We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, open air dining, goof value”

Arsinoe Fish Tavern
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Polis
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Arsinoe Fish Tavern is located in the centre of Polis, just opposite the small church of Agios Nikolaos. For almost 30 years, our family does their very best to make you enjoy an unforgettable evening being our guests! From the beginning, it was our aim to serve fresh food at reasonable prices. In combination with our high quality dishes, this let us gain a lot of regular guests visiting our restaurant whenever they visit the town. People come as tourists and leave as friends! We invite you to experience the difference!
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food, open air dining, goof value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

While visiting friends in Polis (Jill and John) we had a fabulous meal here. Starter was a cold meze of dips and olives, main was swordfish. Good service, great food, very reasonable prices in the centre of Polis. Will be going back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike187051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    64
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Located in the town square of Polis. Friendly welcome. Excellent fresh fish. The main courses are served with couscous, small pasta and hand cut chips. Tables are laid outside in the square but you don't notice the cars going around. Closed on Sunday. Definitely would recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattingen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing fish dishes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We found this nice little restaurant on our walk through Polis. It is located in the city center. We went there for dinner and were seated at a nice table on the terrace outside. Althogether, the people there are really very friendly and the food is great! I had a fish soup and a sword fish steak. Both clearly the best ones I've ever eaten! My girlfriend had calamari as starter and a mix fish plate afterwards. She also enjoyed her food very much. The size of the portions is big and the prices very reasonable. Unfortunately, the restaurant is closed on Sundays, otherwise we would have gone there again on our last day on Cyprus before leaving. I can absolutely recomment this place to everyone visiting this little town at the north-western part of Cyprus.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherlock80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
216 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Very friendly taverna - worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Chris the owner always welcomes us with genuine warmth and enthusiasm. He used to be manager of the Evzonas Hotel (now reborn at the Sunny Hill Hotel) before taking over his own bar. The taverna has a growing group of regulars, many ex-pats, there are quizzes and darts fixtures each week. Live music at weekends is provided by Chris' son-in-law and customers are encouraged to join in or even take the floor. Drinks are very reasonably priced and the food is excellent - a wide choice on the menu. Soon to open will be the downstairs bar where there is a large swimming pool for patrons to use.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robandeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best fish in polis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Visited this restaurant last week...firstly the restaurant has great character and a lovely atmosphere, the staff are very welcoming and the service is first class! Now the food...we both opted for the special which was the sea bream it was cooked perfectly the taste was amazing! It came with some lovely cous cous and the best homemade chips ever! We also ordered some salad which again was lovely! They also brought us complementary bread and dips to start the garlic pitta bread was soooo good!
At the end of meal we had complementary pudding and fruit! When the bill arrived I could not believe how cheap it was for the excellent homemade fresh food and top class service! I will be returning on my next visit to polis! It really is a must

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fayecoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arsinoe Fish Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Arsinoe Fish Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing