We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last night of holiday”

The Old Town Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Polis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Med food with seasonal menus with meat fish and organic vegetables ,summer Dinner is served in the Garden under vine trees and olive trees , winter in a cosy Old stone house with fireplace .
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“last night of holiday”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The old town tavern was everything previous reviews had said and more. The food was first class and the staff could not have been more helpful. The atmosphere seemed just right and the choice of music was spot on.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimbo777_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evangelos S, Manager at The Old Town Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are so happy that you not only enjoyed the food, but also the general ambience of the restaurant. We try to give a total dining experience, so your comments were most encouraging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    101
    26
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Have been to Polis many times in the last 10 years and had never tried this restaurant we visited on Friday 15th November and had an excellent meal and the service was first class - I had the spring rolls with honey and chilli sauce and can assure you the sauce was home made as stated before. Husband had patridge ravioli and he thought it was amazing, excellent value for money and it rounded off our visit to Cyprus perfectly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evangelos S, Manager at The Old Town Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
The discussion regarding my chilli sauce rumbles on. As you state it is indeed homemade and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Polis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We try to eat here at least twice a week when we're in Polis/Latchi. It's a good candidate for the "Best Restaurant in Cyprus" -- you only have to check on the distance that Cypriots travel to eat here -- and it definitely gets our vote. Superb service from Kostas and Teddy and delicious food from Vangelis (Evangelos) are just part of the experience. The garden is a lovely place to eat and drink and, when the weather gets colder, the indoor room with the fire in the corner is most welcoming.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DandE4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evangelos S, Manager at The Old Town Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. You are right it is a team effort and everyone from the gardeners through to the kitchen staff helps our reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good enough- pricier than most”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Excellent quality food, though pricey. Great athomsphere and lovely garen, though too cold to sit outside when we visited. Missed the personal touch we experienced in other local restaurants.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank magsandwags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evangelos S, Manager at The Old Town Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about us.
Sorry for not making you feel welcome enough
Probably we where short staff due to the end of
The season,in the future we will try our best to
give enough attention to our guests
About being pricier than most,is the little
Extra you paying for top quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best in polis. But still no high flyer”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Not the typical polis tourist trap. They do their best to be above average. Still you feel amateurism. You DON't serve spring spring Rolls with Chili sauce that comes out of a jar!
The steak was pretty good. Nicely grilled.

Helpful?
2 Thank JollyJoe16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evangelos S, Manager at The Old Town Restaurant, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review,
I always like criticism ... because it makes us
better .. but sometimes it makes me feel so sad
because is so unfair to make a review on trip advisor
and say we are amateurs because we used sauce for
the spring rolls from a bottle ...somebody could
just say I didn't like the sauce that's fair enough...
So if anyone is interested on our recipe for the spring roll sauce please
email us and we will be very happy to send it to you
if is similar to ready sauce from a bottle ...sorry..,
But any way some very nice products they
come in bottles...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Town Restaurant also viewed

 
Polis, Paphos District
Polis, Paphos District
 

Been to The Old Town Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing