We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elyssia Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Pedoulas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent 1 night in this hotel april 2013, 'cause booking.com's rate was 9,2. Well, if this is the best hotel in Pedoulas, then I suggest you to sleep in another place. The room was poor and sad, with fake parquet, dimly lit and alst but not least not so clean. The lady owner doesn't leave you breath, always asking and watching. Also we were the youngest of customers, and we are not exactly young!! really a sad place

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zaverio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Elyssia Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 145 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Mrs Katrina cannot possibly do any more to make you feel welcome. She gave us a free beer when we arrived and countless cups of tea before she asked if we would like to eat there in the evening. For twelve euros each, she asked what we would like to eat and , while we were out walking and then enjoying the jakuzzi in our room she cooked us a splendid supper. We were given tomato soup, village salad, fresh vegetables with fabulous kleftiko and glyco fruits, all homemade by herself!
The room was very comfortable, a large ensuite bathroom with that jakuzzi and a balcony overlooking such a great view. All the windows and balconies have great views so it doesn't matter where you are in the hotel.There are lifts so if you have exhausted yourself during a day's hiking, you don't have to bother with the stairs. The linen and towels were fresh and of good quality. A hairdryer and kettle were available upon request. Wifi is available in public areas.
There is ample parking, Mrs Katerina suggested we use her personal "space" right outside the restaurant but there is ample off road parking underground too. While we were there there was an overnight storm which covered the car with thick dust, Mrs Katerina had no hesitation, first thing in the morning in hosing our vehicle down, ready for the day along with any other cars parked in the hotel's space.
The hotel is perfectly situated for a quiet trip to the village or as a base for exploring the Troodos mountains and surrounding areas for hiking, exploration and winter sports etc, May is particularly attractive for the cherry blossom scents and subsequent harvesting. It is only a few kilometres from Platres, Prodromos and the main highway to Nicosia down the Marathasa valley. There is even an easy access point across the border at Zodhia into the occupied area of Northern Cyprus.
We will certainly return to this haven of care during our travels, we could not have been made any more welcome and cannot recommend this hotel more highly. It is traditional, friendly and
the family are eager to please, it is not a boring link in a huge chain, it isn't all plush carpets and
matching bed linen with wall paper but it feels like a very clean home from home.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views and are of a similar standard.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnypolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We had one night here in February and in fact were the only people staying that night (mid-week winter). They made us very welcome and ensured our rooms were warm and that we were totally comfortable. We had an evening meal and breakfast; both were traditional, tasty and substantial. The home made preserved fruit for dessert and marmalade with breakfast are a nice touch. A great place to stop in the Troodos.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_Bath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Last weekend my family and I visited the Elyssia Hotel. After visiting Troodos Mountains in the morning, we arrived at the hotel around noon. The hotel is in central location. It is recently renovated and you can notice it instantly if you compare it with other hotels and appartments nearby.
Michalis and his mother, mrs Katerina, made us feel comfortable from the beggining of our stay.
Both families had large and clean bedrooms with stunning view. Some rooms have jacuzzi. The rooms were of nice temperature, if you consider the cold weather during winter in Pedoulas. The central heating was on, and hot water was always available.
As i mentioned before, not only the rooms were clean but all public spaces as living room and dining room were very clean. There is a cosy fireplace with large sofas to enjoy. Hot drinks and wine of great taste are served anytime you ask. Breakfast and dinner are of very high quality. All products are fresh, very tasty and dishes are well cooked.
Mr Louis, the father, is very kind and always with a joke ready to share. Mrs Katerina prepares traditional sweets and marmelades, maybe the best in Cyprus. Michalis, the son, is always there for you, to give you advice on anything you need information. He is very polite and always willing to help and assist. Wi-fi was also available with no charge.
This family run hotel provides excellent service and fabulous memories. We will definetely visit the Elyssia hotel again. Not only the audults of our group, but children too, loved the place and people there. Thanks for making us feel, like family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavlou_Pers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a real traditional family run mountain hotel. Great food, great service, fabulous room with a jacuzzi and incredible views. And not forgetting the lovely log fire. Will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We went to this hotel for xmas ( 3 days ) Firstly this is an old hotel , and so is the hospitality,this is cyprus at its best .
Friendly , you come as a guest and leave as part of the family.
Food all home made and fresh, breakfast is heaven sets you up for the whole day, never the same (unless you want it )
Rooms spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable ,jacuzzi wonderful
Lastly but not least the stars that hold the whole show together Katrina, Louis and their son,this is where the hotel excells nothing is too much trouble, you are made so very welcome. You actually get to speak to them in greek or english with a smile, not get the usual grunt or scowl you get in so many of the larger hotels who employ east europeans in their hotels
Would I go back ? TO TRUE I WOULD

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The star of the whole show is Katarina. She cooks, she makes jam, she serves, she gives you good travel advice, she pickles mushrooms, she makes a home from home for her guests. Outstanding service and excellent home-made food, far too much to eat, in fact! The rooms were clean with air-con and radiators. We had a balcony with a great view down the valley. It was cold during our stay, so we were served supper in front of the fire. Our room was definitely warm enough! We were given apples, oranges and satsumas to take with us on our daily trips. And a parting gift of a jar of home-made marmalade. This family is determined to make a fabulous hotel and is going about it the right way. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahC0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pedoulas
0.0 mi away
Christy's Palace
Christy's Palace
#1 of 2 in Pedoulas
66 reviews
5.6 mi away
New Helvetia
New Helvetia
#4 of 5 in Platres
112 reviews
4.4 mi away
Troodos Hotel
Troodos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Troodos
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Semiramis Hotel
Semiramis Hotel
#1 of 5 in Platres
111 reviews
5.7 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Platres
220 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casale Panayiotis
Casale Panayiotis
#1 of 1 in Kalopanagiotis
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elyssia Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elyssia Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Filoxenias 47, Pedoulas 2850, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Pedoulas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pedoulas
Price Range: $54 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elyssia Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InformationElyssia Hotel is located in the centre of the village of Pedoulas, approximately 60 minutes from Nicosia and Limassol and 20 minutes from Troodos and Kykkos. In Pedoulas you can visit the Archangel Michael’s Church (UNESCO) as well as the Byzantine and the Folklore Museum of the village, while a hike to nearby villages via the Nature Trails is well worth it. Capacity - Services Elyssia Hotel offers the following services: • Capacity for up to 70 people• Lunch or dinner for more than 150 people• Lunch or dinner for more than 250 people on the Elyssia Veranda (only during the summer months) • Hosting of Events (Engagements, Christenings, Dances, Birthday Parties etc)• Three Elevators• Two Bars• Free Underground Parking Space• Big Restaurant• Cafeteria• «Elyssia Veranda» (during the summer months)• Small Kiosk inside the hotel• Wi-Fi / Wireless Local Network• Reception Hall• Satellite TV• Conference Room Restaurant - Cafeteria The restaurant and cafeteria of the Elyssia Hotel offer an exceptional array of homemade Cypriot dishes, traditional sweets, crepes and coffees. Rooms There are 25 stylishly decorated, comfortable rooms with traditional parquet floor, equipped with central heating, shower, flat screen TV, in most of them, a private balcony, while some of them are also fitted with a Jacuzzi. The rooms all have a spectacular view as some overlook the valley of Marathasa and the occupied city of Morphou, while others have a view of the village, the Troodos range and the top of Mount Olympus. InternetWi-Fi is available in public areas and is free of charge.Check in: 14:00 - 00:00 hoursCheck out: 08:00 - 12:00 hoursAccepted credit cardsAmerican Express, Visa, Euro/Mastercard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elyssia Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing