We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christy's Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Christy's Palace
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pedoulas
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

+ Located in the center of the village. It is an old building but the rooms are quite clean. On our arrival we found a plate with fresh delicious fruits and 2 small bottles of water. Excellent value for money if you need just a place to sleep for the night. We paid only 30 euros for a double en-suite room without breakfast.

- Our neighbors were very noisy. It was a family with one small child. They woke up early in the morning and they were shouting for a long time. Finally we managed to sleep again when they left from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
24
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for just one night whilst on a walking trip in the Troodos. The entrance to the hotel is up a flight of steps up from street level. It did feel a bit intimidating but once on the floor above we had a warm genuine welcome and guided to our room: smallish, clean, small balcony facing onto the street. Bathroom - small, functional and clean. Things turned up at dinner time - a fantastic home-cooked spread of grilled chicken, veg , spuds and homemade ravioli. Embarassingly, we couldn't finish but only because of quantity. Breakfast was a similar feast. Christy's is owned and run by the local mayor, Andreas. Food is prepared by his wife. Staying here is a real slice of Cyprus and would definately return if in the area. Dont expect luxuries / pool /aircon: it's not that sort of place.

Room Tip: Rooms all seem similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everybody knows that accommodation in Cyprus is very expensive. Plus, I visited this country in late September when the harsh coastal weather was still very disturbing. When I arrived in Pedhoulas I found an amazingly fresh, quite, green, full of springs, valley with a charming and quite authentic village. The cherry on top was Christy's Palace. I had a a very nice room, all for myself, with a small but clean private bathroom. The breakfast was plentiful and quite delicious. The views of the veranda where the breakfast was served outstanding. Andreas, the host did everything to make me feel at home. Also, he provided me with lots of information and guide books that helped me to discover the unique churches, nature trails, cobbled streets and characteristic architecture of Pedhoulas and the Marathasa Valley. What can I add more? The best value for money that I found in Cyprus with the usual great Cypriot hospitality.

Room Tip: Maybe you can try to get one of those which have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caterina2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Christy's Palace is well known and easy to find if you arrive by your own.
Warm welcome with cup of tea.
Nice place where to stay relax before or after visiting Kikos and others sites surroundings. We added one more night there before next trip in Cyprus.
Breakfast is included and well served .
The re-opening of the restaurant will be a must for this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mixed_couple-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

This hotel was not nice at all. It was very very cold in the rooms and I had to ask for central heating to be put on but it takes so long to warm up. Also no hot water was available until the morning. We did eat here on our first day which me and my partner was very dissapointed with the food. Staff seemed ok but very quiet, almost not wanting any interaction with the guests. Seemed a little strange in there at times. I definately wouldn't stop at this hotel again. It had a creepy feel about it :-( We were actually pleased to get out of there!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holly929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas P, Owner at Christy's Palace, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We accept any kind of reviews because they help us to develop ourselves. But, writing unfounded comments, to our belief, they do create bad feelings and they do not provide good ground for future co-operation. We remind people that we do not offer food, we work only on Bed and Breakfast terms, so we cannot understand the negative comments on food.
The Manager and our staff are doing their best to satisfy the needs of guests in whatever nature and at whatever cost.
We found out that a number of guests expect to find a 3 or 4 stars hotel services with only €15 per day BB. This is not possible and we advise this kind of guests to choose high class hotels instead of expressing bitter comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Arrived at the hotel to find there was no central heating on or hot water available. We asked the staff if they could turn it on to which he replied the heating and water come on between 6am and 10am in the mornings. The staff were very unwelcoming. It was a cold dull hotel, The room was filthy and in the 3 days we were there we did not have our beds made, floor cleaned or bins emptied. The breakfast was awful so we decided to eat at other hotels. The staff never spoke to us or asked how our stay was. They seemed very lazy and unwilling to do anything we asked. There was a big urine stain on the matress and the room had a very fusty dirty smell. I feel cheated out of 180 euros. I had to shower my 2 year old in freezing cold water. I found the stay a hassel and very stressful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stacy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas P, Owner at Christy's Palace, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We totally disagree with contents of respective review and believe us we cannot understand the motives of client. We do not remember to have ever turned down any requirement of customers even though sometimes these requirements are costly and very difficult to apply. If terms of stay are Bed and Breakfast and customers did not even aproach the table where breakfast is served, we are of the opinion that they have no right to add negative comments in their review. We employ a young lady who is always willing to clean the rooms and empty the bins.
We admit it is not possible to satisfy the needs of every customer. People visit us from all over the world, different civilizations, different religion and different requirements. As a family run hotel we do our utmost to offer the best of ourselves.
We appreciate reviews who are written in goodwil, after all these reviews give us the oportunity to develop our premises and our services and we strongly believe that reviews should be directed to these ends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pedoulas
23.1 mi away
Mariela Hotel Apartments
23.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 58 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
4.4 mi away
Troodos Hotel
Troodos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Troodos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Platres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
5.6 mi away
New Helvetia
New Helvetia
#4 of 5 in Platres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ekali Hotel
Ekali Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kakopetria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christy's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christy's Palace

Property: Christy's Palace
Address: Filoxenias Street 45, Pedoulas 2850, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Pedoulas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pedoulas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Christy's Palace 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christys hotel was originally founded by our parents and we continue offering that traditional village service as they did years ago. Hotel is situated in the centre of the village of Pedoulas on the main road. You can easily travel to Kykko famous monastery only 22 klm. Easy access to Archangel Michael Unesco church and to our 2 very interesting museums(entrance is free). You can enjoy traditional food in the nearby restaurants and you can walk in very romantic trails and if you are a religious person just to mention that in the village of Pedoulas there are 9 churches.For the moment we provide only Bed and Breakfast at very low prices. Hotel operates all over the year even when snow comes. Rooms are supplied with TV, private shower of bathroom,some with veranda, double/twin beds some of them over 2 m. long, family rooms are also available, central heating and hot water. Experienced Manager/Owner and very polite and willing receptionist are always there to offer their best and make your stay at Christys enjoyable. We assure guests they will feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Christy's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing