We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel most unwelcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aparthotel Sant Andreu
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The room we were in was very basic but had everything that we needed in it, it was quiet at night and had facilities nearby to make this a fantastic hotel(especially surf restaurant for a fantastic steak). However the owners made us feel very unwelcome and as if we were imposing on them in their hotel. This led to us wanting to leave the hotel and even considering moving to a different hotel after the second night. The only positive thing I can say about the hotel is that the staff were good, especially Nick, however the owners have ruined my impression of this area. We stayed February 2011

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 63 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2012

We arrived at the San Andreu apartments in freezing cold conditions and was warmly welcomed by our host Simon. The transfer from the airport was great as the 2 1/2 hr coach journey is broken about half way to resort with a 1/2 hr stop for the loo and a coffee. The apartments are superb, very clean with panoramic views and a surprisingly large floor surface area (based on previous holidays in the french and swiss alps). The kitchen equipment was basic but functional for our requirements. The owners and all the people who work there could not help us enough, Simon was a great host (watch out for his dry sense of humour), Simons partner, Helena was lovely, always happy and smiling (she makes the best sandwiches in the world!!!) we ordered every evening for lunch on the slopes, and it saved us a packet on piste prices. Fatima, Tony and Mark who work in various capacities at Sant Andreu are lovely people, always willing to help you. Last but not least, a very special mention for Joaquin, a man of many talents (barman, comedian, mopper upper, table tidier, lift technician and a wicked snowboarder to boot!). The resort is great for beginners/low level intermediates (great snowpark for you adrenaline junkies in arinsal), there are more difficult reds/blacks for more advanced skiers/boarders but not many. From Arinsal its quite easy to access bot the PAL region and Arcalis - both well worth the visit. Apres ski in Arinsal is great, several nice bars to sample the various free toastie with a pint etc offers, all very friendly and welcoming. To finish off would I go back to Arinsal - probably.... Would I go back to the Sant Andreu apartments... Definitely!!!! Nick, Kier and Will x

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
1  Thank Nick677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Went for a snowboarding trip in Jan, it is on the hill a bit but only a 5min walk to the centre.
rooms were spacious, clean and warm, the shower was nice and hot which is def what you need. Staff are friendly enough, the breakfast isnt a hot cooked one but its hard all the basics you need to fuel up. big space downstairs if you want to chillout or sit at the bar. they have lockers downstairs for all your board/ski gear and for 15euros and hour you have the use of the sauna too.
Only negatives were the smell, if your a non smoker you really nice the musky old smoke smell (but your going to probably get that most places as everyone can smoke inside, even in pubs etc) but also we had to keep our bathroom door shut as a slight sewage smell would develop over the day.

overall if you dont mind the smell much and the walk up the hill at night then it was a reasonable price for a warm place to call home for a week... we didnt eat any meals there as the resturants/pubs did the trick

Nice modern pub 5 mins up the hill on the right (cant remember the name) and also the argentinian resturant 'surf' worth a try....great steaks cooked right near you on a big open fire mmmmm

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We were lucky enough to be moved to the Sant Andreu following a double booking mix up at another hotel. We had a great week there and Simon, Helena and Jay could not do enough for us. The staff are very friendly and we had a lovely relaxing week enjoying the skiing and nights out. On top of that twe had amazing home cooked food every night, especially Thursday's curry buffet which is a must,

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We returned for the 2nd time in April 2011 for late season skiing. We are a family of 4 including two teenage girls and the hotel and apartment are perfect. The service from simon, Helena and the team were excellent again and the food excellent and plentiful. Three of us are vegetarians and much effort goes into meeting this requirement to the highest quality.

There are fantastic views from the hotel over the village which is only a short walk walk away. Hire a locker on the mountain and leave your skis there which makes everything very easy.

We will be returning again in 2012.

Try family from uxbridge, middx.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamTry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

While Andorra is generally a winter holidaying resort, it is an amazing place for hiking and walking in the Summer. The mountains in the Pyrenese provide spectacular scenery and the Sant Andreu is ideally located for some great walks. My girlfriend and I chose this a cheaper alternative to the Alps and we were not disappointed.

Simon Binstead who runs the hotel is great. We were made to feel so very welcome and it was lovely to talk to him about the history of Andorra and the Catalan language as well as his life in Britain and South Africa. The staff there were also very friendly and accommodating; Caroline gave us some wonderful insight into Andorran life and places to go and things to see.

The hotel istelf, like the rest of Andorra, seems to be stuck in the 80's, but Simon told us that he has been trying to get the owners of the building to invest in updating the decor especially in the rooms. That didn't put us off though, as the rooms were basic, and we intended to be out alot of the time. We were lucky to get a room at the top of the building which looked back down the valley, and provided a beautiful back-drop to our balcony meals.

There are many other Summer activities to do other than walking and Simon will gladly point you in the right direction, whether it be mountain biking, archery or the longest toboggon run in the world or days out to museums and historic little towns and villages there is plenty to do.

We can't rate Andorra highly enough, and we know you'll have a lovely time if you stay at the Sant Andreu. (The bus from Barcelona Airport takes you right to the door!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top (no. 4 I think) which looks back down the valley. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

A very big thank u to Simon Helena and everyone of the staff u was all more than hospitable and u went out of ur way to look after all of us there we can't thank u enough for the hospitality that u gave us all outstanding by far a big thank u for collecting me from the top of the mountain then allowing me to dine with u on ur fathers day Simon lunch was fantastic as was all the food u don't know how good the steak n kidney pie was at that time of night when we returned from work first class service first class staff 100% coming back next year if not before with the family Helena if I hadn't followed u to the road out I would never have found my way back thank u and the egg Mayo sandwiches in my packed lunch where most enjoyable whilst sat at the border am back in uk now thank u once again c u all soon Mick the truckie

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mick112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arinsal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
2.6 mi away
Hotel Magic Ski
Hotel Magic Ski
#4 of 10 in La Massana
242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arinsal
Hotel Arinsal
#9 of 12 in Arinsal
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St Gothard Hotel
St Gothard Hotel
#4 of 4 in Erts
476 reviews
9.1 mi away
Somriu Hotel Vall Ski
1.3 mi away
Chalet Janet Erts
Chalet Janet Erts
#12 of 12 in Arinsal
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Sant Andreu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Sant Andreu

Address: Carretera de les pistes 72, Arinsal AD400, Andorra
Location: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arinsal
Price Range: $86 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Sant Andreu 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sant Andreu the aparthotel has 16 apartments, 8 two bedrooms (with a capacity of 4-6 persons) and 8 in a room (for 2-4 people), family room, spacious, fully equipped with Wi-fi in every apartment, well decorated and with great views. We have a bar, restaurant and spa area (gym, sauna, jacuzzi). Located in a privileged setting high mountain in the Vallnord sector, our ski area comprising Pal, Arinsal and Ordino-Arcalis. Enjoy the outdoors, mountains and tranquility in all seasons. Nearby is the village of Arinsal where all amenities and entertainment is located. We strive to provide a good deal with the client. We want you to feel at home. In a family, couple or friends hope your stay will leave the best feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel Sant Andreu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Sant Andreu Arinsal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing