We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel not so the resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
north west england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved the hotel not so the resort”
Reviewed May 30, 2008

We were very satisfied with the Athena Royal Beach.
The gardens and pool area are great with plenty of sunbeds with parasols, and plenty of room between the sun beds.
No children and no loud music made for a very relaxing holiday.
The rooms are planned very well and have facilities not always found in european hotels such as tea making facilities and ironing board.
The hotels buffet restaurant was very good and we also enjoyed a meal in the al a carte restaurant.
The so called Cypriot restaurants around the hotel were disappointing but would agree with previous reviews that Gabor and Cavallinis were very good.
However, much as we enjoyed The Athena Royal Beach we found Paphos and the surrounding area left a lot to be desired.
We only holiday for a week so our hire car is usually used to seek out nice beaches and to find somewhere different for lunch rather than lengthy sightseeing, but we failed to find either a quality beach or taverna anywhere within a hours drive.
Paphos harbour area was admittedly under renovation at the time of our visit but the harbour restaurants were poor and the shopping non-existent.
Clearly I had not read between the lines in the brochures but I really had expected Paphos to be more "Greek" and was very disappointed. Even supposedly tourist traps on the Spanish Costas often have a quaint old town area and nice beaches.
In conclusion its a pity the Athena Royal Beach isn't somewhere else because it is a great hotel in the wrong place

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds/pool area and relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    227
    68
    20
    18
See reviews for
90
1,143
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

We chose the Athena Royal on the basis of the Trip Advisor reports - and were not disappointed. The hotel was very pleasant, and very well situated for access to the restaurants and bars of the "triangle". We eat out every night of our stay - there are some great restaurants nearby. In particular, the French Restaurant (Gabor) was REALLY excellent - and the Italian one beneath it nearly as good. The Cypriot restaurant immediately next door was also very recommendable.

If you have a choice, I would pay extra for a room facing the sea. The rooms at the back suffered a bit from traffic noise at night.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No aircon in April
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geoffhailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

I cannot believe the previous review! My husband and I also stayed at the Athena Royal for two weeks from April 23rd and we honestly cannot find a bad word to say about it. Our experience was vastly different from the previous reviewer.

We were married at the hotel on April 30th and the staff there did everything possible to ensure our special day was perfect- and it was! Nicoletta, the Guest Relations Manager was fantastic and made us feel like celebrities! Nothing was too much trouble and we will always have happy memories of our wedding and honeymoon.

We are in our late forties but still think we are 25 and would recommend the hotel to any like minded holiday makers. Sure, the first week there were a lot of older people but that was due to it being the last week of the winter season and a gorup of ballroom dancers were staying at the hotel. They were good fun though, and a couple of then gave us a bottle of Baileys to celebrate our big day!

There was a much younger crowd the second week, a lot of whom were repeat visitors. Everyone we spoke to praised the hotel and its' staff and some had already booked their next visit.

We were on bed and breadkast but ate at the hotel twice in the evening and just cannot fault the food. Champagne for breakfast every day, lots of choice of hot and cold food, with omelettes, eggs, bacon, crepes all being cooked to order. On our wedding night we ate in the Aphrodite A la Carte restaurant and had a fabulous meal.

We also like eating out and can recommend the following restaurants nearby: Cavallinis for a romantic Italian meal, Plaka for traditional Cypriot food and a great atmosphere, and Paco loco which is a new Mexican just opposite the hotel.

To say that Pphos has no culture is just laughable. The Tombs of the Kings, Aphrodite's Rock and the Mosaics are all close by. We hired a car and drove to Pissouri, Polis and Coral Bay. The harbour area in Paphos is currently undergoing a facelift and will be finished soon.

If you like karaoke nights, bingo, organised activities by the pool then the Athena Royal is not for you. However, if you prefer a peaceful relaxing atmosphere, attentive staff, great food and a stunning location then this will be you perfect hotel I would rate it as 5 star and not just because we had our wedding here. All guests were treated the same. We will definitely go back! I cannot recommend it highly enough

If you would like to ask me any questions about the hotel please feel free to get in touch.

  • Liked — Relaxing atmosphere, lovely staff, great location
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Goodegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

I took my mum to the Athena Royal beach for her birthday and we just had the best time.
We knew it would be pretty quiet and no kids which was perfect for us, we had a sea view room and air conditioning which was working in April!!!!!!
The weather was fabulous, well into the late 80's every day and not a cloud in the sky.
The management were brilliant and my mum was treated exceptionally on her birthday, free champagne and wine and balloons on the room door, she loved it.
Im only 28 and although I knew there would not be much nightlife, evening entertainment at the hotel would have been nice as there really wasnt much to do but overall the holiday was fantastic and I would definatley recommend it and I would go there again.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank Tara21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

This is a top-class hotel with excellent staff, lovely rooms and fabulous food. If you decide to holiday at the Athena Royal Beach you won't be disappointed.

Me and my friend specifically booked this hotel as we had stayed at the sister hotel before and quite fancied an adults only experience. It's very quiet and relaxed both in the day and at night. If you want bars and nightlife then it is all on the doorstep but what bliss to come back to calm and quiet without the adorable screeching of someone elses little darlings.

So much choice in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner that we didn't bother to eat anywhere else and having been to Cyprus many times we know a fair few excellent places but the hotel catered for us both very well. A little too well where the puddings were concerned.

The rooms were a nice size with a fridge, tea and coffee, kettle, iron and board, slippers and a robe and a free safe. Bottle of water, fruit and wine on arrival was another nice touch. Everything we wanted was there.

Entertainment at night was so so but isn't it everywhere? Drinks were reasonably priced 5 euros a cocktail and we sampled several. Spa was lovely but was a bit pricey but then you are on holiday so why not .

The staff couldn't do enough for you here. After "breaking" the safe it was sorted quickly and efficiently. Special note that the young lad who gets your pool drinks is lovely and he walks around in that heat all day.

Not sure if it was my imagination or not but the majority of the staff here are also very good looking. Nice to have a bit of eyecandy on your hols.

Just go and have a great time, I'll definately be back.

  • Liked — All of it, one of the best holidays ever.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KathyLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

My sister and I have just returned from a week in athena royale beach, whilst the staff are very helpful and friendly, the average age of guests is 70 and by 9pm everyone had gone to bed! The night time entertainment was not very good so probably that is why everyone had an early night!
Although the food was ok the variety was poor, even on a themed night the starters/puddings were always the same!
Although the hotel was kept clean I would not rate it a 4 star plus hotel. The main reception area/bars are ok but the carpets in the corridors are shabby and the rooms themselves need updating, especially the bath rooms. Whilst it is a child free zone, which is why we chose the hotel, we would have apprecaited something a bit more livelier, we have nothing against being over 70 it just meant our break was rather quieter than we had anticipated!
Paphos itself was a disappointment, if you like british pubs with all day breakfasts and time share touts you will love it, but if you are after some culture/change of scenery forget it. The hotel is also in the flight path so its gets very noisy from mid morning.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MagsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2008

Hotel as shown in brochures.
Very clean with excellent helpful staff especially front desk and the 2 Florins in dining room.
Food edible if unimaginative would benefit from less choice and better presentation however good value for money breakfast best meal.
Surrounding area uninspiring with beer and football taking preference over any great culinary showing, lack of local feel and no golden beaches.
Agree with previous reviewer Frank & Trixie were a nightmare with their followers.
Age profile dropped during stay but initially was more nursing home with bowls & Sequence dancing.
The beach area ,swimming pools, ahd gardens were very well maintained and peaceful with good supply of sunbeds and umberellas.

  • Liked — Beach front position
  • Disliked — Lack of atmosphere in dining room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank John080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 88 in Paphos
2,572 reviews
0.8 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#19 of 88 in Paphos
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#10 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#21 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Bookcyprus.com and HRS so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing