We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Stay Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Polis
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Happy Stay Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

Just got back from our 6th visit to Bougainvillea. Great as usual and YES I would recommend this place to people (and frequently do). The room was cleaned on a regular basis and towels changed every 2-3 days. Stavros and Soo-ey and Sac always willing to help with any problems you may have. Spoke to several people who had travelled with First Choice who fell in love with the place after some initial worries. People need to be aware that this is NOT a 5star Hotel. If that is what you want then go and spend 5 star money. Ref some of the "allegations" made in previous posts. I have left valuable items in our apartment over the years and never had anything stolen. The maids have tidied up and moved things. I also sugest that before other allegations are made that the posters speak to those involved so they can make informed comment!!!!
Once again thankyou Stavros and we will see you next year.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyhourSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    62
    16
    6
    11
See reviews for
56
107
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

We have just returned from a two week holiday at Bouganvillea, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and don't recognise it from the previous review.

We are a middle aged couple and have never been to Polis, or even Cyprus before. We like to try different places and know we like Greece. it is unusual for us to return to a resort but we can see why so many people return to the Bouganvillea.

We found Stavros polite, pleasant and helpful. On the one occasion we asked for his help (setting the air conditioning) he sorted it immediately. We loved chatting to Sue -ee and her sister Sak. They were always friendly and never stopped smiling. Sue-ee's English is good but Sak is still learning - she hasn't been in Polis long, they are Vietnamese.

Our accommodation was clean and spacious. Absolutaly no complaints. Towels and bed linen changed frequently. The pool was on the small side but it was big enough to swim in (though not for diving). It was also very clean.

We thought the accommodation was ideally situated -5 minutes from the town square where most of the restaurants and bars were, and 15 minutes from the beach. We tried several restaurants and were never disappointed - our favourite was Moustakalis. A couple of the restaurants had offers on of 3 courses for 15 or 16 Euros and these were good value. 3 courses was a bit much for us - we usually shared a starter and had a main course each - this was no problem. Incidentally the wine was good too - I think we were paying about 6 Euros for a half caraffe.

The walk to the beach was pleasant, mainly on a quiet road through an orange grove then into the camp site, set among Eucalyptus trees, and onto the beach. There was no shade on the road and it was hot. The road was flat so not difficult for walking. The beach (blue flag) was sand and shingle - flip flops were a good idea for getting into the sea. There was a lovely beach bar there. The camp site got quite busy on a weekend but was quiet through the week. There was a beach pathway from here to the next resort at Latchi. This was a 20 minute walk but worth it. The beach there (another blue flag) had a breakwater so the swimming was lovely. The beach bar here - La Plage - was also good. Further on there was a marina, water sports, fish restaurants etc.

We would recommend this holiday to couples like ourselves, young couples looking to relax and enjoy the beach and families with small children. It might not suit teenagers or those looking for a more active holiday.

We loved it. We had a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Just got back from the Bougainvillea and to be honest it is the previous reviews that let it down. Many of the previous reviews rave about the place but deliberately mislead the reader or are just downright absurd.

We arrived in the early hours of Monday morning to be met by Mr Grumpy who moaned about the lateness of our arrival. And yes this is the world famous Stavros that many previous writers have raved about and the rest of our two weeks went in the same vein with Stavros struggling to grunt two words to us throughout our visit.

The problem with Stavros is if you are willing to pay through the nose for his food or drinks then he’s your best mate, but if you walk the short distance to the village square and get twice as good for half the price then he doesn’t want to know you. Be warned if you have air conditioning, then it’s another 85 quid and if you want a safety deposit box it’s another 30 quid but that won’t be enough to make Stavros your mate for life.

To say the room was basic is an understatement, it was like stepping into the film set of Ashes to Ashes. It had been recently repainted, but Bob the builder has gone and lost his glasses and has a serious doss of the shakes, it’s a great idea to have feature walls with a completely different colour to the rest but when the join looks like the Aegean sea in the middle of a storm you just make it look stupid and the idea is when you paint and come to an object such as a plug socket or shelf you go around them, but here Bob has just sort of crashed into them. The bath room was a disgrace, a whole tube of filler had been used around the base of the toilet and then sculpted into some sort of snow scene and then the artists had proceeded to wipe his hands across the floor the walls and the towel rail. We had a large blood stain smeared across the wall tiles and it remained all the two weeks. The towels where only changed three times in 14 nights and the cleaner only cleaned in a cursory fashion and that I presume was because they were too busy shuffling though our belongings to see what was worth pinching. We didn’t have anything stolen “I think” but it was very obvious that someone had been going through draws bags and belongings almost on a daily basis.

The pond, opps I meant the pool, it’s tiny, it’s grubby and the reason it always has loads of sunbeds available is they are either broken or guests have taken one look and run for the beach. A number of previous writers have gone to great lengths to express how quiet it is, what rubbish. It is fronted by the main cost road to the camp site and the next village and at the rear is a short cut to Polis. We were woken regularly by boy-racers in the middle of the night, ambulances going to the A&E which is next door or drunks coming home. A number of writers have praised Stavros and his team but by that they mean Stavros and his army of Asian girls who work ridiculous hours and he keeps in the stone barn in poverty conditions next to the hotel. I think there are some serious moral issues going on here.

Previous writers have talked about the 15 minute stroll through leafy orange groves in the early morning mist to the beach, “Yea”. It’s a 15 minute walk along a very busy narrow road until you get to the dirt track which passes by the camp site which has all manner of vehicles going up and down creating a dust storm. We booked with First Choice but were clearly treated second choice, Dawn our rep, arranged to meet us at 12:30 on the first day but when we went to reception we were told she had been and gone even though the time was 12:20. In the second week we went to see her at one of her allotted meeting times between 5:30 and 6:30 but when we got to reception at 6:20 she had gone.

The upside, the location is fantastic, Polis is wonderful and has some of the best coast in Cyprus, the locals are great, the cafe’s and restaurants are superb and if you want diving, try Marc at Aquaplanet in Latchi, he couldn’t do enough to make our dives superb.

But finally, if you are one of the previous reviewers who have been to this place umpteen million times and have booked ahead until the year 2999, “get a life”.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Discovered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biddulph
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

we had booked through tomsons for a wedding in mexico, the wedding was cancelled, and as cancoon is not realy our scene, as we had paid a deposit, we asked if we could exchange, we could provided we booked a tomsons or first choice holiday. based on the write ups and the brochure we chose the Bougainvillea apartments, for a quiet holiday. normally we book our holidays on the internet, and although it seemed expensive, we accepted the fact that travel agents have to make a profit. one of us is disabled, but we were not informed that the establishment was disabled unfriendly, and to get to the village there was a steep bank, and that the beach wAs a difficult walk for a disabled person ( we never made it) on arrival we were shown to our apartment, which was adequate, although quite a walk from reception. we attempted to put the antequated television on, but the batteries were corroded in the remote control, we reported this , and were told it would be sorted, but were told to change channels on the television, nothing was done. we take a portable DVD player with us but the television was so old it could not be connected. on the first morning one of the rings on the cooker failed, it was temporally repaired, and once more we were told it would be dealt with it never was. cleaning each morning was amusing it lasted all of 3 minutes. we intentionally left a dead mosquito on the bathroom shelf it was there several days. many places looked as though they had not been cleaned for quite a while ie. the window frame in the bathroom, and a lot of the corners. the brochure stated there was an a-la- carte restaurant, we assumed this was the 3 tables in the bar with table clothes, it also stated there were 3 bars, but one of them we never found. If you were prepared to accept the high price, the mediocre cleaning, and all you wanted to do was burn by the pool, and that nothing would be done with any problems, then you would be ok. the restaurants and bars in the village were good but like most of cyprus exspensive. we in hindsite wish we had let the deposit slide, and booked a hotel in paphos that we know is good and half board, at approximately 200 pounds cheaper tha we paid for self catering at the bougainvillea.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnatjohnstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

Arriving in Polis Bougainvillea was recommended to us by the owner of a restaurant in the center of town. He also recommended a great fish restaurant "Arsinoe' nearby. I think his suggestions made us friends for life. Bougainvillea is a fantastic place and we felt at home from the minute we set foot into our apartment. Stavros, the owner and Sui (the Vietnamese soul of the place) run a great place and will do almost anything, for you to have a good stay. I cannot understand how someone can make a negative comment about this place, but then you always have the ‘professional’ complainers. Sometimes I'd love to see how they are living at home. Would I come back? YES - tomorrow and I'd stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downunder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

We had a wonderful time,the best place on Cyprus,not far from the beach,able to walk to the next small resort,with lots of resturants and a few shops,but Polis beat most places with a great veraty of bars and resturants ,Can recomend Finnerkers great menu and hot food and very good service.Oh and shop around for car hire.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

I stayed here with my wife in April, during the volcano crisis. The staff are wonderful - extremely polite and helpful and service is ALWAYS with a smile. The hotel is less than a mile from the beach, and 5 minutes to Polis town centre. Great place to have as a base for exploring Cyprus, but hire a car!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Married_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polis
0.3 mi away
Mariela Hotel Apartments
0.8 mi away
Natura Beach Hotel
Natura Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Polis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay View Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Souli Beach Hotel
Souli Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Latchi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Zening Resorts
Zening Resorts
#4 of 6 in Latchi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments

Property: Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments
Address: Verginas 13, Polis 8830, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Polis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Polis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque village of Polis Chrysochous, 10 minutes' walk from the sea, Bougainvillea Hotel Apts Offers cozy self-catering apartments, an outdoor pool and free WiFi in the public areas. The apartments are surrounded by beautiful gardens overlooking the mountains the sea and the beautiful Akamas peninsula. Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments is an ideal location for those looking for a peaceful base, for their escapes to the mountain and the sea. The location is ideal to explore the island and its unique beauties. There are plenty of nature trails in the area that you can visit and enjoy cycling. You can also swim in the crystal clear sea of Akamas and discover the magic of the underwater world by snorkeling. Each of the light and airy apartments is equipped with a TV, air conditioning, dining area, refrigerator and kitchenware. All rooms also feature a balcony with sea and mountain view. Guests may relax in the terrace by the pool, enjoying magnificent views of the sunset and the Mediterranean Sea. Moreover, an outdoor pool bar is at guests' disposal. The property offers free parking. Our guests at can start their day with a breakfast, enriched with Greek products and vegetables from our gardens. The village square is a short walk from the accommodation and there you will find plenty of cafes and taverns. Latchi Harbor is only a 5 minute drive from the accommodation, with plenty of water sports activities and boat excursions to neighbouring beaches, you can also find there many taverns and coffee shops. Paphos Airport is 40 minuets drive from our Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Bookcyprus.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Hotel Polis
Bougainvillea Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing