We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trading off it's past glory!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #26 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Bruton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trading off it's past glory!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

It looks like this Hotel has lost it's way! Like any business, the need to keep current is essential but not only does the Aquamare fall short of this, it cannot even maintain it's original goals. To be air I will give plus and minus points as follows:
PLUS POINTS: the staff are mostly friendly, the rooms are cleaned by friendly staff and the rooms are adequate but in need of some TLC. Breakfast was adequate but got boring very quickly (but to be fair,this is the same in most places)
MINUS POINTS: when we arrived we had booked a double room but was given twin beds, when I asked in reception they simply told me they were full ( absolutely not true as the placed was deserted) and the attitude was one of 'so what!'
The grounds were not maintained at all with long spikey grass, dead rats disembowelled by the local cat army and the sun beds etc were very 'poverty' and a lot were broken.I am not adverse to paying for quality and service, but the extortionate prices here forced us into going to the supermarket for out drinks. If they lowered the prices to affordable sensible rates, more people would buy on site therefore making the experience much nicer as well as the hotel making money on good trading rather than sting the few that can't be bothered to get their own. Likewise the spa facilities that are empty 90% of the time because prices are too high!
I am writing this whilst still here at the hotel so if the management want to speak with me, please do, as a fellow business man I know how important feedback is, it is only a shame that I do not believe the management are that interested as the state of the hotel implies.
Devindar Takhar. England.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Devindar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    258
    104
    29
    12
See reviews for
196
375
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

It was first visit with my family and this hotel is family friendly and very accommodating. Value for money and a short distance from the local shops and restaurants. I will be back! Pleasantly surprised. I found it to be clean, relaxing and I couldn't find fault!

Room Tip: Sea room is a lot better than the city view as its on a roundabout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrinayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Aquamare for 1 week for a relaxing holiday and were not disappointed. The hotel is a very good quality hotel, very well kept and maintained. It's not a modern hotel but really lovely and comfortable. Two pools are available, one for kids, and the hotel is right on the beach if you prefer a dip in the sea.

We stayed half board and can highly recommend the food. Breakfast was a buffet with lots of hooves from fresh fruit and yogurt to cooked English, muffins to cheese and hams on fresh bread. Really nice. Evening meals were great. A massive salad bar with lots of choice, a variety of well cooked main course choices and excellent deserts every evening.

Staff at the Aquamare are lovely and really welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is about 40mins walk from the busy harbour and near by are lots of shops and quieter bars for a nice evening drink. Try the seafood restaurant at the nearby avanti village- it's great!

All in all this hotel was fabulous. Not lots to do for kids (no kids club that I saw) but great for couples and people looking for a relaxing break in a quality comfortable hotel. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariciak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We visited the Aquamare at beginning of March this year. The hotel reception was an elegant and spacious hall and the reception desk was efficient and helpful. My only gripe at this point was that I had three cases and a wheelchair but no offer of help with any of it to our room. I had to make two trips!
Our room was beautiful and spacious and we were very happy with every aspect of it.
Breakfast was taken in the breakfast hall and the selection was nothing short of spectacular. All good quality food apart from the sausages which were simply horrid.
Evening meals were in the restaurant and this was a sublime experience. The quality of the food was truly exceptional and the whole ambiance of the restaurant was lovely.
My only real gripe was when trying to get service from the pool area in the afternoons. Unlike the other hotels on the strip (which I could see on my daily walk along the beach path) the outside bar was not open and we had to find the waitress on duty who was sometimes in the kitchen and sometimes at a little table in the breakfast area. if you were very lucky you could catch a member of staff collecting glasses but some of the waitingstaff seemed happy having to bring items out to the pool area.I'm sure that now the season is in full swing this isn't a problem as the pool bar is hopefully now open.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newlamborghini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

30 minute walk from Pathos habour or 5min bus ride(bus stop just outside) the coastal walk was super, not to far at all, or if had enough of walking just cut back up to the road and catch the bus(every 15mins) 1euro.the food was really great, my wife(fussy eater) always had something to eat, plenty of sun beds spread out over the lawn that ran onto the sea, very rocky all along the coast but there was small coves dotted here and there. staff, very friendly and helpfull. the only downer i could think of was the pillows were flat!!! SO if that is the only down side to the hotel i have you can see we really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: if you dont want sun in room(very hot out there) rooms 121to127,221to 227,then 3rd and 4th floor sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is one of those hotels that is 4 star rated but only because it has lifts and a pool. It's on the waterfront in Paphos, currently right now there is a construction site next door. I guess another hotel going up, or apartments. We didn't see any work going on there, so it may be that the site is closed because of the financial issues. Who knows, because a lot of things look unfinished in Cyprus.

The hotel has a grand lobby, nice receptionists, helpful. They prefer that you pay in cash rather than credit / debit cards: once again, we assumed it was down to the financial issues on Cyprus right now. The rooms are clean and tidy but dates and have very few services. The bed was not the most comfortable. Suggest if you are staying here that you get a sea view room because the rear rooms are on the main seafront road and are a bit noisy. The walls have scuff marks on them that have not been either cleaned or painted away. It looks like it could do with some love.

Breakfast was ordinary. The usual mix of fried eggs, bacon and cornflakes buffet breakfast.

It was OK, but the difference between this, a supposed 4 star hotel and a good 5 star hotel on the island (see my review of the Intercontinental) is so enormous that I can't give it any more than 3 stars. Enough to say we stayed only one night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beedied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLCHESTER UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great Hotel . We paid for the Sea View rooms ...worth It No sound of the road outside....
Excellent Service, Great Breakfast, Lovely Breakfast Seating area ,Great Gym & Great Spa .

Friendly staff throughout the Hotel,We went B and B to eat out every evening at different restaurants Great Choice locally and Value .
Nice Evening Walk along the Promenade to the Harbour. Best to catch bus back or walk via the road when dark because the Promenade Walk is not well lit in places !
Bus rides only 1 Euro even to the Airport from Hotel !
Gem of a Hotel .Not too big like others along the front ..Air Conditioning Excellent .. Needed it for our week
The Only Improvements I would say could be made is to the bedding, a bit hard for me
and the Building site next door will be finished one day ! ( They do not seem to do much work there)

Room Tip: Go for Sea View Room away from any excessive noise from the road as Hotel is on a rounabout
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAVEColchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
6.4 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#36 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#8 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,487 reviews
1.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Poseidonos Ave | Kato Pafos, PO Box 62654, Paphos 8066, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#14 Business Hotel in Paphos
#15 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#20 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Aquamare Hotel, we recognize and respect the allure of the Mediterranean, which is why you will find that our entire focus is on capturing its magic and surrounding you with it during your stay with us. Enter an oasis of pure luxury and elegance. With attention to beautiful details and impressive facilities in a hospitable environment, the Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa is the ideal destination for your next holiday or event. Offering a variety of restaurants and bars, conference & incentive facilities, wedding packages, indoor & outdoor pools, children's novelty pool, a fully equipped fitness center and a luxurious spa, whether for business or leisure, there is something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquamare Beach Hotel Paphos
Aquamare Beach Hotel And Spa
Aquamare Hotel Paphos
Aquamare Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing