We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Zoo with lots of birds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pafos Zoo

Pafos Zoo
Ranked #16 of 111 things to do in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Pafos Zoo is set in a lush and unspoiled natural environment of more than 100,000sqm, it is home to an extensive variety of birds, mammals and reptiles. Our collection of exotic birds and venomous snakes is one of the largest in Europe.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Zoo with lots of birds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I would suggest booking through the hotel or resort you are staying with as they add in a free transfer, which is really useful. It is hard to get to with public transport but simple enough with a car.
This started as a bird park so there are more birds than anything else but it is really quitw fascinating. The animals are representative of a warmer dryer environment and some people may be disappointed by the lack of colder animals that you may usually see in a zoo. We watched a bird show that was really good too.Good half day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    834
    607
    291
    136
    105
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but enjoyable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was good fun. On a hill so bit of a walk in the heat at times but all good nonetheless. The excursion time we had there was very short so it was a bit rushed really. The parrot and owl show was good but the presenters had a job to get people to sit down, which was annoying. Must've been some school or something. The vast amount of people cramming into the snake room made it impossible with buggies to get a look in. Good selection of animals. Nice kids play area there and some good ice creams too. Free wifi at the restaurant too, if you've time and/or wanted it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThaMossop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for the kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Its very nice to take the children and it was clean there but little sad some birds are alone in cages and in such small cages.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marie21J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lots of birds!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We found out half way thorough our visit to the zoo that it used to be a bird garden.... and it shows! There were lots of different types of birds, but most were kept in cages of around 6' by 8' at most - not big enough in my opinion - but they did look clean and well fed. We went to see the bird show where some of the parrots showed off their tricks and an owl flew over the heads of the audience, but the sound was poor and the information given very basic, the kids seemed to enjoy it though and it was nice to get out of the sun for 20 minutes!

There are a couple of giraffes, various types of deer/gazelle, some apes and a few tigers. Again I wasn't impressed with the size of their enclosures. They are building elephant housing at the moment but I hope they are getting a small, elderly, elephant that is looking for a retirement home in the sun as it's not a very exciting habitat and is a very small area.

They have a very large collection of seriously venomous snakes that I've never seen in real life before, but it's a shame they are kept in a dark, hot barn with narrow aisles that don't allow you to spend time reading the snake info or looking at the animals as people can't get past you.

Not cheap to get in - adults:15.50 euro, kids: 8.50 euro, and you'd be hard pushed to spend longer than 3 to 4 hours there.

The site it's self is set on a hill with some walkways steep in places, the WC's were very clean, and there is a snack shop / cafe (but we didn't use it).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norbertsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“it was ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

i wasnt expecting much of the zoo but it was ok it was very clean but i think that the bird cages are too small and i think that the price is a bit steep too

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dawn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pafos Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Pafos Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing