We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious, modern classy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Spacious, modern classy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

Hotel was excellent. There were 2 lovely pools and if the pool was not cool enough you could have a dip in the sea from a floating pier. Be careful however if the sea is rough as it could be dangerous and easy to lose your footing.

We didn't eat in the hotel, but there were plenty of small restaurants nearby - 5 minute stroll away.

The surrounding gardens were very nicely laid out and the beach beds were well spaced apart. There was never a problem getting a bed as there were always plenty free.

One tip, the bar seems to shut before 12.00 in the evenings so if you are out late and fancy a night cap on the way home, you may find it is closed.

Although I didn't use the spa, it looked lovely and there were plenty different facilities - ask for a look around. It always seemed quite quiet.

Liked the modern, new feel to the hotel. Rooms were quite small but nicely furnished. We had a side sea view, sun in the evening only, which was fine but didn't have much of a view at all. It may be worth upgrading to a full sea view although this is pricier.

Would definitely return.

  • Liked — The gardens and pool area.
  • Disliked — The rooms were smaller than expected for the standard of hotel.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank hol2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    219
    64
    19
    17
See reviews for
87
1,111
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2007

My husband & I stayed here 7-21 July & we'll be back! We feel it's definitely a good 4*.
We wanted a child-free hol, as our 2 are old enough to look after themselves, & now just come with us at Xmas time. No doubt, in a few years (hopefully quite a few!) we'll be doing the "grandparent thing!" Meanwhile, it's OUR time!
This hotel was recommended as somewhere to go & chill & that's exactly what we did. The age range was from 20's upwards; we're in our 40's. There was no noise / music from the pool or beach bar (bliss!); just a little music when the aqua aerobics was taking place or when the pool music from a few hotels down floated over. The rest of the noise was just the sounds of the ocean or from people doing watersports (available from the Riu Cypria Maris & a hotel in the other direction)
The grounds / lawns extend down to the little rocky beach. There is a small area of sand, then a tiny stretch to paddle, or one can enter the sea via the jetty. The space between the loungers is ample & we never struggled to find a free one. A delightful young lady (Boglaka) will come & take your drink orders. There are 2 outdoor pools & 1 indoor (no life guard)
There is a nice beach in Coral Bay, about 15mins away. Local buses run every 15mins; some go round to Coral Bay. It's about 80c into Paphos itself & the bus stop is just a few metres outside the hotel, on the left.
We were offered a free upgrade to a sea view, which was very tranquil. The room was a little on the small side, as compared to our hotel in Rhodes last yr, or the one in Sharm, but then we reasoned that we weren't going to be in it much & there was plenty of space for clothes & cases, plus the balcony, so what did it matter?
There are coffee / tea making facilities in the room, an iron & board, hairdryer & 2 large shower gel & soap dispensers.
You'll get 2 beach towels each; just leave them in the bath when they need changing & fresh ones will magically appear on your bed during the day.
We were only B+B & actually never made it down to breakfast, so can't comment on them but the dining rooms looked very nice.
There is a hairdressers on site, gym, a spa (prices range from 25CYP to 45.) There is internet access, table tennis, & 3 pool tables, plus bowls & a tiny putting green; never saw anyone on either of the latter 2.
The shop sells quite a range of goods; have to say the shop staff let the side down a little as they were not over-friendly / smiley. However, the rest of the staff were great. Receptionists were extremely helpful & helped me faff about with an old mobile handset one eve, swapping sims about to see if mine would take a Cypriot one (it did, so bought a sim from a nearby shop) They even called one of the front desk managers to help! Nothing was too much trouble.
We often ate at the "Olive Tree" cafe, nr the pool at lunch; if it's not on the menu, just ask & they will try to oblige. Strawberries, cream & ice cream is at 3pm, signalled by a ringing bell (you have to pay)
Once in the grounds, we had such a feeling of space, as compared to many hotels. Hubby did walk around part of the Athena Beach next door, but preffered ours. We also looked around quite a lot of the Riu Cypria Maris, inside & out, but ours was much better, we felt. (We have stayed in Riu hotels before)
Looking at the other hotels as we walked along the prom, by the sea, we wouldn't have swapped our deal with any other.
We didn't stay in the hotel in the eves, so can't comment on the entertainment. There were a couple of eve shows by the pool, so we watched from our balcony. They ended in good time so didn't keep us awake. Looking at the eve prog entertainment was things like live music (2 different duos alternated) an Elvis tribute artist (!) bingo, darts, intro to the wines of Cyprus, dominos, folk lore show, dancing show, quiz night, & there was a films room (cinema night) There is also a small "library", just on some shelves in the reps' area.
The day time animation prog includes things like stretching yoga, facial demo, massge demo, mini golf, boules, backgammon, shuffle board, gym aerobics; we were too busy relaxing or on a trip to join in.
There are plenty of restaurants & bars to suit all tastes, within a short walking distance from the hotel. We favoured the Italian, "Cavallini's", where the waiters are very easy on the eye! The food is beautifully presented & service great. We also liked the Chinese next door to them. "Da Vinci's" Italian is also quite nice, but "Cavallini's" had the edge for us. Someone recommended the "Rib Shack" but we never got around to trying that; it's near "Cavallini's".
There are also the fish & chip pub type places nearby; we noted where they were & avoided them, but each to their own.
We went into Paphos one eve & walked round the harbour. Worth doing but we weren't tempted to eat a full meal in that vicinity; too crowded, noisy & folk were looking harrassed, as well as complaining about slow service. We did stretch to a waffle & cappuccino whilst watching the world go by at the cafe next to the wax museum, nr the castle end (sorry, cant remember the name!) service was good & it wasn't crowded.
We walked around the shops; very touristy, but ok for the odd visit & didn't venture down any side streets or where lots of bars are said to be. We just enjoyed the views of the harbour, sunset & people watching.
We went with Thomson & booked several excursions thru the rep. Will write seperate posts on them but they included Nicosia & the Turkish occupied north, Troodos mountains, undersea walking, Cypriot eve, monasteries, medieval castles, amphitheatres & the wine villages of the island. There are so many excursions available, we were spolit for choice. One can also fly or cruise to Egypt, cruise to the Holyland & local ops offer trips to Beirut or Labannon!
There have been comments on the forum recently about how Paphos is losing its charm. We have nothing with which to compare it ,as it was our 1st visit, but imagine that folk are referring to the more "touristy" aspects. As said, we noted them, then avoided them; it is possible to do so. When we return, we'd like to hire a car & visit more of the "real" Cyprus, as we caught glimpses of this on some of our trips & we will definitely be returning to "our sanctuary" of the Athena Royal Beach.
Any questions, please PM me or ask in open forum : )

  • Liked — The peaceful sea view
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank Nephthys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2007

A second visit to the Athena Royal Beach Hotel was no let down. Returning visitors are treated like old friends (and a discount card for food, drinks and spa treatments is also welcome - don't forget to ask for your card if you've been to the Athena Royal before!), and everyone was genuinely pleased to see us! As always, a hotel without children is very calm and quiet - we are constantly amazed at the amount of sunbeds available - you don't have to get up at the crack of dawn to get beds at this hotel (although my husband unfortunately does)!
All the staff are lovely - in particular, Nicolette (Customer Relations) has a permanent smile, and Dimitri runs an efficient Dionyssos bar - Eva's smile lights up that bar, and her cocktails are renouned - believe me, I tried most of them!!
Rooms were cleaned promptly and thoroughly, and the whole hotel is spotless. We only stay B&B when we visit Athena Royal - not because the food isn't superb - the breakfast buffet is like nothing I've ever experienced before - you name it, they've got it (or they'll get it for you...) - but because there are so many wonderful restaurants nearby to try.
A few of our favourites - turn left out of the hotel and there's a stretch of restaurants on the left a 2 minute walk away - it starts with:
(i) Oleastro - it cites itself as a Meditteranean Grill; even though it does steaks etc, I wouldn't describe it as a Grill - all the food is excellent. When we went last year they served rabbit, my husband's favourite. It's not on the menu this year, but we mentioned we'd had it last year, and they cooked it especially for him when we next visited - superb. Our table was reserved for us with a little card saying 'Mr Rabbit'!
(ii) Next to Oleastro is Cavallinis - a great Italian restaurant with lovely food (although beware if ordering Spaghetti Carbonara - one of the waiters said 'Oh, that's a bit boring'. It's on your menu, as the customer replied....).
(iii) Above these two is Gabor, a French restaurant (air conditioned or outside on the terrace) - slightly more pricey, but the food was incredible, they flambe lots of the courses in front of you. A new find for us this year, as we didn't visit Gabor last year, but if you're celebrating a birthday, anniversary etc., consider Gabor for that special meal.
NB. we haven't visited the other restaurants on this little stretch, although friends of ours said that 'Bombay', the curry house was disappointing. We didn't go, so can't confirm this opinion.
(iv) Further on down, probably 20 minutes, on the right hand side is a little restaurant, all lit up in green neon, called Happy Island. Wednesdays and Sundays is kleftiko - lamb shank, and it basically falls off the bone. It is quite something.
(v) if you fancy a visit into the harbour (a taxi ride, or a hot long, walk, approx. 30 minutes), we found a small restaurant called The Seagull, near to where the harbour wall starts - it's on the same side of the road as Pizza Hut, but further down towards the Harbour, at a junction. The mixed seafood plate was beautiful here, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The weather was hot, hot, hot! The pools got very warm, like bath water - don't forget the indoor pool, as they hadn't put the heating on - it was beautifully refreshing!! You can't fault Paphos for its weather, that's for sure, especially when at home our house had experienced flooding and no mains water - we were much better off being spoiled at the Athena Royal! Already looking at dates for next year - want to join us?!

  • Liked — No children, friendly staff
  • Disliked — beach is not great
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Joey41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2007

Just got back from our honeymoon in Paphos, The Athena Royal Beach, the hotel is fantastic. Could not fault the hotel in any way. Rooms are spotless , service is excellent, pool and sunbeds are perfect (no kids which is a plus!) and food in all the restaurants is very good, especially breakfast. Couldn't fault it for choice or quality (bucks fizz every morning if you want, and chef on hand to cook your eggs exactly as you like them!)

Near the hotel you have a range of restaurants and bars. We ate in quite a few of them. If you want to eat out and have some fantastic food and a good laugh (the Manager is extremely entertaining) then go to the Sunbow Restaurant. Turn left out of the hotel, go to the top of the road and turn right. It is just down on the right-hand side. About a ten minute walk. We also recommend the Porto Bello. On the way to the harbour area this is a lovely restaurant with quick and friendly service at a very good price! Also, Opus, just across from the hotel on the corner. This restaurant is lovely. Great food, quick service and plenty of choice on the menu. Fantastic!

One restaurant NOT to go to is the Porta Romana. Awful. Service was ok but the food was absoultely disgusting. I would not recommend this place.
Paphos waterpark is absolutely fantastic!!! It is a bit more to get into than other waterparks but you do not need to pay for additional rides!! Great day out!!
The Spa is out of this world. I would recommend either the Aromotherapy or De-stress massage with Christina!! Heaven!!


The hotel is situated in KATO Paphos which is about a 20 minute walk to the harbour, Kato is the best place to stay , its quieter than the main resort but easily walkable.

if you want a good value , high quality hotel in Paphos you could not beat The Athena Royal!!

  • Liked — The staff were excellent. Very friendly and attentive. The laid back, relaxing atmosphere!!
  • Disliked — Everything was great!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank louhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

We love the greek islands so we thought we would give Cyprus a try, and while we had a lovely holiday - we will not be going back.

The Hotel was OK but a bit of a let down

Good things about the hotel
-Adults only!!! A few teenagers but definatly aimed at people who want a relaxing holiday

- the space per sun lounger - really very good compared to some other hotels on the sea front

- the view (we did upgrade to a full sea view and a larger room)

- the room's and communal areas are clean and tidy (although we did see a cockroach when we went down a wrong staircase)

- the cleaning staff are lovely and are always smiling

Bad things about the hotel

It is VERY expensive for what it is

-the rooms are dated and small (even the so-called larger ones) there is not enough space to put your suitcases the bathrooms are quite small the bath was very narrow and the furniture was tired looking.

-the entertainment - although they try very hard, it falls short of the mark mainly because the clientele aren't interested

-the entertainment features twice in the bad things as entertainment in the pool area right outside our balcony went on till late. Only a few few people were there and we couldn't get any sleep until after it had finished which was exceptionally frustrating. This happened on 4 nights of our 2 week holiday

As for the resort, it has lost it's charm... if you walk around some of the streets which are behind the main harbour you will find huge restaurants empty because they are coming 2nd to McDonalds and KFC - it is so sad.
The Harbour area is overpriced and while the view is lovely, they don't have towork as hard on their food.......

SO - the hotel is fine but overpriced for what you get and defiantely reminds me of a place where for a conference it wouldn't be bad but for a holiday, not perfect. And steer clear of the harbour for food, it looks lovely during the day but at night, there isn't really a view, you are packed in and the food and service is not as good as out of town where they fight for you money with every dish - cheaper and tastier and lovely people

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — NO beach
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank DorisBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

I can honestly say that this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The hotel is new and spotlessly clean throughout. The staff are friendly and attentive and speak excellent English.

Breakfast and evening meals are served 'buffet' style and the food was varied and of a very high standard. At breakfast chefs were on hand to cook eggs of every variety while you waited. I cannot think of anything that was missing from the breakfast buffet.

There is a lunchtime poolside bistro serving a variety of meals and drinks.

Each evening meal has a different theme (e.g. Italian, Far East, Carvery etc). Again the food was of an extremely high standard. You can sit outside (weather permitting) to eat your meals.

Snacks and drinks (including wine with the evening meal) were all reasonably priced - especially considering this it is a 4 star hotel.

The rooms are equipped with fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and a safe (no fee). There was even an iron and ironing board. Only slight grumble is that the rooms are a bit on the small side, although the balconies are good and there are two comfy chairs in the room.

All in all a superb hotel and I would certainly return if going back to Paphos. I cannot really think of anything negative to say.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Rooms are a bit small
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank LittleAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

My husband and I have just spent a week at the Royal Athena Beach hotel and as always, we read the reviews before we finally booked. I think this hotel only just makes a low 4*.

Although the hotel was very clean and the staff polite, it really does have something missing. Certainly not an ideal beach location because of the rocks so you were unable to walk along any stretch of beach. Not the same sunbathing on the grass in the hotel grounds. We only ate in the hotel twice but I would imagine the food is very repetitive. We stayed for the BBQ night but I have had many better BBQs elswhere.

I think the hotel needs to liven up the atmosphere - some music by the beach bar might help. There was a total mix of people age wise but the hotel was dead after 10.00 - I have no idea where everyone went.

All in all I would say that if you are not bothered about talking to anyone else, don't want any kind of entertainment and like to go to bed early, then you would be OK here but it is not for us and we wouldn't go back. Give me the Caribbean any day!

We are not newcomers to Cyprus - usually staying at the Nissi Beach Hotel which is lovely but I wasn't impressed with Paphos.

One good tip though - if you want to eat out and have some fantastic food and a good laugh (the Manager is extremely entertaining) then go to the Sunbow Restaurant. Turn left out of the hotel, go to the top of the road and turn right. It is just down on the right-hand side. About a ten minute walk. We had 2 excellent steaks there.

  • Liked — friiendly staff
  • Disliked — no atmosphere, needs to get things going more otherwise it will turn into a retirement home
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank smbderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#16 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#20 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#9 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#21 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Bookcyprus.com, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing