We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avanti Holiday Village
Ranked #17 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We booked this holiday at the last minute -Avanti Village turning out to be the most affordable for the small window we had to travel in, so we weren't quite sure if we'd like it. But we certainly did! My husband, daughter and I chose the self-catering option, and this worked very well for us, once we'd found the best supermarket to shop in. The apartment we had was spotless, comfortable and perfectly located for us as it was on the extreme edge of the village, overlooking a farmer's field, with wonderful views of the full moon rising every night, and hot sun shining on our balcony for breakfast-time. Some people might not like the fact that there is only one bedroom, with a further 2 sofa-beds situated in the living room, which also doubles as a small kitchen, but as we were out most of the time, it worked extremely well for us. We did have to request extra cooking utensils, as there was, for example, no frying pan (so how do you fry an egg, with just two saucepans to use) or serving spoon, but as soon as this was mentioned to the staff, within an hour or two, two smiling and apologetic ladies came armed with all the extras we needed! We were more than happy and continued to be appreciative of the hard-working and courteous staff at all levels.
The swimming pools were lovely, with one massive one and two smaller, all surrounded by the ever-present greenery, which really made it for me - sweet-smelling roses, hibiscus, rosemary and bourganvilleas among the types I could recognise. These formed hedges and flower-beds that lined the winding pathways that linked all the apartments to the pool and reception area, so it was always a delight to walk along them.
We had read that the on-site restaurant was not up to scratch, but we did not find this to be true - we had three lovely meals there. Also note that during the 'happy hour' (5pm until the early hours) the great cocktails were only 2.95 euros! I had several!
The buses proved to be perfect - the stops were just outside the entrance to the village, and a trip anywhere was just 1 euro, with 3 euros letting you travel as many trips as you liked within that day. Paphos harbour was a great place to bus to, though you can walk along the recently-created coast path to the harbour, taking about 25 minutes at a fairly slow pace. If you do this about 6.30 in the evening, you are treated to a magnificent sunset. The night is long, but there's plenty to do, and the right heat to do it in!
A very good Indian restaurant is just across the road (The Bombay Brasserie) and almost next to that is an excellent Italian restaurant (The Cavallini). the best supermarket is in Paphos, near to the bus station and Debenhams, called Papantonio - it's got everything, including a cafe.
You might like to go on one of the day trip organised from the village - we chose the Thompson's 'Love Cyprus' coach trip and this proved to be delightful, covering several of southern Cyprus's best features and including a coffee break and lovely lunch - you had to get up for an 8.30am start, but we were back by 5.30. Paphos itself also has several archaeological sites that are well-worth visiting, for very little money - e.g. 1.75 euros for the Unesco archaeological site, just behind Paphos bus staion - it goes on for acres and includes wonderful Greek and Roman mosaics. There are too many others to list here, but at the Village, the receptionists will help you locate them.
All in all, I was agreeably surprised at the thoughtful management of Avanti Village and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone - providing you don't mind the heat (it was up to 35 degrees during our week, ending 3rd October) though there are plenty of shaded areas for those who don't want to bask in the rays.

Room Tip: We requested a 'quiet room' and were rewarded by the perfect apartment, overlooking fields a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,639 - 1,645 of 2,203 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Returned again to Avanti village the welcome was amazing from the management right down to the cleaning staff they make you feel special this time took my son his partner and my baby grandson we had a great time in the pool every day lunch at taverna most days good food reasonably priced Lueza who runs the pool bar was on the ball every time never an empty glass. been reading some poor reviews these people could not have been in the same place as us totally disagree with the comments they make .Maria the top housekeeper would make sure things were right .to those people get a life and chill out

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise and nice balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff could not do enough. We felt very welcome and almost part of the family.

The location is a little outside of Paphos but within walking distance to the tourist areas (30 minutes walk approx. either along the beachfront or the main road). The hotel is clean, tidy with large self catering apartments and a large pool area. There are organised activities for all the family and the prices of food, drink etc is reasonable.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk of the location, for those that do not want to venture too far.

The only downside is WIFI is only available in reception and not all the hotel grounds.

We tend not to go back to the same places as we like to see other parts of the world, but we would certainly be looking at going back to the Avanti Village.

Room Tip: It is worth renting a car, do this from the UK before you travel, for a few days. There is a lot to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I booked this hotel on the 4.5 star rating it has on tripadvisor.

I have no idea why it has this rating and will never trust tripadvisor again.

The room was of 2-star quality, two single beds pushed together with a squeaky and hard mattress, the TV has 3 english channels (Sky news, BBC news & CNN), the room backed onto a restaurant courtyard, the shower was of 1-star standard.

There was nothing about the room that impressed. The worst part was the balcony was invested with bugs, every time i called for it to be dealt with a cleaner came around (after 3 calls) and sprayed a little bug spray and cleaned them up. The next morning it was invested with bugs again and I would have to persistently call again.

I tried renting a car through the hotel but I was told I couldn't rent one because I had only been 25 for 3 months, even though the minimum age is 25.

I wanted to use the gym but when I entered it felt like the equipment had been pinched from a scrap yard. I picked up a weight and it fell in two. It could have hit and broke my foot. I never went there again.

We ate lunch once at the restaurant, my girlfriend ordered at chicken burger but got a beef burger. We didn't eat there again.

The pool is very shallow and ideal for children which is fine, we used the pool area at the Avanti hotel which is a much better choice.

This is a 2-3 star hotel. I have rated it 1 to bring down the outrageously high 4.5 rating.

I had to put some justice to these positive reviews. I signed up to tripadvisor and wrote this review the day after returning from my holiday.

Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

just back from a pleasant week at avanti village .first time in cyprus its location is very good with ameneties close at hand, on arrival reception staff were pleasant and welcoming and only problem was the map of how to find your apartmaent at midnight was like hampton court maze .on finding apartment it was very clean, tidy and spacious the kitchen /bathroom facilities were adequate, furniture slightly dated but in good condition air con was working so apartment was very cool . next day poolside area very clean with ample sunbeds, pool itself very clean well maintained its entertainment was a bit "butlins" but not excessive at bottom of site complex there were 3 eating places that were busy every night we used the fiesta grill bar and the food was good the ocean basket restaraunt seemed very popular with people queing most nights complex 15 /20 minutes stroll on well lit roads or 5 minutes on a very effecient bus sevice 611 all routes go to harbour excellent value of 1 euro or 3 euro for day pass lasts until 11pm there are many very nice eating establishments on the way "romantica and les amis are 2 that had set menus for 3 courses for 14 euros and were excellent in terms of service and quality and variety lots of places in main harbour area providing good quality food /sevice .shops were well stocked and prices were a pleasant suprise the area had a good "feel about it .there was no trouble .i only saw 2 police cars all week the people were all very friendly and polite and spoke very good english i was slightly disapointed after checking various sights to find that a lot of the lively pubs on bar street were closed down some for good by the condition of them .there are still quite a few pubs though and the ones we tried were ok all in all my wife and i had a very pleasant holiday in paphos and would reccomend the avanti village as a good base. certainly value for money

Room Tip: first floor apartments get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I spent seven nights at the Avanti Village during September 2012. On entering our first floor apartment right at the back end of the complex, we were rather disappointed with the furnishings, they were old and tired including the TV set. The air con in the bedroom did not work but was quickly repaired when i reported it to reception.

The cleaners did change the towels every day but did not sweep the floors - not once during the whole week. There were ants crawling around here and there but this did not bother us particularly. The static from the shower curtain was rather annoying and a couple of times the the bathroom floor was left flooded despite ensuring the curtain was hanging in the shower.

As vegetarians we were not impressed with the breakfast - the scrambled eggs and beans were in front of the sausages and bacon, on one occasion i found a piece of bacon floating in the beans which definitely put me off for the remainder of the week (vegetarian readers will understand my disgust at this though i must say that the other guests were merrily chomping away at what was on offer). Coffee from machines need not taste bad but what was offered by the Avanti was not up to scratch. There were many cats wandering around at breakfast with guests throwing scraps of their unhealthy leftovers for the them to feed on.

The evening meal was severed at the Avanti Hotel a couple of minutes walk away. There was more choice for vegetarians here and the setting was much better than the Avanti Village. The hotel also had an air-conditioned reception area unlike the Avanati Village.

The walk to the harbour took 20-30 mins and was best tackled by walking to the beach and then along the coastline. We did not take the bus as the walk was extremely pleasant but buses were quite frequent.

The archaeological ruins next to the harbour are worth a visit at 3.4 Euros but The Tombs of the Kings (1.7 Euros) was a waste of time i thought.

All in all, the week long stay wasn't so bad, despite my gripes above however, it's not cheap and i expected better. I would look elsewhere if i found myself going back to Paphos.

Room Tip: If you don't have children then take a first floor apartment. Hotel safe cost 14 Euros for one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pattar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Avanti village has been created to look like a traditional Cypriot village, with narrow shady paths running between whitewashed buildings and generous borders planted with plants and bushes laden with scented blooms.
As the sun sets, sitting on your balcony, you could be in the pre-Green Line Cyprus of Lawrence Durrel, but unfortunately for us, that's where the magic ended. We just wanted some peace and quiet after the riot of family activity during the day, but the entertainment blared out unremittingly from the poolside microphone: mini-discos; mediocre covers of ballads; bingo; quizzes...until we were driven inside to make what we could of the Russian dramas showing on the TV.
So, if the idea of Butlins-Med floats your boat, it's the perfect venue. There is a large, beautifully designed pool area including a lazy river, a covered play area (5 yrs plus) and a bar with adjacent 'taverna' where good value breakfast buffets, snacks and meals are served. The kids' club is 4 yrs plus. All great, but being unable to escape the Hi-De-Hi element was a small but very irritating fly in the ointment for us.
Having said that, I hasten to add that that was my only criticism. Our apartment was spacious, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. It felt a real luxury having a maid service and clean pool towels on a daily basis. All the staff were gracious and helpful.
There is a delightful little beach a few minutes' walk away. Perfect for little ones as the water is only a couple of feet deep with plenty of sand to play in.
The buses are great value. If you don't want to get stung by the mini markets, pop on the bus into Paphos town and get your groceries at Papantoniou supermarket opposite Debenhams. From the harbour bus station you can travel to Coral bay (gorgeous) and the Rock of Aphrodite (romantic). There is a promenade along the seafront that leads to the town - a bit toasty in day time but a stunning and atmospheric evening stroll.
There are a selection of restaurants in the village. We were big fans of Ocean Basket for good value platters of seafood.
All in all we had a great holiday. We felt very welcome and Cyprus wears its fascinating history lightly; you can easily spend your entire time at the resort - there's everything you need for a perfectly relaxing break in siesta-inducing temperatures and beautiful surroundings...but maybe just take some ear-plugs if you're near the pool...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HarryHoundSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 85 in Paphos
2,969 reviews
1.2 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
4.9 mi away
Helios Bay Hotel
Helios Bay Hotel
#18 of 85 in Paphos
705 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avanti Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avanti Holiday Village

Address: Poseidon Avenue, Paphos, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#11 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#13 Family Hotel in Paphos
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $78 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avanti Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avanti Holiday Village is the sister hotel to the well-established Avanti 4 star Hotel. It is situated 300m beside it,in a very convenient location just 250m from the beach,at a walking distance from the harbour. The village is built on a 94000 sq. m. plot and stands out with its distinctive Mediterranean architecture and the beautifully laid out spacious one-bedroom apartments. Guests may book as self catering or bed and breakfast (in village) and also Half Board in which case dinner is served at the Hotel. The atmosphere combined with the variety of facilities makes it a resort suitable for couples and families seeking a different style of holidays with more privacy and flexibility. A family owned and run holiday village offering a unique experience in the heart of Pafos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avanti Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avanti Village Paphos
Avanti Village Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing