We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aparthotel Sant Andreu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Montane(Arinsal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Guillem Hotel(Andorra la Vella)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Hotel Crest(Arinsal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xalet Besoli(Arinsal)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Arinsal(Arinsal)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
32
24
3
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
24
3
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslate at nightarcalishilleuropalskiingjacuzzi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 65 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We travelled here at the end of the ski season in April. The hotel was therefore very quiet. It is a very relaxed hotel with excellent personal service from Simon and the team. Three out of four of us are vegetarian and the evening meals were fantastic and plentiful - high quality restaurant standard and very plentiful. Similar good breakfasts.

The skiing was great with no lift queues. Leave your skiis up the mountain by hiring a locker.

Thanks again Simon - we aim to be back next year.
(From the Try Family, London)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamTry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Just back from a half-term holiday at the Sant Andreu. Found this little gem on this site and booked it based on previous reviews. We were not disappointed, this place is as good as they say.
Transfers had been arranged for us by Simon and we found the bus without problem.We arrived very late, but Nick was there to greet us with soup and sandwiches . We had a 2 bedroom apartment, on the 4th floor, which was very spacious. Take off your shoes if its late at night, as sound does carry between rooms and floors very easily.
Next morning, we enjoyed a nice breakfast of warm fresh croissants, bread, home-made jams, boiled-eggs, meat and cheese, cakes and coffee, tea or hot-chocolate and juices.
The stroll down to the gondola takes about 5 minutes at a leisurely pace. Remember to take either your passports or driving license if you are hiring ski equipment. Simon arranged ski-hire, lift passes and lessons for us and all the passes etc were given to us at breakfast. So again, minimum hassle. We managed to beat the major queues at the ski-hire shop and the equipment was of a good standard. We hired a locker up at the top of the bubble lift. This is not cheap ,(50 euros approx) but worth it as you can walk down to the bubble in the morning unhindered and then unload your kit at night and either take the bubble down and enjoy the apres-ski in Arinsal, with a stroll up hill at the end of the day, or take the chair down and stroll down hill to the hotel,(the hotel is mid-way between the 2 lifts).
We had lessons from 12 until 3 , so spent the morning skiing as a family and then went to 3 separate classes, all of which were good,particularly Helen's, with about 14 in each class and english instructors. We all improved. Despite it being a very busy week, there was still space to ski and queueing times were very short. Trips over to Pal are worthwhile, with beautiful scenery and less crowds. But it takes a while to get there and you need to be a competent skier to get back to the lift across to Arinsal.
Food on the mountain is not cheap and average. You can book packed-lunches at the hotel which look good, although we just settled for hot drinks and a snack during the day.
Evening meals in the hotel were very good. There is a cold buffet and fresh hot soup , followed by a buffet which generally consisted of a fish dish, meat or chicken dish, vegetable dish and chips, rice and pasta. All hot and plentiful. Dinner is from 6.30 until 8 ,unless you are paying a little extra for the specials nights , which start from 8, such as Curry Night , which we can recommend.
The night-life in Arinsal is mostly around the bars. The Quo Vadis was our favourite. We could take the girls in and the staff were very friendly, always plying us with shots. You will often see the instructors in there or Cisco's , the Irish Bar or El Cau. Most of the bars offer a free drink, toasties or snacks to entice you in. The Irish Bar had a band on and Quo has Elvis on Tuesday to Friday, who is very entertaining. The Sant Andreu also does drinks at a very reasonable price and has large screens with sky sports etc as well as internet.
We did 2 trips whilst over there. One was to the toboggan run . Nick took us , bought the tickets and bought us home. This is highly recommended ! What a blast ! The other trip Nick and Crusty took us on was to Arcalis - Do not miss it ! Fantastic skiing , uncrowded wide slopes and what fun with Nick and Crusty, both excellent skiers and instructors and so patient.
Whilst we were there, it was my daughter's birthday. Simon organised a cake which Sarah made. It was absolutely delicious ! One of the girls at Quo gave Georgia a "champagne" bottle of pink lemonade and one of their t-shirts, so she felt very special.
By the end of the week, we felt like old friends because of the fantastic way we were treated at the Sant Andreu and in Arinsal. Would we go back ? Absolutely!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laughter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Just returned from our second stay at the Sant Andreu, this time with a second family. We had a fantastic week, well fed and cared for by Simon and the team. Helenna sorted a problem with ski lessons with one swift phonecall and that's why we will keep coming back. This year we opted out of adult ski school and booked private lessons with Mark (aka Uncle Crusty who helps in the kitchen at the Sant Andreu but is also a qualified ski instructor) He told us we would be doing black runs by the end of the week (2nd time skiing only) and we laughed! He was right though, we did, thanks to his skilled and good humoured tuition. Our friends have stayed in ski resorts worldwide and were equally impressed by both Arinsal and the Sant Andreu. We are all missing the hot croissants at the breakfast table in the mornings!

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
Thank guyvp3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I had booked this hotel based on reviews I had read on this site. I am pleased to say that after my stay in Janurary I can concur with all that has been said about the place. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and seem to go 'the extra mile' to make you feel welcomed. The rooms are warm and clean with ample space and storage (we stayed on the top floor). The showers were always hot, which is great for those aching muscls.

We were only bed and breakfast so cant comment on the evening meals. The breakfast however was good. There were a selection of cold meat and cheese, cereals, bread, an egg boiler, fresh juice and a coffee machine. Although it was a buffet breakfast there were some nice touches such as the home made jams and also warm croissants that were bought from the kitchen. It is worth mentioning the the weekly Curry night, which was excellent value and alwyas popular.

The hotel is in a good location. It is a five minute walk downhill to the Gondola in the mornings and then returning you can ski down to the bottom of the 6 man chairlift, which is another 5 minute DOWNHILL walk to the hotel. If you really want you can always wait for the ski bus that stops outside the hotel.

The skiing was excellent. Arinsal has long and wide open slopes (ideal for learners and early intermediates) and you can get a cable car over to Pal that has a more diverse and challenging set of pistes that run mostly through the trees. Whilst there are not the number of slopes people accustomed to some of the bigger Alpine resorts would expect I must commend the mountain team on their maintainence. Grooming of the snow was over a high standard and I have never seen so many snow cannons in place (almost 300 I believe).

The gem of Vallnord (Arinsal, Pal and Arcalis) is the ski field of Arcalis. This is in a nature reserve and hence there are no slope side accommodation. We had a car and it was an easy 30 minute drive from Arinsal. If y9ou dont have a car there is a free ski bus that runs to the resort. Alternatively I believe Nick from the hotel runs a weekly excurtion to the resort (at a cost). Arcalis has a great array of slopes and is much quiter than the other resorts. We had the slopes almost to ourselves.

We got flights with eayjet to Barcelona and then hired a car. The drive up from Barcelona is easy enough and took about 3 hours. There are a couple of routes you can take (one avoids the tolls) but we took teh toll route, this cost us about 18 euro each way.

I am already planning my next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam_lucy_rayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

travelled with 2 teenage lads and we were made to feel very welcome , happy smiling staff ensured a great relaxing atmosphere. situated between the gondola and the six man chair lift means although Arinsal is on a hill you never need to walk up hill. Home cooked food with a good choice of starters and mains every day generous portions ensured even my teenage lads with hollow legs were full, combined with fresh packed lunches provided each day at half the price of lunch on the slopes made this a very economical choice.thanks to all the staff for a great stay,and hope we can come back again next year, would reccommend this hotel to even the most fussy person.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine_drury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews