We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“?????????????”
Review of The Marion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marion Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Polis
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Warm place good price
Location very close to main square of the village
The price for accommodation at that hotel was good value for money.The dinner was excellent and verry good value of the money we paid extra for it rather than looking fora a dinner or snack in the town.
We enhoyed our stay and the breakfast was great

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank iovan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 129 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

I visited polis xrusoxous and Marion hotel for one week this autumn! I mostly enjoyed the comfortable room and the nice pool view i had from it.The staff was very friendly and willing while giving me directions i needed during my accomodation. Last but not least,is the location of this hotel which is at the center of the village so i could have access on foot everywhere! It is for every recommendable!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank marilena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for nearly a month mid December - early January when the weather was a bit unpredictable. I had checked out of the self catering appartment I had originally booked because it wasn't habitable in the winter. The Marion hotel is a family run concern and I found the family very welcoming and helpful. It is a 2 star hotel and priced accordingly, so don't expect 21st century bathroom design, but for my purposes, I found it warm (there was air-con/heating in my room and the floor was carpeted), very clean and comfortable and everything worked fine. The hotel also has a lift. In the summer there is a large swimming pool at the back with a poolside bar (definitely higher than 2 star standard). The hotel runs a cafe and bar on the ground floor, and there is a large pleasant dining room and free use of Wi-fi in the public areas. The hotel is an easy stroll to the centre of town, where a number of bars and restaurants operate during the season, and it is downhill all the way home! Polis is a small, very safe community and there are banks, gas stations, etc. The hotel is almost opposite a large Papantoniou supermarket, where you can buy most of the things you forgot to pack. There is quite a big British community there and the usual British charity shops for books etc. The town is perfectly situated for exploring what is possibly the least exploited and the most unspoilt area of Cyprus, and you can easily drive up into the Paphos forest and along the coast roads. There are some good eating places in the port of Latsi about 10 minutes drive away. Paphos town is an easy 40 minute run if you want 'typical tourist restaurants etc.', and the trip from Polis via Kathikas is particularly impressive. Don't miss the mosaics near Paphos harbour, which are stunning.

Room Tip: My room was overlooking the pool and the sea, probably the best option during June, July August when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank LesleySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My Wife and I had the most enjoyable two days at this hotel and experienced true Cypriot hospitality with traditional Christmas Lunch. Perfectly cooked and presented over 5 hours of shear enjoyment. We will be back.
For an added bonus the drive to Pomos is quite incredable; along the sea shore then up around and down the valleys and cliffs of the end of the Troodos range. John G

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back which overlooks the garden and views to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is central to the town of Polis, in walking distance of the beach, shops and tavern's. There is a bus service near by and car hire companies also.

The family who run the hotel are friendly and helpful. We came for a friends anniversary which was held at the hotel and the event was lovely. The food was delicious too! Ideal place to stay if you want to travel around the Western part of the island.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TanithM734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed for the fifth time to fish the local beaches.
As usual found the owners very friendly and helpful.
Food good.
In view of our previous experiences we will be staying over Christmas and expect a truely memorable experience.
John G

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back which overlooks the gardens and pool. With views to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I never usually bother writing reviews but this time i just want to try and save anyone else from ruining their holiday by booking here!! Where to start... Yes the hotel manager is kind of friendly but will that compensate for the dreadful hotel (if you can call it that) which he is running, he also slightly odd. Me and my boyfriend were looking for something basic as we like to hire a car, eat out etc so we are not fussy on where we stay, we are both well travelled, staying in hostels all over the world which are far far nicer this hell hole was. It stank, when we arrived the owner was sat in restaurant which was filled with smoke, he strolled over to see us in his own time. The decor is so dated from red carpet on the floors and green walls with dark depressing wood everywhere. We took the lift up to our room which screeched all the way up to our floor and shook when you reached it, The halls we dark, all the lights were flickering and it stank of wet dog. The room was just as imagine at this point HORRENDOUS stains all over the bathroom, toilet etc, the beds were so squeaky and they practically hit the floor when you sat on them, at this stage we decided we were not staying here for our week holiday. We are not fussy people and very easy going but this was taking the biscuit, it is advertised online as a 3star but when you arrive its actually a 2. We didnt even stay to sample to breakfast. Pay the extra and book something else, we ended up paying a small fortune to re-book another place, especially if you are a family, i wouldn't make my children stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
4  Thank Samjr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polis
0.1 mi away
Mariela Hotel Apartments
1.8 mi away
Zening Resorts
Zening Resorts
#4 of 6 in Latchi
497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Natura Beach Hotel
Natura Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Polis
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alkionest Hotel Apartments
2.6 mi away
Souli Beach Hotel
Souli Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Latchi
345 reviews
18.1 mi away
Agapinor Hotel
Agapinor Hotel
#62 of 85 in Paphos
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marion Hotel

Address: 9 Mariou Street | P.O. Box 66029, Polis CY 8830, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Polis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Polis
Price Range: $29 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marion offers all the necessary facilities of a 3 star accommodationThe Marion hotel is located in Polis Chrysochous, in one of the most beautiful areas of Cyprus. Situated far from the main tourist settlements, the property features a splendid view over the surrounding countryside near the legendary cave where, according to mythology, Aphrodite the Goddess of love and beauty, used to meet her beloved Adonis. The complex is a 10-minute walk from the wonderful Polis beach and just a 5-minute walk from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing