We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moustakallis Tavern

Moustakallis Tavern
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Polis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The first original and traditional Cypriot Restaurant-Taverna in Polis.Based just off the central square in the town of Polis Chrysochous by the ample Main Car Park. The style of food here can be described as Cypria-European offering exceptional quality local fruit, vegetables, poultry fish and meat.The restaurant has three different large dinning areas catering for all your needs. Having quiet spots, open spaces and family areas.Whether you are on your own or that large group there is a place for everyone,"YOU ARE ALL WELCOME!"
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Very good restaurant, with kind and friendly staff. We enjoyed our steaks with pepper and garlic, vegetables and handcut fries. Only the coffee could be a little bit better.

Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    205
    91
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“We rated it best in Polis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We visited the Latshi/Polis area for 2 weeks in early October 2012, and visited 8 restaurants. As a family of five with children ranged 10-13, it can be a bit tricky eating out, but found all the places we visited really child friendly.
We visited this restaurant twice, as we as a family rated it the best. Service excellent, despite being very busy, staff were all attentive and interacted well with the children. Food, well I ate the best Stifado I have ever had here, and the portion was large. Kids meal were good sized too, and tasted really fresh. We also tried the meze, which was okay, loads of it, but just didn't quite hit the spot, perhaps it was more what the meze consisted of, rather than how tasty it was. Nice touches like free brandy/apperitif, and also free ice cream or kids cocktails to finish off the meal was great. All in all great ambience, great food and at 70 Euros for a family of 5, great value!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stairpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Lovely traditional Cypriot food and a really friendly welcome. I especially enjoyed the fresh fish grilled the traditional way and washed down with some good local wine. The owners seemed very pleased that I could speak some Greek as well!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank andyc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Gem in Polis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Loved it made to feel very welcome and loved the food. If you visit Polis then visit here well worth it a truly heart warming welcome and great food

Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best in Polis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I will not bore you with details
Visited three times, during a two week holiday
It is just the BEST
In the centre of the village,next to a car park

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Batties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moustakallis Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Moustakallis Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing