We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough place but too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avanti Holiday Village
Ranked #18 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Visited here last two weeks of school holidays. Cost 2k for 2 weeks self catering accommodation for 5 of us. 2 adults & kids age 15, 13, 7

Nice enough place but rooms very basic certainly not 4* and in need of refurbishment. Bathroom shower curtain stained, rail rusty & sink cracked. Only one bedroom so kids slept in kitchen/living room.

I had emailed the Avanti before we arrived asking for a 1st floor apartment near the pool.

On arrival they apologised as the could only give us one or the other so they had given us an apartment near the pool which meant we were in a ground floor apartment. This meant we didnt have a balcony, just a patio and the patio is overlooked by all the other apartments so no privacy at all.

No utensils in kitchen so quite difficult to cook anything other than toasties! Only 4 chairs round the small table and there was 5 of us!!

Friends of ours hired a 3 bed apartment in Paphos with shared infinity pool & kiddy area for around £960 for 2 weeks! So I feel this place is very expensive. I thought it may be worth paying extra for kids club but.....
Kids club was a shambles and my 7 year old who was very excited about the prospect took one look and decided he didn't want to go and I didn't blame him as there was one member of staff in the kids club who just seemed to sit with kids whilst they coloured in so any kid over 3 would be bored senseless

Staff are very helpful and nothing too much trouble, especially reception staff. Pool area was very clean. Though 2 of my children had ear infections whilst there.

13 year old son used the gym & indoor pool every morning. We didn't walk over to the hotel as felt that the food wouldn't be as good as restaurants and not really into buffet style dining.
Entertainment staff lovely but seemed very disenchanted with management as they don't seem to spend anything on helping them in producing decent entertainment.

Poolside restaurant is ok. Decent sized portions but it's only open for breakfast and in the afternoon.

Attached Piazza has 3 restaurants and one bar. Fiesta bar & restaurant is only good for watching football matches in! Staff pester the life out of you to have another drink and then take ages to give you your bill and food is exceedingly mediocre and not cheap. Little Eatily does great pizzas, would recommend it.

A 5 min walk up the rd brings you to a number of restaurants (turn right out of the piazza) all quite good and reasonably priced. Meat Academy and Chinese restaurant (can't remember it's name but it's upstairs next door to Gabor French restaurant) are very nice.

Paphos harbour 20 min walk away or short bus ride away only 1 euro & children free But well worth a visit.

Water sports at the harbour are good fun and cheaper than at Coral Bay beach

Would recommend Laona Restaurant in the old town you'll need a bus to the harbour then another one out to the indoor market but well worth a visit for the totally authentic Greek meze.

We hired a car and drove out to Latchi near the Arkansas Peninsula. Very laid back place with nice beach and lovely harbour restaurants. Coral Bay Beach is also worth a bus ride to.

All in all would return to Paphos as it's lovely but wouldn't come back to the Avanti as think it's overpriced for the standard of accommodation

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mhm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,631 - 1,637 of 2,197 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Arrived at 11.00 pm on 22nd September. The apartment was ground floor when we had requested first floor. On entering there was a pungent smell - couldn't work out whether this was damp or some other problem. Having said that all the equipment, oven and cutlery was extremely clean. The worse part was the view - this overlooked a road with a low wall and we felt this was extremely vulnerable. The patio was a 6ft square block of concrete with 2 chairs and table - no clothes dryer supplied presumably because this overlooked a road! We mentioned our unhappiness on arrival and were told to come back at 8.00 am the next morning which we duly did. We were then told to come back the following morning at 8.00 am as they may be able to move us then! Surprisingly the first morning it was obvious people were leaving that day - why could they not move us on the first day? Anyway, a voucher was included in the paperwork given to us to upgrade to the Avanti Hotel with half board (we had already bought breakfast) which we duly took advantage of as we did not feel our holiday could start until our room issue was sorted. We definitely felt we had been given a substandard room at the Avanti Village and would never return as there are no guarantees with room allocation. Just to be fair the reception staff were very pleasant. The Thomson Rep at the Welcome Meeting the next morning was of no help - we told her we had room issues and all she was interested in was whether we had paid extra for room allocation. We had booked online and there was no option for this.

Will review the Avanti Hotel separately.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We booked this holiday at the last minute -Avanti Village turning out to be the most affordable for the small window we had to travel in, so we weren't quite sure if we'd like it. But we certainly did! My husband, daughter and I chose the self-catering option, and this worked very well for us, once we'd found the best supermarket to shop in. The apartment we had was spotless, comfortable and perfectly located for us as it was on the extreme edge of the village, overlooking a farmer's field, with wonderful views of the full moon rising every night, and hot sun shining on our balcony for breakfast-time. Some people might not like the fact that there is only one bedroom, with a further 2 sofa-beds situated in the living room, which also doubles as a small kitchen, but as we were out most of the time, it worked extremely well for us. We did have to request extra cooking utensils, as there was, for example, no frying pan (so how do you fry an egg, with just two saucepans to use) or serving spoon, but as soon as this was mentioned to the staff, within an hour or two, two smiling and apologetic ladies came armed with all the extras we needed! We were more than happy and continued to be appreciative of the hard-working and courteous staff at all levels.
The swimming pools were lovely, with one massive one and two smaller, all surrounded by the ever-present greenery, which really made it for me - sweet-smelling roses, hibiscus, rosemary and bourganvilleas among the types I could recognise. These formed hedges and flower-beds that lined the winding pathways that linked all the apartments to the pool and reception area, so it was always a delight to walk along them.
We had read that the on-site restaurant was not up to scratch, but we did not find this to be true - we had three lovely meals there. Also note that during the 'happy hour' (5pm until the early hours) the great cocktails were only 2.95 euros! I had several!
The buses proved to be perfect - the stops were just outside the entrance to the village, and a trip anywhere was just 1 euro, with 3 euros letting you travel as many trips as you liked within that day. Paphos harbour was a great place to bus to, though you can walk along the recently-created coast path to the harbour, taking about 25 minutes at a fairly slow pace. If you do this about 6.30 in the evening, you are treated to a magnificent sunset. The night is long, but there's plenty to do, and the right heat to do it in!
A very good Indian restaurant is just across the road (The Bombay Brasserie) and almost next to that is an excellent Italian restaurant (The Cavallini). the best supermarket is in Paphos, near to the bus station and Debenhams, called Papantonio - it's got everything, including a cafe.
You might like to go on one of the day trip organised from the village - we chose the Thompson's 'Love Cyprus' coach trip and this proved to be delightful, covering several of southern Cyprus's best features and including a coffee break and lovely lunch - you had to get up for an 8.30am start, but we were back by 5.30. Paphos itself also has several archaeological sites that are well-worth visiting, for very little money - e.g. 1.75 euros for the Unesco archaeological site, just behind Paphos bus staion - it goes on for acres and includes wonderful Greek and Roman mosaics. There are too many others to list here, but at the Village, the receptionists will help you locate them.
All in all, I was agreeably surprised at the thoughtful management of Avanti Village and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone - providing you don't mind the heat (it was up to 35 degrees during our week, ending 3rd October) though there are plenty of shaded areas for those who don't want to bask in the rays.

Room Tip: We requested a 'quiet room' and were rewarded by the perfect apartment, overlooking fields a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Returned again to Avanti village the welcome was amazing from the management right down to the cleaning staff they make you feel special this time took my son his partner and my baby grandson we had a great time in the pool every day lunch at taverna most days good food reasonably priced Lueza who runs the pool bar was on the ball every time never an empty glass. been reading some poor reviews these people could not have been in the same place as us totally disagree with the comments they make .Maria the top housekeeper would make sure things were right .to those people get a life and chill out

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise and nice balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff could not do enough. We felt very welcome and almost part of the family.

The location is a little outside of Paphos but within walking distance to the tourist areas (30 minutes walk approx. either along the beachfront or the main road). The hotel is clean, tidy with large self catering apartments and a large pool area. There are organised activities for all the family and the prices of food, drink etc is reasonable.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk of the location, for those that do not want to venture too far.

The only downside is WIFI is only available in reception and not all the hotel grounds.

We tend not to go back to the same places as we like to see other parts of the world, but we would certainly be looking at going back to the Avanti Village.

Room Tip: It is worth renting a car, do this from the UK before you travel, for a few days. There is a lot to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I booked this hotel on the 4.5 star rating it has on tripadvisor.

I have no idea why it has this rating and will never trust tripadvisor again.

The room was of 2-star quality, two single beds pushed together with a squeaky and hard mattress, the TV has 3 english channels (Sky news, BBC news & CNN), the room backed onto a restaurant courtyard, the shower was of 1-star standard.

There was nothing about the room that impressed. The worst part was the balcony was invested with bugs, every time i called for it to be dealt with a cleaner came around (after 3 calls) and sprayed a little bug spray and cleaned them up. The next morning it was invested with bugs again and I would have to persistently call again.

I tried renting a car through the hotel but I was told I couldn't rent one because I had only been 25 for 3 months, even though the minimum age is 25.

I wanted to use the gym but when I entered it felt like the equipment had been pinched from a scrap yard. I picked up a weight and it fell in two. It could have hit and broke my foot. I never went there again.

We ate lunch once at the restaurant, my girlfriend ordered at chicken burger but got a beef burger. We didn't eat there again.

The pool is very shallow and ideal for children which is fine, we used the pool area at the Avanti hotel which is a much better choice.

This is a 2-3 star hotel. I have rated it 1 to bring down the outrageously high 4.5 rating.

I had to put some justice to these positive reviews. I signed up to tripadvisor and wrote this review the day after returning from my holiday.

Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

just back from a pleasant week at avanti village .first time in cyprus its location is very good with ameneties close at hand, on arrival reception staff were pleasant and welcoming and only problem was the map of how to find your apartmaent at midnight was like hampton court maze .on finding apartment it was very clean, tidy and spacious the kitchen /bathroom facilities were adequate, furniture slightly dated but in good condition air con was working so apartment was very cool . next day poolside area very clean with ample sunbeds, pool itself very clean well maintained its entertainment was a bit "butlins" but not excessive at bottom of site complex there were 3 eating places that were busy every night we used the fiesta grill bar and the food was good the ocean basket restaraunt seemed very popular with people queing most nights complex 15 /20 minutes stroll on well lit roads or 5 minutes on a very effecient bus sevice 611 all routes go to harbour excellent value of 1 euro or 3 euro for day pass lasts until 11pm there are many very nice eating establishments on the way "romantica and les amis are 2 that had set menus for 3 courses for 14 euros and were excellent in terms of service and quality and variety lots of places in main harbour area providing good quality food /sevice .shops were well stocked and prices were a pleasant suprise the area had a good "feel about it .there was no trouble .i only saw 2 police cars all week the people were all very friendly and polite and spoke very good english i was slightly disapointed after checking various sights to find that a lot of the lively pubs on bar street were closed down some for good by the condition of them .there are still quite a few pubs though and the ones we tried were ok all in all my wife and i had a very pleasant holiday in paphos and would reccomend the avanti village as a good base. certainly value for money

Room Tip: first floor apartments get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 85 in Paphos
2,966 reviews
1.2 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Helios Bay Hotel
Helios Bay Hotel
#16 of 85 in Paphos
702 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avanti Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avanti Holiday Village

Address: Poseidon Avenue, Paphos, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#11 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#13 Family Hotel in Paphos
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $77 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avanti Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avanti Holiday Village is the sister hotel to the well-established Avanti 4 star Hotel. It is situated 300m beside it,in a very convenient location just 250m from the beach,at a walking distance from the harbour. The village is built on a 94000 sq. m. plot and stands out with its distinctive Mediterranean architecture and the beautifully laid out spacious one-bedroom apartments. Guests may book as self catering or bed and breakfast (in village) and also Half Board in which case dinner is served at the Hotel. The atmosphere combined with the variety of facilities makes it a resort suitable for couples and families seeking a different style of holidays with more privacy and flexibility. A family owned and run holiday village offering a unique experience in the heart of Pafos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Otel, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avanti Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avanti Village Paphos
Avanti Village Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing