We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather disappointing.”
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Platres
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Myself, husband and daughter decided to treat ourselves by going for one night to the Forest Park Hotel in Platres. The last time I was there must have been late 70s early 80s, I remember 2 great danes in the foyer, amazing food and a feeling of being somewhere really special. It was the place to go in the mountains in those days.

Well revisiting it many moons later was rather disappointing.

The room despite being a little dated and well used was very comfortable and clean, I would have expected coffee and tea facilities and some bathroom items for a 4 star, but never mind.

The biggest disappointment was the buffet dinner, this was extremely poor, the quality of the food served was substandard, the range/selection of food especially the hot dishes and the preparation were simply not 4 star at all. Breakfast was also very average, cooked food was barely warm which was the case both for dinner and breakfast, theres nothing worse than cold fried egg and bacon!
Overall the atmosphere and location were lovely, so as long as food is not important to you it is fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPHHotelManager, Director of Sales at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for the constructive criticism and your good words, about our property. One of our immediate goals is the improvement of our food production and service especially when there are big groups or when the hotel has high occupancy. Thank you once again for your comments and rest assured that we take very seriously our esteemed guests comments and adopt them wherever feasible in our ongoing improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 224 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

An old classic hotel that it was built in a fantastic location, in a unique natural, green paradise. Here you can enjoy the most relaxing holidays,in company with the chirping of birds and you can enjoy the magic of green, excellent views and quiet lifestyle in a beautiful tranquil village.

The Hotel complex is a forest resort, like its own name, built in earlier times, but its own separate identity. Hotel from old times, with its own history, that you can recognize in every corner, connected with the famous customers. Although it has with an old fashioned style it still keeps consistently high level of service, it has spacious, royal places, extremely courteous staff, large comfortable and cozy rooms, good breakfast, hot water and all basic amenities of a four star hotel. You will love it!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with panoramic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ckart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPHHotelManager, Director of Sales at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear esteemed client, we thank you for your fantastic and very realistic review of what the Forest Park Hotel really is. The original building was built in the early 30’s and open its doors in 1936, and since then has hosted and catered many guests including royalties and famous writers and actors. Today in its 77th year of operation our goal as a family now its 4th generation is to keep the original colonial style, and décor matching it together with the facilities and service a todays’ visitor expects .We will also continue to improve and run our hotel in the highest possible standards and our goal is to keep the Forest Park to its glorious days and good name.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed there 15 years ago and enjoyed it immensely. after trying other locations in Cyprus, we felt that the "Forest Park", was the most peaceful and beutiful location for us.
If you want loud music and a beach location then the "Forest Park" is not for you, but if you want fresh air, a stunning location, and peace and quiet then this is for you.
Breakfast is more than ample, with a good choice every morning. Evening meals are also good, and whilst we originally booked B & B every day, we upgraded to half board a few times to try it out.
The staff are both corteous and helpful. The owners will always have a friendly chat and give you good advice on what to do in the general area. I felt that we had been treated as guests and not just customers.
Will we be back? The answer is a resounding yes!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melvin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPHHotelManager, Director of Sales at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your nice words, describing our hotel how you saw it and experience it during your stay with us this year. We look forward of welcoming you and your family once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great Hotel in the mountains, superior air quality , great for hiking and seeing nature and waterfalls in the area as well as nearby monasteries. The hotel is a little costly and they can be a bit more flexible on the rates or offer something more value for money orientated so that we may stay longer. The pools are super, the Jacuzzi needs upgrading as well as the gym area, the machinery is out dated and needs replacement , although these are minor issues, they go a long way

Room Tip: Choose the New wing as rooms are more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aloe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPHHotelManager, Director of Sales at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you ever so much for your nice words, describing our hotel how you saw it and experienced it during your stay with us last September (2013) Thank you once again for your comments and rest assured that we take very seriously our esteemed guests comments and adopt them wherever feasible in our ongoing improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

+ Location,surrounded by trees,quiet(only birds singing),fresh air,indoor/outdoor pools,best hotel in the area,helpful staff.Excellent for relaxing and weekend escapes.Restaurant food is ok with reasonable prices.
- Old hotel,old furniture,a bit overpriced,mediocre breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drKyriakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPHHotelManager, Director of Sales at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear esteemed client .First of all we would like to thank you ever so much for taking the time to write your comments and express your opinion how you saw it and experienced it during your stay with us last September (2013) , in such a positive way.
Criticism like yours, can only encourage us , in order to continue what we are doing and also to improve even further our standards and facilities .
Thank you once again for your comments and rest assured that we take very seriously our esteemed guests comments and adopt them wherever feasible in our ongoing improvements.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights - mid July 2013. We came across this hotel by chance, travelling to the Troodos Mountains from Konnos Bay in Protaras.
We loved this charming hotel from the moment we stepped through the door! What an enchanting, lovely old hotel with super features from the 30s and 60s. A little bijou of an hotel, not many hotels like this left!
If you like the wonderful, commercial. flashy 5* hotels, I think this might not be for you.
The owners, Hercules and Marios are very charming, friendly and warm! they spent time with us and took us through the hotel and its history, we simply loved it! So many famous people stayed at this hotel in the past including King Farouk of Egypt, Telly Savalas, Indira Ghandi and Daphne du Maurier (she wrote the book Rebecca in this hotel).
Some facilities might not be to the highest standards but who cares when you are in such a beautiful environment. The veranda where they serve breakfast is absolutely lovely, the swimming pool is super. We had a half board price so we ate at the hotel for two nights and the food is very good and with a wide choice. The staff was pleasant and helpful.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Troodos Mountains. If you have had the chance to visit Morecambe Bay and the Midlands hotel, you will love the Forest Park Hotel.
Hopefully we will be back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonGreeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPHHotelManager, Director of Sales at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear esteemed guest. Thank you ever so much for your nice words describing your experience in our hotel, during the stay with us last July (2013). Our hotel now although has grown in building and facilities since the 30’s, is kept by the owners now in the 4th generation in the original style 30’s and 60’s style rather than super modernising it, because we know that clients like yourself will always appreciate this style. Looking forward of welcoming you again in our property in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The food and beverages were overpriced for a hotel that actually offers 3 star services and not 4 star services as approved by the Cyprus Tourism Organisation. There was lack of staff during breakfast and dinner time. The team responsible for breakfast and dinner was not prepared for all of the hotel guests. Only the snack option was affordable, but we had to wait for almost an hour for our ordered snacks and drinks to be delivered. At the pool area the WC and changing rood doors were quite old and needed to be renovated. The hotels entertainment was only for a specific targeted group. In overall it was not a bad hotel to stay in but it does not meet with the requirements of a 4 star hotel and that's something that the management should think about. The stuff was willing to provide the services but were not able to, because there was too few of them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Constantinos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPHHotelManager, Director of Sales at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to give us your personal opinion for your stay at our hotel of last August (2013) , which by the way is the busiest month of the year. We appreciate your comments and we will by all means take action on your constructive criticism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platres
0.2 mi away
Semiramis Hotel
Semiramis Hotel
#1 of 5 in Platres
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Helvetia
New Helvetia
#4 of 5 in Platres
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Hotel
Edelweiss Hotel
#5 of 5 in Platres
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Troodos Hotel
Troodos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Troodos
238 reviews
5.7 mi away
Christy's Palace
Christy's Palace
#1 of 2 in Pedoulas
79 reviews
0 mi away
Spring Hotel
Spring Hotel
#3 of 5 in Platres
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Address: PO Box 59018, Platres 4820, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Platres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Platres
Price Range: $81 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forest Park Hotel is an imposing building standing in its delightful grounds in the fringe of the pine forest. The striking panoramas over mountain and sea are a never - failing pleasure to the eye.The Forest Park Hotel has a style of its own. It is located deep in the heart of the Troodos woodland yet only 35 minutes from the wonderful beaches and Mediterranean Sea.It's the only four star hotel in the area and has 137 comfortable relaxing rooms including 7 chalet suites. All with private bathroom, mini-bar, hairdryer, safe deposit box, telephone with possibility of internet connection, radio, satellite TV channels, air conditioning, central heating, and breath-taking scenery views, balcony or terrace for a happy and relaxing holiday.It also offers big Lounges - 3 restaurants, 2 Bars, a library, extra-large TV screen, Tennis Court, Table tennis, games room, sauna, Jacuzzi, Breakfast Terrace, Gardens, Heated indoor and outdoor swimming Pools.Good facilities for business meetings, Conferences and Banquets with always a warm welcoming smile. The hotel has also installed Wi-Fi connection in most public areas.The Forest Park is still family run which may explain its charm and excellent standards of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Platres
Hotel Forest Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing