We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveler rating
78
182
144
63
128
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
182
144
63
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose pubbus stationbudget accommodationbig supermarketbedroom apartmentsea frontbar streetmoussakaself catering apartmentevery other dayfresh towelsrestaurants and barscleaned dailycoral baycyprusstavrosnightlife
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 595 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

we were booked into the Daphne Hotel Apartments for a 7 night stay. We arrived early Saturday evening and on arrival the reception area seemed clean and tidy. We then went to our apartment, room 311 facing the pool. The room was very basic as expected given the price, however everything was tatty, grubby and in need of refurbishment. There was an overpowering smell of sewerage coming from bathroom, and the air management unit above us on the roof was making a loud droning noise which we thought was bad enough until we realised that most of the other apartments were full of groups of drunk lads who were banging doors playing loud music and running around screaming and shouting. The noise from the bar opposite was deafening and at 3am there were some drunks outside our door going beserk.
Reception could not care less and could not have been less helpful. After a night of no sleep I spoke to the manager the following morning who seemed to think that none of the above problems were anything to do with him. In general, the place is a dump!!!! We checked out and moved to alternative accommodation. ONE NIGHT OF HELL AT THE DAPHNE!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne H, Manager at Daphne Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear reviewer, on behalf of the management and staff of the Daphne Hotel we would like to thank you for your review. We were disturbed to hear of your bad experience here at the Hotel but to keep the record straight we are not to blame for none of the incidents stated in your review.Nor for the noise made from other customers staying at the Hotel nor for the noise coming from the Rose pub opposite the Hotel. In regards to the reception that as you state could not care less and could not have been less helpful, we would like to inform you that our staff and the service provided from them are excellent and we have not had any complaints so far. If you check the other reviews on TripAdvisor you will see that the service and the staff are always rated the most. As for the overpowering smell coming from the bathroom and the air management unit which as you say made a loud noise, it was the first time such complaints have been made and we offered to change your room the next day but you declined and left the Hotel. We would like to inform you that we take customer feedback very seriously but your review's comments have not been helpful at all. Since you haven't really stayed in our Hotel because you didn't give us a chance and haven't really experienced the service we provide you are not in any position to provide feedback of the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The staff really make this hotel fantastic. They are polite, helpful and friendly which really adds to your holiday experience. The hotel is positioned wonderfully (sort of.. will get to the noisy neighbours in a bit). It is about 100-150 metres from the sea front and about 200m from a supermarket where you can get everything you need (including water at about half the cost of the sea front kiosks). You'll barely break a sweat walking to the old fort/castle or the archaelogical site with the mosaics. Location is awesome really... except... that noisy neighbour - the Rose Pub.

If you have a room not over looking the pool you might be better shielded by the pub's noise. We did manage to sleep through it on the second night (a saturday - with a live band). However the friday night we were woken about 2 or 3 times. We went in March 2013, off season so only really had heavy noise on the friday and saturday but I can imagine during peak season June to August there will be much more going on at the Rose Pub and there would probably be many sleepless nights if you like to sleep between 10pm and 3am... we got up around 8am each day but that's not for everyone...

The rooms were clean, basic and well furnished. The maid service seemed to be a little intermitent. Our beds were made up for us most days and we got fresh towels every other day I think.

The hotel restraunt and bar was were the staff shined and the food was not bad either. We were welcomed in a friendly manner for breakfast and dinner everyday. And the staff were helpful and fun in our attempts to speak basic greek. But they spoke perfect English for those a little a shy of trying to speak the local language. The meals were generous in portion size - well it was a buffet breakfast with quality hot food and continental options but the evening meals were great. 3 courses each night. Soup was always the starter but they at least had a different soup each night. The mains were an excellent mixture of Greek and Western Food - Mousaka, Lamb, Roast Chicken, Fish and Chips, Pork Chops and so on. The Greek food was seasoned fantastically, thoroughly enjoyable. Desert was a choice between ice cream, fruit or hot drink. You often didn't need the 3rd course because you were full but we managed :)

We would definitely go back but would have to think about asking for a room without a pool view to avoid the noise from the Rose Pub. I think most people would struggle to find good reason to complain. We enjoyed outselves and hoep to return there again.

Room Tip: One or two rooms have a sea view which I imagine would be nice, we had a pool room and that was nice and also made the room nice, light and bright but the BIG thing is the noise, if you want to sleep a bit better and you don't own noise cancelling headphones - ask for a room as far away as possible from the Rose pub.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Baker_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne H, Manager at Daphne Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear reviewer, on behalf of the management and staff of the Daphne Hotel Apartments we would like to thank you for your review. We were overwhelmed from your kind words and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hotel. We would like to apologize if the noise from the Rose pub has disturbed your sleep and would like to inform you that we are trying to prosecute them for damaging our business and disturbing our customers peace and quiet. We are looking forward in welcoming you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My stay at the Daphne Hotel Apartments was very nice. The apt included 7 day a week maid service. It was quite a large and near everything. But Marios at the front desk really went out of his way to make sure I was comfortable. Almost daily he assisted me in making my stay special. Thank you for your hospitality Marios!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fladawg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne H, Manager at Daphne Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Stephen, on behalf of the management and staff of the Daphne Hotel Apartments we would like to thank you for your review. It was our pleasure accommodating you and we are looking forward in seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very friendly. Great value. Bear in mind that service flexes to be appropriate and cost effective for the number of guests in residence so make sure to look up on trip advisor the time of year that you are planning to go.

The week before February half term we had regular maid service and clean towels. There was a set menu each night for us half boarders with real meat (roast chicken, pork chop, lamb shoulder), potatoes, fresh salad and another side dish like meat balls, moussaka or macaroni cheese. Honest, wholesome food. Same quality at breakfast. Fresh salad, cheese, eggs, bacon, beans, coffee machine, tea, hot chocolate.

Great location in February. Guess it might be a little noisy in summer. We had room 204 which has two twin beds and a large lounge area. A pool view on the (UK) first floor means you can hear the Rose pub's music from the lounge if you leave the windows open but are nicely insulated from the noise in the bedrooms at the back.

Smoking is allowed in most public spaces in Cyprus and many international visitors make the most of this difference to the restrictions that they experience at home. So it is worth noting that Daphne has a non smoking dining room.

On the day we checked out they offered us to keep the room longer for a few euros an hour or use the downstairs showers for free.

All round a good place, great value.

Room Tip: Rooms that have bedrooms out the back away from the main road and pubs would be a huge advantage in summer.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trekbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne H, Manager at Daphne Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear reviewer, on behalf of the management and staff of the Daphne Hotel Apartments we would like to thank you for your review.It was a pleasure having you here and are looking forward in seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked this hotel with Newmarket. The hotel's location was very good, but the poor hotel was very tired and old looking, could well have done with a lick of paint and some updating, but was clean and after all you only sleep in the room. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool, a little noisy but better than looking at the road or buildings also ask for either first or second floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couple048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne H, Manager at Daphne Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear reviewer, on behalf of the management and staff of the Daphne Hotel Apartments we would like to thank you for your review and looking forward in seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews