We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Split up from our friends” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Split up from our friends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed at the Athena Royal for 2 weeks in September 2010. We’d been a couple of times before, so we knew what to expect.

We fully agree with all the positives that people say about the place – the rooms are clean and well maintained, the breakfast is great, the staff are well-trained, attentive and friendly, there are plenty of sunbeds, and the place is quiet and peaceful. It’s a great place for a chill-out holiday – so why only 3 out of 5 ?

The reason is what happened to our party. We had booked to stay at the Athena Royal at the same time as another couple we had met there on a previous trip. The bookings were separate, but were for the same arrival and departure dates.

We were really pleased to see our friends in reception - and really shocked to discover that they weren't staying with us.

The hotel staff told them that, even though they had booked a room at the Athena Royal, they were being moved to one of the other hotels in the group. We were still staying at the Athena Royal, so we were going to be split from our friends.

That was bad enough. To add insult to injury, when we asked if we could go and visit them, we were told that, since their hotel was more exclusive than hours, we would not be allowed to use its facilities. So, not only were we split our friends - now we weren't good enough to go and visit them ! For sheer tactlessness, that takes some beating.

We did enjoy our time at the Athena Royal, but not as much as we should have. The fact that our friends had to trek down to our hotel if they wanted to meet us (since the Athena Royal graciously gave them visiting rights to see us) took some of the pleasure out of the break.

Oddly enough, when we flew out to Cyprus from the UK, we found ourselves sitting next to another couple who were coming to the Athena Royal for the first time. We told them what a great hotel it was, and how much they would enjoy it - and then we didn't see them again for 2 weeks. When we met them at the airport, they told us that they, too, had been moved.

Although I really like the hotel, this experience would certainly make me think twice about going back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RoamingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    219
    63
    18
    17
See reviews for
86
1,102
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Its a nice hotel been in better food was ok BUT if you like TOBACCO I would say stay away they do not say on their web site No Smoking but there is NO smoking any where in the hotel, they do put an ash tray on the balcony but at 10pm the light goes out so if you wand to read or just relax after that time you do it in the dark so take a torch the pool area is very good plenty of loungers etc. and the staff was great

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willena060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

This is the first time that we have been to Cyprus and we decided to try the Athena Royal Beach after seeing all the good reviews. We were certainly not disappointed. All the staff (including the Manager) were very friendly, efficient and made us feel welcome. We had a sea view room on the third floor, it was really clean, very quiet and the view was amazing. As we like to eat out, we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast was really good with a great choice of hot and cold dishes to suit everyone. This hotel is not cheap, but is worth paying that bit extra for in terms of quality, service and ambience. Many of the guests there are regular visitors which speaks for itself. We are hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pashmina055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

The moment I walked into the reception area of this hotel I knew I was going to have a wonderful holiday. As a guest I wanted for nothing. The hotel room was a nice size, with a good sized bathroom and balcony outside. A very good effective air conditioning system was in place, which was desperately needed on some of the hotter days and nights. Despite it being October the weather didn't let us down, one or two overcast days but still very warm. Our room was cleaned every day, with towel changes when required. The breakfast experience was one not to be missed, every type of food being available, all excellent quality. What struck us was how many staff there were, all polite and very professional. Outside, just a short walk to the sea. Sun beds on lawns, spaced apart so your personal space wasn't compromised. Wonderful pools, including a jacuzzi pool. Indoors, a gym & pool, hairdressing salon and spa. They have thought of everything, it is a totally relaxing experience. I have never stayed in such an opulent environment and I have travelled a great deal. If you choose this hotel you will be delighted you have done so.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mummylind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

We have just returned from a pleasant mid October break at the Athena Royal Beach. We booked the trip through the hotel chain's own travel company Constant Travel and found them to be significantly cheaper than the mainstream travel companies' brochure prices. Our package included flights with Monarch airlines, coach transfers from the airport and half board accommodation. Whilst there is no tour representative service with Constant Travel we didn't particularly need one and the hotel reception staff are able to answer most queries.

The Athena Royal Beach is a very good 4 star hotel with some 5 star touches. Ideally suited to middle aged and elderly couples looking for good service, comfortable accommodation and a quiet and peaceful atmosphere. For those on bed and breakfast options there are plenty and varied eating options within reasonable walking distance and the harbour area is probably a 30 minute steady stroll ( for two pretty fit 55 year olds !) along the coastal path which passes at the rear of the neighbouring hotels and premises.

The rooms are of adequate size with a large comfortable king size bed and a compact but adequate bathroom with shower over the bath. Everything is nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Extra touches such as complimentary half bottle of wine, bottle of mineral water, fridge, bowl of fruit, dressing gowns, slippers and stock of beach towels replenished as required make for a comfortable stay.

We booked the cheaper mountain view option with our confirmation stating that we had a ' Full Mountain View' room. We found ourselves in what in effect was a side view room overlooking the end of the neighbouring hotel although depending on which angle you looked out from the balcony you could actually see the sea or alternatively some of the nearby hotel and shopping developments. To be honest even the rooms at the front of the hotel which look towards the distant mountains have their views interrupted by the road and neighbouring properties and the view was not a particular issue to us. If you choose the mountain view option, however, don't expect an alpine vista !.

The breakfast and dinner buffets are very good with lots of choice, plenty table availabilty and, depending on how busy the restaurant was, options for outdoor or indoor seating. As well as an a la carte option ( at a supplement) it is possible to pre book a waiter service table d'hote option. The early evening happy hour followed by the nightly dinner themes including Greek night, BBQ night, Gala Dinner etc often with pleasant live music made for a pleasant and relaxing dining experience.

The hotel manager's regular presence and ' walk the job' approach is a major factor in promoting the high standards of service provided at the Athena Royal and there is an excellent team spirit which is evident amongst the entire hotel staff. It was refreshing to see the head chef chatting to guests in the restaurant and helping out waiting staff when things were busy and the restaurant team worked well together providing faultless and efficient service.

One in three guests being return customers speaks for itself and the management's awareness of regular customers was evident in personal greetings and farewells. At main departure times the management are present to ensure guests are thanked for their custom. A nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveandIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deinze, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

We have stayed in Athena Royal in May 2010 and have returned in September 2010. One of the main reasons why we wanted to come back was the good weather, the staff of the hotel and the pure relaxation time. It is a pitty that we' ve read some negative remarks on Tripadvisor. We can honoustly say, that this hotel is a positive as it can be. We chose in september a room at the parking side and we slept very well. There were no problems with neon lights from across the street, of course you hear some traffic but the hotel is located from a certain distance from the main road, and anyway it was our choice to stay at this side of the hotel. We have slept in more then 200 hotels all over the world, and it is amazing that you don't hear a thing of the neighbours. It is good isolated. The room, as last time (frontal seaside), was very clean. A new modern touch would indeed be better. Breakfast and dinner were again wonderful. To start in the morning with a nice glas of sparkling French wine makes the day even better. The swimming pools were also very clean and at every time you could swim without bumping to another person. Enough sunbeds and parasols, well kept garden.
We would very much like to thank Mr. Demetriou, the hotel manager, who was again everywhere in the hotel, checking things, having a talk to the guests, ....... We wish him some free time as well.
Also thanks to Corinna from the Olive Tree bar. Being in Cyprus for 20 years, working many years in this hotel and welcoming us every morning with a touch of humor ; she is really an extra to the hotel. Also many thanks to Andrea, the 2 Florins, Maya and so many other people we got to know better.
We will return in May or June 2011 and we really can recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a relaxing time.
Van De Ginste Sandy - Snoeck Guy (Deinze, Belgium)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandy1426099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful week at this hotel having gone there to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. From check-in to departure, the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and found the food to be fresh, (eggs etc cooked to order) with a great selection of fruits, continental and cooked items; there was even champagne if you wanted it. We ate out in the evenings as restaurants in Paphos are very good and only a leisurely stroll away.

The rooms were large, clean and serviced daily with fresh pool and beach towels every day. The terry robes could have been softer and seemed to have been put through several boil washes! Air con and safe were included in the price and the room was well equipped with hairdryer, iron etc.

The pool area was well maintained and the loungers were the wooden variety for extra comfort. The gym was well equipped, however I thought that the daytime and evening entertainment was a little disappointing and low key.

Bar prices were ok for this type of hotel and there is a happy hour from 6-7pm which is good for pre - dinner cocktails. Food served in the snack bar was very nice and reasonably priced.

We didn't tell the staff that it was a special birthday, however, we returned to the room and found balloons and a banner on the door and a 1/2 bottle of wine and fruit provided which was a lovely surprise.

We had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. it is not cheap, but it was in our opinion worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz12Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.5 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#17 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#9 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#21 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HRS and Hotels.com so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing