We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and service, welcoming atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Montane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montane
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We ate out last week at the restaurant, and enjoyed a really terrific meal. The serving staff were attentive without being obtrusive, the meals arrived without delay (but also timed so you don't feel you are being rushed through for the next sitting - very important in popular places). Starter was a great Caesar salad. I consider myself a connoisseur of these, and this did the name full justice. Only quibble would be that it was a main portion size, which left me a bit adrift for the rest of the meal. Never mind, I struggled (womanfully) on...to a truly lovely fillet steak, cooked to nano-perfection, served with asparagus (happy marriage, yes?) and thereafter a deconstructed blueberry cheesecake which will linger long, and happy, in the memory. Wines were great (we were lucky to have a true wine aficionado pick the best from the wine list, but in truth I think they put a lot of effort into their selection here, and you won't suffer the agonies of plonk at this establishment). Coffee is me-strength, so no complaints there. It will be an absolute pleasure to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foodiehag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMontane2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montane, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review.
We are pleased everything was up to standard, I´ll pass on your comments to the team.
We hope to see you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 297 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

From the reviews on here I was expecting something a lot better than we actually received.

You have to pay extra to store your boards, which I had never come across before and thought a bit of a cheek, as you had already paid for the holiday. Your board will be scuffed up at the end of the week as they are all just stuffed in.

The room was ok, pretty basic but fine would have been nice to have internet in the rooms, a pain to go to the lobby to log on. It would have been nice to have the bathroom actually cleaned in the week. The sound proofing is pretty basic so be prepared to be kept awake if you have noisy neighbours.

The food was the worst area I think.
Breakfast, choice was very limited, no hot food offered, and nothing really to keep you going for a day on the slopes.
Your cake and coffee in the afternoon turned out to left overs from breakfast, along with the smell of sewage in the lobby didn't make it that appealing.
Dinner slots had to be pre booked, you got a huge cheap pasta starter, small mains and even smaller deserts. One night I tried a mousse that wasn't even set. The food made us feel that bad that we gave up eating there and ate out all week.

We left early and got a little pack lunch to take with us, it would have been nice if it wasn't stale!

I have to say the local reception staff were lovey, the owners not so friendly, I fact I don't think I got acknowledged once.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank raine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Montane-AND, Owner at Hotel Montane, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Hi there Poor and Disappointed,

Sorry to hear you absolutely hated it here.

Do you know how I know that your review is wide of the mark?
You give us just 3 on location , such is your dislike for us .
Unbelievably shortsighted of you.
We are just 25 metres from the base station! Best location of all the Vallnord hotels.

All the other comments then of course are left totally non bona-fide as a consequence.
And I feel absolutely no obligation to address them in your case.
We´re actually quite relieved that you wont be coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This hotel couldn't have been a better choice or in a more perfect location!

My sister won a competition via o2 priority moments and Snowboxx 2014 and the winner's package included 6 nights half board accomodation for 4 people including return flights and transfers, ski hire, lift pass and Snowboxx festival armbands! At first our hotel was set to be the Pallerine (much closer to La Masana) it then changed to St.Gothard then to the Besoli and finally 2 days before departure, we were informed of our upgrade to the "highest ranked hotel in Arinsal via TripAdvisor: Hotel Montane" - Great way to start the holiday and they couldn't have been more accurate!

Upon arrival to Hotel Montane after a very tedious 4 hour coach journey from Barcelona, we were given a very warm welcome and speedy check in by a wonderful local receptionist- all the information regarding our rooms and meal times were given to us at the same time and immediately we were made to feel at home. Once settled in we booked dinner for 6.30pm and made a journey to the Sant Moritz supermarket just a short 5 minute walk away before returning to the hotel to eat.

The restaurant is clean and tidy with warm decor and the best staff in Arinsal! Have to say a massive thank-you to the English staff but in particular the local waiter with the glasses who was pleasant and precise to a T- with no request unreasonable. Most nights we had dinner at 7.15pm and it's very easy to book this every morning/afternoon with the receptionist. Most nights we chose whatever table we wished to sit at and the service was next to none! The menu for the half-board guests included a 3 course meal with a choice of 3 Starters, 3 Main Courses and 3 Desserts- there was never any issue or problem with the meals- usually there was a choice of soup/salad/pasta for Starter, beef/chicken/pork option for main and fruit/icecream/tart option for dessert. On one occasion I ordered 2 starters and a dessert which, of course, was no problem! :)
There was only one evening when I complained of the high salt content in both the soup and the spicy meatballs but every other evening the food was fantastic!

Our party of 4 were in rooms 103 and 104 on the 1st floor- lift very efficient, as were the stairs!! The bedrooms were very clean and spacious, the maid attended to them on a daily basis, making our beds, folding our PJs, emptying bins and sweeping the floor! The beds were comfortable and the TV worked with ease. If you wish to have a remote, you can get this from reception with 20 euro damage deposit (returned at the end of the trip) The shower was powerful and easy to work. Warm water and heating available 24/7. In fact most of the time, we turned the radiators off in our room! There was a small balcony in each room which acted well as a fridge for our water etc. The hotel Wifi was free and password easily obtained from reception- Wifi not great in bedrooms but very good closer to reception (just glad to have it available at all!)

Our hotel was very central- perfect location- right opposite the Ski Gondola only 5 steps across the road! Local bars included Surf, El Moli, El Cau, The Derby and Cisco's (with Apres Ski at Cisco's- 1.50euro for a pint and free chilli con carne nachos every day- best part of the holiday!)

Skiing was amazing- an 8 minute trip in the Gondola brought you to the bottom of the piste with ski shops and bars/restaurants including El Refugi and Panoramix. Our ski hire via Snowboxx was from Pic Negre- here they take Passport/Driver's License as a deposit (returned when Ski hire is brought back!) Helmets were let out at 3 euro per day- good value and definitely worth it. The slopes in Arinsal could be described as very open plan with a Nursery slope, a green, 2/3 blues 2/3 reds and 2 blacks. Overall fantastic skiing, This was my 3rd Ski Holiday and by far the most enjoyable skiing experience. The snow was great also. There is 3 chair lifts- 2 4 man and 1 6 man. Also a button lift and at the highest point of the piste, a cable car running every 12 mins 9am-4.15pm to secondary ski resort- Pal (great slopes here also!!) we had lunch everyday for the week in El Refugi- best prices and staff on the pistes and the most fabulous views.

Many of the bars had promotions and offers for Snowboxx and some had events on throughout the week but the best of Snowboxx was the top of the Gondola at the secret stage.
Noise levels at night were much, much better than anticipated and I would most certainly return to the same resort and most definitely the same hotel!!

Best holiday ever! Thank you Hotel Montane.

Room Tip: 1st floor bedrooms are more likely to have Wifi than upper rooms if this is important to you. Twin b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MegW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Montane-AND, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montane, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Thank you for all your kind comments , the staff are really pleased they made such a good impression.
Dont forget that your next trip carries a discount on price,a free room upgrade and complimentary chocolates and cava.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel with my two kids. It's a small and very personable hotel, in a great location with very helpful staff. Rooms are spacious, yes beds not the most comfy, but I didn't really have a problem. We had a room at the front and didn't experience any noise at all at night. Food was excellent and they went out of there way to cater for my fussy 6 year old, nothing was too much trouble, most nights we had different requests and these were happily met. I loved the small lounge because you get to meet and chat with others, something that's harder to do in a large hotel. The staff at reception are very helpful and knowledgable and are happy to help with any query you may have. Wifi works well in lounge and restaurant.
The location of the hotel is great,taking two kids on a skiing holiday on your own can be a challenge. So the location really helped. I loved the feel of the resort, very friendly and cosy little place. I visited another hotel up the road for drinks and to check out the spa, yes they had lots of facilities but no character and cold unfriendly staff. So I was very happy with my choice of hotel.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and I will definitely return.
Thanks for a great week. :)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scriblins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMontane2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montane, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your rave review!
The team love to see happy clients expressing themselves on Trip Advisor and thanks for taking the time.
Make sure if you´re back our way to enjoy the benefits of a return client in discounts and upgrades.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great hotel, awesome location and the staff are brilliant !!! If your looking for a hotel with a really good family vibe it's a winner !!!! My wife had an abscess and they even arranged a dentist appointment. You just don't get service like this anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMontane2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montane, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Thank you so much for that review.
It makes all the difference to us to stay in the number one spot.
We hope to see you again some time with all the advantages tacked on as a return guest.
Love to that great family!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just got back from aweek in arinsal here is my review
location v good but noisy of a night due to local nightclubs kicking out
resturant staff v good
front deskstaff poor very little interaction did not make much effort , the only person who went of his way was nick, the rest of the front desk staff hardly looked up.

resturant
breakfast average, but nice full english €5 but worth it
Dinner 3 courses all good
afternoon cakes e.t c leftovers........stale

all in all this is a good hotel, but

you have to pay to leave your skis/snowboard in the hotel in which you have already paid a good
price !!!!


I felt it was a con, they do not have to charge for the key they could of took details and handed the key out with proof of room number e.t.c their is no mention of this when you book either, no matter how they dress it up its a con!!!


Never had to pay for this before and the room you keep your skis in has nothing apart form metal racks that just about take your skis in, I bought a brand new snowboard and it had scratches on the top sheet and the base this was due to the fact that their is not enough room for everyone to fit skis and boards in


rooms nice and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank topsnowboarder_np
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Montane-AND, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montane, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Hi Topsnowboarder,

We´re sorry you didn´t enjoy your stay with us.

After lengthy explanations in the hotel as to why you cant have ski / snow equipment in your room I´m suprised you didn´t quite grasp it.
Its not obligatory , hence its not a rip off , to store your equipment in the ski locker.
There are many other choices open to you.
Only not the room. We have countless damaged tiles from dropping them , dozens of damaged walnut dressing tables from waxing and hot ironing them , torn rugs from changing bindings on them,scratched walls from letting them slide to the floor , broken light fittings from turning round with them on your shoulders.........all in all too much damage to be offset by the price you pay to stay here.
There are lockers readily available at the station , all charged for I´m told.
So no , you are not obliged to leave anything in our ski locker and pay for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We spent a week in Hotel Montane in Arinsal, in early March as a family with two children. Wow what a fabulous location, right opposite the Gondola, we have never had a skiing trip where we haven't had to walk with our gear in our boots. We had two rooms next to each other on the 5th floor which were both reasonable sized, warm with en suites and not particularly fancy but comfortable, and when you are skiing all day, they were everything that is needed. The reception of the hotel has a sofa area with wifi and a fire , and is very cosy and welcoming. A nice place to chat to other guests.

Food was nice in the evenings and basic but acceptable at breakfast. Overall we would recommend this hotel for a skiing break. Arinsal was perfect for our children who were both beginners.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Engineer531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMontane2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montane, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review.
I´ll pass on your comments to the team who are always interested in the feedback.

If you´re ever back our way do take advantage of our return guest benefits.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arinsal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
0.2 mi away
Xalet Verdu Hotel
Xalet Verdu Hotel
#3 of 12 in Arinsal
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xalet Besoli
Xalet Besoli
#5 of 12 in Arinsal
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
#2 of 12 in Arinsal
221 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel L'Ermita
Hotel L'Ermita
#1 of 1 in Meritxell
237 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montane

Address: Carretera General d'Arinsal, Arinsal AD400, Andorra
Location: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Price Range: $49 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montane 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montane is a 3* hotel located directly opposite the gondola in Arinsal, Andorra. We offer guests half board, bed and breakfast and A La Carte options for dining in our restaurant.The rooms are equipped with digital television and wifi internet access. All rooms are en suite.We are proud to provide a personal touch to hospitality from the moment our guests check in, until their check out. We also take great pride in our restaurant and have a reputation for providing fine dining throughout Andorra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Montane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing