We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem for those who like authentic cypriot food and hospitality”

Mother's Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 548 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A hidden gem for those who like authentic cypriot food and hospitality”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

. We return year after year to this authentic restaurant. The food and service is excellent. With the many changes in Paphos it remains a family run treasure. We also recommend the brandy sours in the garden afterwards. Once you find Mothers you will return.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Hollypolly80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    151
    39
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paphos hidden gem!”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We were recommended Mothers by a couple we met in the First and Last bar, they gave us a couple of restaurants to visit but said Mothers was a must. After 2 nights walking round and trying to find it we finally found the little alley behind debenhams. I'm so glad we never gave up - what a suprise. It is small and quaint and run by Costis and his brother Soteris and various other family members and thats exactly what you feel like - family! We went twice in our 10 day stay and met people from Poland, Austraila as well as UK all of who agreed that the food, service, atmosphere and hospitality were second to none! We had Mothers Chicken, meat balls (can't remember the name!) fabulous onion soup, salads and then on our return we both had the roast lamb special, really was a good as mother used to make! The cost was great with set menu's, good house wine and a free brandy to complete the experince!

Please don't let the mental person who gave this place a bad review put you off going here or you will really miss a great night out. Cyprus is not my number 1 holiday destination but I'd return just to go back and see Costas and co....... Fabulous xxx

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolandTomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Definitly Worth Your Money”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Me and my family were sick of paying full prices at the harbour for cheap nasty food, ( McDonalds was sometimes better) When we were in the shop my mother asked the owner of any good restraunts that do traditional cyprus ( greek) food not just make it look like it, they pointed us to mothers,,
When we got to mothers i was a bit causcious as we were the only customers there and its at the back of debenhams so not busy at all, but we risked it, the menu is lovely so much choice, and the staff are so friendly it was just on a more persoanl level like he was genuinly asking if everything was okay, he said to us at the start you no like the food you no pay, but it was beautiful that we gave him a tip, its not cheap as chips but for most meals approx 10 euros but its worth it !!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissIsherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We ate here 3 times during a 10 day holiday. Costas is a genuinely friendly and likeable individual who treats everyone as if they are his best customer.
The food is excellent and reasonably priced compared with other, busier places on the harbour front which rely on touts to encourage you to go in and sit down.Costas apparently prefers to let his food do the talking for itself.
If you want to experience true Cypriot hospitality and real Cypriot cooking then Mothers is definitely the place to go in Paphos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“As usual, great food and friendly people.”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Our annual trip to Paphos would not be complete without a daily visit to eat with Costas, Sotiris and now Yannis for some wonderful Cypriot food.
To find this hidden gem walk up from the harbour towards the Tomb of the Kings road and you will see Debenhams on your right. If you enter their car park after 25 yards look to your left and through the trees there is Mother's. It can be a bit dark this way so if you carry on up the main road you will see Mother's Menu board and a well lit alley that leads you straight to Costas. I guarantee he and his staff will greet you like a long-lost relation and really look after you.
Try his personally selected local wines by the carafe and you will not be disappointed but a word of warning, some of them pack a real punch, not noticed until you stand up to leave.
As a family we consider all at Mother's to be friends first and restauranters second so you must try them at least once.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur49Worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Restaurant also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Acheleia, Paphos District
 

Been to Mother's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing