We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel - Well worth a stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
HUDDERSFIELD, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Well worth a stay.”
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed at the Athena Royal Beach Hotel in the last week of June and first week of July.

We were very impressed with this hotel which was spotlessly clean and had aircon in the reception, corridors and the rooms.

We booked a sea view room which was ready for us straight away and as it was our wedding aniversary we were presented with a bottle of champagne on ice within minutes of getting to our room, which was a nice touch.

We opted for bed and breakfast and didn't find a shortage of places to eat nearby. The breakfast was excellent and catered for every taste.

It was peaceful around the pool all day, very relaxing. There was never a shortage of sun loungers and parasols no matter what time you went out. The hotel provides pool towels everyday as well.

The room had a fridge, iron, hair dryer, safe, TV, all included in the price, and was cleaned everyday with fresh towels every day.

We would reccomend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing time on holiday and will most certainly be returning next year. There were people of all ages from their 20's all the way up......

All of the staff were helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for you.

Well worth a stay.

  • Liked — Very quiet and relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVE1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    226
    67
    20
    18
See reviews for
90
1,130
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 week honeymoon at the Athena Royal. The hotel was everything we were expecting and the kid-free environment made it the perfect place to relax and recover from the busy months of wedding planning.

We let the hotel know in advance that it was our honeymoon and on arrival we had a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and petals on the bed, they had also made the bed into a double by adding a super-comfortable pillow top matress cover over the 2 twins, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in at a hotel by far!

We had booked a land view room and were hoping for an upgrade with it being our honeymoon. We didn't get this unfortunately but from what we saw the land/sea view rooms were a lot bigger than the side-sea view rooms and the land view was very pleasant. We looked out to the mountains and we experienced very little noise from the road or car park.

The pool area is very clean and the poolside cafe offers a range of basic snacks (toasties, omelette etc). We never made it to the pool much before 2pm yet never struggled to find sunbeds in a quiet spot with an umbrella.

Our only negative was the distance to the town. There are nice restaurants and bars close by to the hotel but to get to the main bar street or harbour it is a good 20-30 min walk. We often stopped half-way at the restaurant les Amis which did a lovely dinner.

Paphos nightlife suited us perfectly as a younger couple too. Bar Street is a strip of bars playing music and offering free shots, 2 for 1 on drinks etc, and there are a few clubs too. This area can easily be avoided though if you prefer a quieter nite! Paphos is a good place for a mix of different evenings. And the Athena was the perfect place to sleep off the hangover in the peaceful gardens the next day!

  • Liked — Being kid-free it was so quiet and relaxing
  • Disliked — Breakfast finished way too early at 10am
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirstyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

I booked this hotel as a result of its rating here and was not dissapointed. This really is a very peaceful and professionally run hotel, with friendly helpful staff and an excellent location.

The only thing I didn't really like was the pool due to the fact that it had no deep end, it was too warm and they didn't allow inflatables - this is a small nitpick I guess, especially considering you're next to the sea that has an inflatable jetty where you can swim - plus there's an indoor pool!

the food here is very good, we only stayed bed and breakfast but the choice was excellent, omlettes/crepes made to order fruit ceral etc etc even champangne. Strangely, they deep fry the bacon though which was a little dissapointing.

All in all though, this is a really top notch establishment , the above nitpicks are just minor quibbles that knocked a mark off,.

P.S. the air conditioning in the room is superb, it feels like a fridge after 35deg heat - excellent.

  • Liked — Air Conditioning, Location, Service and food everthing except....
  • Disliked — The pool and the deep fried bacon
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Just returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel with my wife. We booked the hotel purely on the basis of the trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed.

Very clean, great service from staff and breakfasts fantastic with a wide range of foods. Excellent happy hour every night of the week with some great cocktails all at very reasonable prices.

Only drawback being the buffet dinner which was a bit bland at times and we ended up going down to the harbour for dinner after a few nights.

Overall, very quiet and peaceful hotel great for a relaxing week in the sun! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon at the Athena Royal Beach Hotel. On discovering that we had just got married, they arranged some towels in the form of swans kissing which were left on our bed, and a bottle of champagne on ice on the table by the balcony. It was a lovely touch!

The people that work at the hotel went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable, and we had some very nice chats with the women working at the bar or on reception.

The cleanliness of the hotel was great and our room was cleaned and made up every day. The beach is good, and just sitting on the loungers, under a parasol, reading a book is perfect. Really recommend the outside swimming pool and the Traditional Cyprus night, where they had traditional cypriot music, dancing, and a buffet of cypriot food. Was great!

Strongly recommend to anyone looking for a good hotel!

  • Liked — Superb views
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

After checking the reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to book the Athena Royal. We were not disappointed. Yes, the rooms and bathrooms are on the small side, and the balcony only just had room for a small table and two chairs but it was always spotlessly clean and we appreciated the use of the fridge in the room.

We stayed for a week on a B&B basis and it was lovely to eat breakfast on the terrace and start the day with a Bucks Fizz. There was plenty of choice from the buffet and eggs/omelettes cooked to order. A previous reviewer indicated there was only hot milk available which is not true. There were also jugs of cold milk, even skimmed milk was in the healthy option corner.

The whole pool area is very nice though we did think the sunbeds were packed in a bit. Much better to sunbathe in the gardens where the beds were set in two's with plenty of space around and most seemed to have a sun umbrella too. There was quite often a sea breeze there which didn't always reach the sheltered pool area. No matter what time of day there always seemed to be plenty of sunbeds not being used. With no children around the whole place was very peaceful.

The hotel is very well situated for bars and restaurants. There is a great selection covering all budgets. We especially liked Gabor, which is very close, and Happy Island which is a bit further to walk. In fact we didn't have a bad meal all week.

The entertainment in the evening was not really to our taste but having said that, we are not great fans of hotel acts anyway. It was very 'middle of the road'.

We would definitely use this hotel again but not for our main 2 week holiday. For us, a week is just perfect

One word of warning. There is a small bottle of red wine in the room on your arrival. A corkscrew is provided but it is a very basic one. Oh what fun we had as two women used to idiot proof corkscrews at home tried to tackle the impossible. We left a note for housekeeping the next day who kindly removed the cork for us! Next time we will take our own corkscrew.

A very good holiday.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank cwyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

This reviewer always strives to be even-handed, but when it comes to the Athena Royal Beach it is impossible to find anything to criticise - even mildly - about the hotel. It is a beauttiful place in an attractive and convenient location; the public facilities and bedrooms are of high quality; the food is excellent; the staff are attentive, professional and provide a genuine and continuing welcome. The Constantinou Brothers have very shrewdly judged their largely mature, largely (but not exclusively) British clientele. It is a place for quiet and children-free days around the three swimming pools, a good dinner in the evening with occasional light entertainment, and to bed with no noise to disturb an early night. If you are a person of a certain age to whom this scenario appeals, you will love it. And it you want rather more than a relaxing quiet time, the hotel is within easy walking distance of bars, restaurants and shops. The only downside at present - nothing to do with the hotel and not close to it - is that the pleasant seaside walk to Paphos Harbour is marred by building work that never seems to get finished.

  • Liked — All-round high quality
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank EurotravellerChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 88 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
0.8 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#20 of 88 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#10 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#21 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing