspots.
The rooms include everything you need on a skiing trip and the bathroom looked like it had been recently refurbed, with a good hot shower and a decent bath.

The reception staff were very friendly. My main criticism is that it seemed to be normal practice for the mangeress to smoke in the reception area in front of guests.
Whilst it seems acceptable in Andorra for people to smoke in bars, restaurants and reception areas - I don't think the reception staff, particularly the manageress should be promoting it!
As non smokers, our clothes stank of cigarette smoke on return from the trip and I didn't see any dedicated non-smoking rooms on offer. Most of the surrounding bars where only bearable for an hour or so for this reason.

Previous reviews mention poor food.
Breakfast on offer was continental - toast, cereal, cold meats, cheese, croisants, yoghurts, fruit salad etc.
Hot breakfast was charged extra.
Just eating the continental breakfast I found was enough.
Evening meal offered was 3 course with 3 options per course, 1 of these being vegetarian. It was fairly basic food, but certainly acceptable with enough variety for 1 weeks stay.

We would have no quarms in staying here again and it proved to be everything we needed and wanted for a skiing of holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktmxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Stayed in this hotel from 15/02/2010 only by default as it was all I could get for a 7 days short notice break. The proximaty of the Gondola was what most attracted me - its 20 meters from the front reception door - superb!
What put me off was the reviews on Trip Advisor regarding the 'awful' food at this hotel, this didnt matter to us as we booked B&B intending to eat out on a night time. Turns out the previous Bad Reviews were 'owned' by the previous owners who had basically run the place on a shoestring budget and let quality etc lapse. The new owners took over approx 3 months ago and all I can say is that everything we experienced at this hotel was more akin to a much more expensive 5star establishement . The food was EXCELLENT, the staff could not have been more helpfull and the bedrooms and facilties were of a standard of fittment that is way above what could reasonably have been expected from this level of hotel ( We did P&O Ventura over xmas 2009 at £2k each - the Montanes bedrooms are far better for a quarter of this cost!) Whilst I would recomend this Hotel to all and anyone - I would strongly ask that management urgently improve the lighting in and around the stairs and corridoors in and around our room (104) as we found the poor lighting very difficult to cope with. To all the staff at the Montane - THANK YOU VERY MUCH! - MR M & MASTER H

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mich3690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

just returned from a weeks snowboarding/skiing trip. I had read reports about hotel and bad food, and so wanted to put my review in. As we were informed by our rep the hotel has been recently taken over. The rooms were comfortable and beds made everyday and the bathroom lovely and clean with lots of free products (note through-no soap). The food was very good, good choice of continental breakfast and 3 course evening meal was if good quality considering its only a 3 star. The location of the hotel cant be beaten, right opposite the main godular and central to bars and shops. All in we were all very pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavenderips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arinsal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
0.2 mi away
Xalet Verdu Hotel
Xalet Verdu Hotel
#3 of 12 in Arinsal
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
#2 of 12 in Arinsal
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Xalet Besoli
Xalet Besoli
#5 of 12 in Arinsal
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arinsal
Hotel Arinsal
#9 of 12 in Arinsal
88 reviews
3.3 mi away
Abba Xalet Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montane

Address: Carretera General d'Arinsal, Arinsal AD400, Andorra
Location: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Price Range: $92 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montane 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montane is a 3* hotel located directly opposite the gondola in Arinsal, Andorra. We offer guests half board, bed and breakfast and A La Carte options for dining in our restaurant.The rooms are equipped with digital television and wifi internet access. All rooms are en suite.We are proud to provide a personal touch to hospitality from the moment our guests check in, until their check out. We also take great pride in our restaurant and have a reputation for providing fine dining throughout Andorra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing