We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mountain retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Platres
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“mountain retreat”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This Hotel is overall great value for money, it's classic 50's style is very warm and authentic, i can imagine the big movie stars staying here when they were in town, in fact Telly Savalas(KOJAK)
stayed here in 81 .We received a very warm welcome when we arrived, especially from one of the owners, Hercules. It's clean, serves great tradition food and is very well priced. The live music with Roger in the evenings is fab, and a nice surprise, this far away from any major town. The location and setting in the Troodos mountains is stunning, and if you just want to get away for a nice chilled weekend it's perfect, and only 45 minutes drive from Paphos or 30 from Limassol.
Its not the Savoy, but it's not trying to be, or needs to be, It's The Forest Park Hotel and it's worth a shot. We loved it and would recommend it to anyone.
Thank you from Michael, Anna & Mathew Antoniou (Pafos)

Room Tip: higher rooms have better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t2harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPHHotelManager, Director of Sales at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear esteemed client .First of all we would like to thank you ever so much for taking the time to write your comments and opinion describing your visit in our hotel, last August(2012)

Criticism like yours, can only encourage us, in order to continue what we are doing and also to improve even further our standards and facilities.

Thank you once again for your comments and rest assured that we take very seriously our esteemed guests comments and adopt them wherever feasible in our ongoing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    67
    37
    23
    25
See reviews for
67
88
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
larnaca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

this is not a four star hotel,they just slapped the stars on as this is cyprus and you can get away with anything,i asked for the mini bar to be cleared,which they did,and i rented that room and put my belongings in there,water,some cokes, fruit for baby ect,when i checked out and went to pay they told me there was a charge for the use of the mini bar,3.50 a day, i explained i asked for it to be cleared and yes this charge was for a empty mini bar with my stuff in it..i said no one at reception told me about this,there answer was i am a lier! pathetic.i will never step foot in that run down hotel again there games room has 3 arcade machines in it lol thats it .there indoor pool does not work there baby pool broken!They also play very loud music which can be heard from inside your room until 11.45pm the manger needs to be sacked striaght away he is unhelpful and ignorate

Room Tip: find another theres plenty in platres but not the forest park as its not 4 star it was in the 60,s
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank jimmy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Platres hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Generally a pleasant stay. Three point for the management/owners:
1. In the age of information we expected to have wifi in our rooms and not just the lobby and part of the verandah- internet by the pool would also be well appreciated
2. Some outdoor plus for recharging /using different electronic gadgets would also be handy
3. Smokers smoke heavily wherever they please on the large verandah making it hell for non smokers - just because they can. A bit of innovation ie a small out of the way smokers corner would be very healthy for all - the plain fresh mountain air scented with pine is much better

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koutaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argaka, Cyprus
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Forest Park knowing that it had previously had some bad reviews on Tripadvisor, so we booked with some trepidation. How how wrong people can be. It is set in the most exquisite grounds and very "Colonial". Don't expect 4 star opulence - expect "4 star character". There are 3 blocks, each built at different times, we were in the newer block built in the 1990's (probably the better rooms). The rooms where standard 4 star with everything you would normally expect. The outside area for drinks, snacks and where breakfast is served is beautiful and peaceful, the swimming pool area although probably in need of a refurb is totally relaxing and the pool was very clean. The staff where wonderful. We ate at the buffet which was exceptionally good with a fantastic choice - even wonderful vegetarian food was on offer together with an excellent range of desserts. The owners are very much "hands on" and have some wonderful interesting stories to tell about the Hotel.

The whole Troodos area is beautiful and definitely worth a visit - so far removed from the beach areas.

Would we stay there again, we will be booking shortly.

Room Tip: Book rooms on floors 6 and 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I only want to say that it has been the worst experience when it comes on hotel accomodation. They should change the name to FOREST PRANK HOTEL. The only thing that is 4 stars in this hitel its the price. 130 euro per night??? If i would choose the price for this i would say 20 euro maximum. Dirty swimming pool, out of order indoor pool, lift that you cross your hands when you get inside, the whole building looks like is a ghost living house.

Honestly guys, this aint worth it.

I book for a whole week and i left after 1 night.

Not to give only bad comments though, the owners are very nice and very friendly, but thats it. And honestly speaking, who cares anyway.

For those who still want to go.... Enjoy your stay :-P

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
21 Thank Piyarat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed there with a Lebanese group. It is a family owed hotel and the owner welcomed us at our arrival. The staff is very friendly. The location of the hotel is great in the middle of the forest. The rooms are very good and clean and the bathrooms renovated.
Water come from a spring around so drinkable directly from the spigot.
Internet is only available in the lobby and you have to pay for it.
The only average thing was the food.

Room Tip: All rooms seams good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOUR F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We went to this hotel for dinner on the recommendation of a local. On arrival the hotel was deserted, all three dining rooms were shut, despite a dinner menu being displayed in reception. We sat down and eventually someone came to serve us, we asked for the dinner menu in English, he replied Ï don't speak Greek"and wandered away. Some time later another waiter gave us a bar snacks menu. We asked gain for the dinner menu and were given the lunch menu. Tried again and finally got the set dinner menu, 25 minutes after ariving. Still hadn't been offered a drink. The set menu consisted of macaroni cheese or fish for starter, pork and chips or egg and chips for main, and fruit for dessert. When the food arrived it was awful, dried and microwaved. And to top it off the set menu was more expensive than ordering the items individually. Would not go there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Purple2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platres
0.0 mi away
Edelweiss Hotel
Edelweiss Hotel
#5 of 5 in Platres
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Helvetia
New Helvetia
#4 of 5 in Platres
103 reviews
2.6 mi away
Troodos Hotel
Troodos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Troodos
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Christy's Palace
Christy's Palace
#1 of 2 in Pedoulas
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Semiramis Hotel
Semiramis Hotel
#2 of 5 in Platres
98 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ekali Hotel
Ekali Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kakopetria
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Property: Forest Park Hotel
Address: PO Box 59018, Platres 4820, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Platres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Platres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forest Park Hotel is an imposing building standing in its delightful grounds in the fringe of the pine forest. The striking panoramas over mountain and sea are a never - failing pleasure to the eye.The Forest Park Hotel has a style of its own. It is located deep in the heart of the Troodos woodland yet only 35 minutes from the wonderful beaches and Mediterranean Sea.It's the only four star hotel in the area and has 137 comfortable relaxing rooms including 7 chalet suites. All with private bathroom, mini-bar, hairdryer, safe deposit box, telephone with possibility of internet connection, radio, satellite TV channels, air conditioning, central heating, and breath-taking scenery views, balcony or terrace for a happy and relaxing holiday.It also offers big Lounges - 3 restaurants, 2 Bars, a library, extra-large TV screen, Tennis Court, Table tennis, games room, sauna, Jacuzzi, Breakfast Terrace, Gardens, Heated indoor and outdoor swimming Pools.Good facilities for business meetings, Conferences and Banquets with always a warm welcoming smile. The hotel has also installed Wi-Fi connection in most public areas.The Forest Park is still family run which may explain its charm and excellent standards of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Bookcyprus.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Platres
Hotel Forest Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing