We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capital Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #48 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very clean, great location and plenty to do on site. I was really impressed. We didn't try the spa but it looked very nice. It had everything on site we needed. I recommend driving up the coast going north if you have extra time to see the views of the sea. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

926 - 932 of 2,114 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just back from 6 very relaxing nights at The Capital Coast Resort and Spa and got exactly what we were expecting!
We asked for a Sea view room and got exactly that. Just 2 of us but the room was good size with double bed, and a good size bathroom with separate shower and bath. Decent hair dryer and also full size ironing board with a steam iron. Room cleaned each day and kept spotless. We were half board and found the breakfast to be excellent, lots of choice, and every attempt to satisfy everyone. Every effort to have breakfast outside on the balcony. The restaurant staff very efficient and knew exactly what their roles were, also very polite to guests. The main thing I was impressed with was the toaster. I have stayed in many 4/5 star hotels throughout the world and this was the first one whose toaster did toast once and not needed 3/4 run throughs ! Tables were cleared as soon as customers left. Dinner was also good, always a buffet and different themes, always soup, decent salad, good desserts and a choice of hot dishes, if I had any complaint, could have had better veg selection.

Pool area was spotless, 3 good pool areas, one for children, and 2 deeper ones. All pools cleaned every morning, and decking and walkways cleaned daily. A good amount of beds around the site. Yes there are areas where sun didn't get there til later, but sometimes it's good to gave some shade. Pool bar is efficient and makes some decent cocktails especially during happy hour ( 2 for 1). Meals can be taken there, and there us plenty of seating. Everything comes with fries and salad, and quite large.

Spa area is good, the massage can be recommended, it is very quiet there along with the well equipped gym. Pool towels are changed every 2 dates, which isn't too bad, I have known worse!

So what are the down points? Well it depends what you want from a holiday. This hotel is clearly aimed at families, couples and those getting married ( big business in Paphos) . It caters for all of those well. If you are looking for music around the pool all day, entertainment every evening and the wild party atmosphere then this isn't for you. There are plenty of places in Paphos for that.

If you want entertainment there are bars/restaurants within 10min walk, and it's a 1.5euro bus fare into Paphos on the efficient bus service.

Also, yes there is building going on. The road outside the hotel is being worked on( is that the hotels fault?) and there is some construction next door. There was no noise from that around the pool area or in our room but suspect it could affect some rooms.

All in all a good choice of hotel for us and we would definitely visit again.

Thanks to all the staff for a great relaxing holiday

Room Tip: Choose a suite if your budget allows- they have fridge/freezer, dishwasher,washing machine,microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKDriverMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed in a superior suite 333 on the east side of the hotel facing inward over the pool area (you need to be this side as there is construction on the west side of the hotel albeit not much going on), and balcony diagonally out to sea (evening sun on the balcony). Basically the hotel is a "C" shape facing direction South West out to sea.

The room was brilliant large living room/kitchen, 2 large bedrooms with large comfortable beds, both with an ensuite, and a separate toilet.

We had a very pleasant and comfortable stay in a good, clean hotel.

Breakfast is good, tinned fruit mentioned a few times, but fresh omelettes, usual other fare, and nice tables outside. Also matrie d' and staff all charming and would make sure you were sitting where you wanted.

Dinner was a hot buffet and quality of food not bad and varied, although we tried Oliveto (Italian) 5 mins walk away twice for variety which was excellent and great wine as well (not a fan of the local wine I am afraid).

The pool area and pools are very good and with a bit of practice you can get at least 3 drinks in during happy hour 16:30 to 17:30 at the pool bar. Gym is reasonably equipped, tried once, was very hot, also decided I was on holiday, and happy hour was more fun.

There is a small supermarket in the hotel with very reasonably prices for water, wine, beer, suncream etc if you don't want the 200m walk to Lidl (local pavements under construction), also don't do what I did and buy lots of wine,beer,water etc (20kg) from Lidl and then forget you haven't got a car outside (doh!).

There is a small private sandy beach which is very close to the hotel (no idea why people can't find it), but this is a pool rather than a beach hotel, if you want a big sandy beach read the reviews and stay somewhere else!

Very good 615 bus from main road outside hotel every 10 to 15 minutes into Paphos (1.5 Euros single) which takes 10 minutes.

Go out on the "Wave Dancer" all day cruise from Paphos, brilliant day of swimming in the sea, great scenery, brilliant food, live good music and free bar, will live long in the memory. Book with the guys at the harbour not via hotel or rep. They will give you a discount and they even let our 11 year old go free.

We would go back there, maybe stay B&B, or do Half Board and treat ourselves to dinner across the road a few nights. Clearly if you like to find things to winge about when you go away there a few minor ones mentioned in other reviews, but they are tiny, but this is a good clean hotel with great rooms and nice staff.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank 24PaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We booked this hotel on the basis that it was a 4-5 star hotel. We were pre-advised about the building works and asked to be put in a room away from it which we were. We had a superior suite with seaview and half board.

The positive things:
1. Beautiful hotel
2. Position good - not far to walk to restaurants.
3. Spotlessly clean
4. Swimming pools excellent
5. A lot of rooms are suites, with lounge area, bathroom, additional wc, bedroom and separate kitchen with washing machine, dishwasher, microwave plus utensils, crockery etc.
6. Staff are very attentive especially Thomas on reception.


The negative things:
1. Not on the beach as there is no beach to speak off. Just huge rocks. This is not the fault of the hotel though.
2. Food - hmmmm, where do I begin?? We were half board. A buffet breakfast which had all the usual breakfast type foods. However, there was almost no fresh fruit, except a basket of minging apples/oranges etc. The only other fruit they put out was either canned or crystalised which is not good if you are diabetic. We changed from evening meal to lunch and ate out every night. Even lunch wasn't good - we were only allowed to choose one course (unless we paid more) and the food was very disappointing. Lunch was at the pool bar/snack area.
3. Towels - they only let you change towels every 2 days which I've never heard of before, especially as this is meant to be a 4-5 star hotel. No towels at all were provided in the second wc, just in the main bathroom.
4. The hotel is a bit soulless.
5. No daytime or evening entertainment.

Would we go back to this hotel - no.

Room Tip: Stayed in suite 1051 which is a side sea view room with double balcony but only got a bit of sun in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panda6357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We arrived 25th May for 8 nights in a superior suite with two bathrooms. We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is cleaned and well maintained. Staff and pool staff are attentive and friendly. Maintenance a little slow on the uptake (regarding washing machine), but a second call to reception sorted that out. Breakfast is wonderful, dinner is average. Deserts great. Happy hour at the pool and lounge bar, lovely bar staff making great cocktails!

Regarding roadworks, you will find a lot of this going on in Paphos, due to the recession a lot of work is slow and intermittent, but it certainly didn't effect our stay either at the hotel or the area.

Spa treatment was great, didn't get what I initially asked for but was recommended the Pearl treatment and that was wonderful. Gym, sauna and steam room is fantastic, clean and we had it all to ourselves! The pool area is great too, clean and nice fountains.

The only one thing I would say that this hotel needs is night entertainment, it's large enough and beautiful enough to have some great entertaining nights!

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Superior room 117 is wonderful. Sea view is slightly blocked by palm trees, but still a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadia006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at capital coast a few weeks ago in an executive one bed suite on the ground floor. It was more than we could have asked for with a very active 18 month old. We had so much room. The living room was vast and the kitchen had all electrical goods that you needed. The patio was massive with a hot tub and sunbeds and a beautiful view over to the sea.

We stayed half board and enjoyed breakfast and dinner. The food was varied and delicious and had something for everyone. We didn't eat the same food twice and was able to try different foods. My little boy really enjoyed trying everything the buffet had to offer. The staff in the restaurant were amazing. Very welcoming and would come and chat to my little boy every meal time.

The swimming pools are big and didn't get busy at all. There was no saving sunbeds as you see in some hotels. They are much warmer in the afternoon once the sun has warmed them up a little chilly in the morning!

There isn't a beach directly outside the hotel but a 5 minute walk to the left of the hotel along the cliff brings you to a small sandy beach.

The road outside the hotel is being widened so the hotel doesn't look the best as you are driving up to it but we didn't hear a noise at all whilst we were there. The paths aren't great particularly with a pushchair but I'd envisage that in a few months once the roads and paths are complete it will be much easier to walk into town.

The buses are regular with a bus stop right outside the hotel and only cost 1.50 euros one way so very reasonable.

Just to add that before we come to the capital coast I was a bit dubious from reading some peoples reviews. However I cannot fault this hotel one bit, we had an amazing time. We ate some lovely meals, had a brilliant room with gorgeous views and were met by friendly staff who in my opinion went out of there way for us.

Room Tip: Executive suites are very spacious and have a hot tub outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
2  Thank smurfMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We saw this online at booking.com and as we were looking for somewhere special for an early summer vacation with a touch of luxury so we booked an executive suite that offered a hot tub on the balcony with sunbeds. The restaurant claimed to offer a table d'hote dinner as well as a buffet option.
Upon arriving we found that the main road leading to the hotel was chaos due to massive road works and both sides of the hotel were in fact building sites with major plant operating. We asked when we checked in that the room we were given did not look out over the main building site on the right hand side of the hotel. We discovered once we arrives at the room that the bedroom face the building site and the terrace had roof top views of this as well as a brick wall and a dozen large ventilation shafts. We asked to change and I have to say, Thomas was most helpful.
We were allocated another room, 1201, which had great sea views, but no sunbeds which we were informed could not be sorted as they were not allowed on this type of executive room.

There was a hot tub, something we had looked forward to, but it was stuck on a separate balcony which never got the sun and overlooked, you've guessed it, the other building site. However this proved not to be a problem as during the course of the week we only managed to use it once due the heater not working despite several visits from maintenance and complaints to reception we only got it hot enough to use once. After 3 days of trying we gave up, it was getting to the point of spoiling a relaxing holiday. My wife was concerned about the cleanliness of the hot tub anyway and probably would not have used it again even it was fixed. The water was scummy and it was not possible to empty it and refill it as when emptied the water just ran directly onto the patio of the room below us, which would not have pleased the occupants below,
We were given an information sheet when we arrived that informed us that the shop on site was open till 20:30 and the restaurant did in fact have a table d'hote menu. Having unpacked I wandered to the shop to get some basic essentials such as water, coffee, milk, only to find it closed at 19:00. The only option was to walk to the Lidl store through the road works and lug it all back.
We then headed to the restaurant only to find there is no table d'hote menu, only a buffet which was disappointing. We tried it for 2 nights and vowed never to go back. For the rest of the week we ate out. There is a really good Chinese restaurant a 20min walk away, this is the closet eating place to the hotel itself and there are a couple of nice greek style restaurant's and small bars next to it.
Breakfast was of course a buffet style but not of the quality I would have expected for hotel of this quality. Fruit option was tinned fruit and a big bowl of chopped apples, every day. The hot options were basic, there was an omelette chef but to watch your eggs being poured out an industrial size bucket on the counter did not go with the 4 star image. The staff we quite helpful but the maitre d, although very smiley, seemed determined to sit us where he wanted and not where we had asked for and it became a daily challenge to get the table we wanted. He was the same in the evening, refusing to allow to sit by the window as, in his words "he was keeping those tables for other people" despite the fact the place was almost deserted and remained so.
There is a very nice bar, but nobody uses it? Therefore no atmosphere and a bit eerie.
I could go on but I think I have covered enough. In brief, the hotel has everything a decent 4 star hotel should have, but it lacks atmosphere and welcoming feeling. It felt at times deserted in the evening and soulless. The rooms were spacious and very well equipped, but not comfortable. We could hear every word and sound from the guests next door. The location is not great, very little around it and a hire car is an essential.
On the plus side, the pools were very nice, there were plenty sunbeds on the grassy area overlooking the sea. The advertised private beach did not exist, there were just rocks with no real safe access to the sea.
I did raise my concerns and comments when I checked out and asked to speak to a manager. Thomas on reception tried but the manager would not come out. I suggested a small adjustment should be made to the bill to reflect their appreciation of our disappointment. This was flatly refused by the manager on the phone to Thomas, who did apologise. However a short while later Thomas did call our room and did offer to refund one of the dinners which was appreciated.

Would I go again, no. Would I recommend it to a friend, no. It is by no means a bad hotel, it has many redeeming features but it just lacks that wow! or welcoming feel that is promoted on their site.

Room Tip: Be aware of building sites and ask for seaview or pool view rooms. Avoid the restaurant and eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukpolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
3 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
1,017 reviews
1.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.6 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,294 reviews
2 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#29 of 85 in Paphos
922 reviews
2.7 mi away
Amphora Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Coast Resort & Spa

Address: Tombs of the Kings Road | P.O. Box 62066, Paphos 8060, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#10 Business Hotel in Paphos
#25 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#27 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#30 Family Hotel in Paphos
#38 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $55 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the historic Tombs of the Kings, it offers a variety of spacious high quality one, two and three bedroom suites, all encompassing a contemporary light modern decor that captures the Mediterranean spirit. All suits are designed to offer a unique home away from home experience of comfort and luxury. Other services include restaurants and bars, Spa and Bath House, gymnasium & fitness center, beautician and hairdressing salon, squash, indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Opens on 1 August 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Capital Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Coast Hotel Paphos
Capital Coast Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing