We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

This is a top-class hotel with excellent staff, lovely rooms and fabulous food. If you decide to holiday at the Athena Royal Beach you won't be disappointed.

Me and my friend specifically booked this hotel as we had stayed at the sister hotel before and quite fancied an adults only experience. It's very quiet and relaxed both in the day and at night. If you want bars and nightlife then it is all on the doorstep but what bliss to come back to calm and quiet without the adorable screeching of someone elses little darlings.

So much choice in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner that we didn't bother to eat anywhere else and having been to Cyprus many times we know a fair few excellent places but the hotel catered for us both very well. A little too well where the puddings were concerned.

The rooms were a nice size with a fridge, tea and coffee, kettle, iron and board, slippers and a robe and a free safe. Bottle of water, fruit and wine on arrival was another nice touch. Everything we wanted was there.

Entertainment at night was so so but isn't it everywhere? Drinks were reasonably priced 5 euros a cocktail and we sampled several. Spa was lovely but was a bit pricey but then you are on holiday so why not .

The staff couldn't do enough for you here. After "breaking" the safe it was sorted quickly and efficiently. Special note that the young lad who gets your pool drinks is lovely and he walks around in that heat all day.

Not sure if it was my imagination or not but the majority of the staff here are also very good looking. Nice to have a bit of eyecandy on your hols.

Just go and have a great time, I'll definately be back.

  • Liked — All of it, one of the best holidays ever.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KathyLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    219
    63
    18
    17
See reviews for
86
1,102
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2008

My sister and I have just returned from a week in athena royale beach, whilst the staff are very helpful and friendly, the average age of guests is 70 and by 9pm everyone had gone to bed! The night time entertainment was not very good so probably that is why everyone had an early night!
Although the food was ok the variety was poor, even on a themed night the starters/puddings were always the same!
Although the hotel was kept clean I would not rate it a 4 star plus hotel. The main reception area/bars are ok but the carpets in the corridors are shabby and the rooms themselves need updating, especially the bath rooms. Whilst it is a child free zone, which is why we chose the hotel, we would have apprecaited something a bit more livelier, we have nothing against being over 70 it just meant our break was rather quieter than we had anticipated!
Paphos itself was a disappointment, if you like british pubs with all day breakfasts and time share touts you will love it, but if you are after some culture/change of scenery forget it. The hotel is also in the flight path so its gets very noisy from mid morning.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MagsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

Hotel as shown in brochures.
Very clean with excellent helpful staff especially front desk and the 2 Florins in dining room.
Food edible if unimaginative would benefit from less choice and better presentation however good value for money breakfast best meal.
Surrounding area uninspiring with beer and football taking preference over any great culinary showing, lack of local feel and no golden beaches.
Agree with previous reviewer Frank & Trixie were a nightmare with their followers.
Age profile dropped during stay but initially was more nursing home with bowls & Sequence dancing.
The beach area ,swimming pools, ahd gardens were very well maintained and peaceful with good supply of sunbeds and umberellas.

  • Liked — Beach front position
  • Disliked — Lack of atmosphere in dining room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank John080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2008

Returning to the hotel for a second time, it was nice to see that it was every bit as spacious, comfortable, beautifully situated, and well-run as we remembered it to be. The service is attentive and the front-line management outstanding. All this and no kids! Magic.
But before rushing to book, a couple of words of caution that you will search for in vain in the brochures.
First, avoid April. No matter how high the temperature climbs -and while we were there low 30s was not uncommon- THERE WILL BE NO AIR-CONDITIONING.!! It's never switched on before the first of May. Amazing in such a quality establishment, but it's got something to do with a local agreement within the Paphos area. The shops are no better.
Second, this could just about be lived with if it were not for another particularly unwelcome development. Forced out on your balcony by the stifling heat in your otherwise lovely room, or maybe just wanting to sit out and soak up the atmosphereof this magic place, what is the sound that most fills the air? Is it the gentle lapping of the warm waters of the Eastern Mediterranean on the rocks below? Or maybe the playful calls of the night birds as they dart from palm to palm in the lovely gardens at your feet? Or maybe the rhythm of a playful bouzouki borne on the night breeze from a distant taverna wedding party? Forget it! They're all drowned out by the sound of a ballroom organ beating out " Let me call you sweetheart" ,or some such., so that a pair of sorts called Frank and Trixie (yes, really) can give a sad legion of sequence dance junkies their nightly fix. What is it with these people that they so want to spend their money turning one of the most lovely spots on "Aphrodite's Island" into a fair imitation of the Royal British Legion Hall, Smethwick.?
The only coping mechanism I can recommend is to get a room on the west side of the hotel. Here you are as far removed from the offending function room as is possible, and can look forward to
a) getting full value for your balcony
b) better sleep
c) not developing an irrestible urge to chop Frank's organ into a thousand little pieces. (without anaesthetic).
d) shaving a few bob off the room rate

All the rave reviews of this hotel are, in every other respect, well merited. By day it's heaven, but by night, (thanks to Frank's organ, and especially in April), it's hell. Such a shame, but unless something changes, we won't be going back for a third time.
Jock Scott

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — night noise
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank kilroyracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

The only gripe we had about tthis hotel was that we booked a sea view room through Expedia but on arrival were told that a sea view room was not available which was very disappointing. After trying to move us to the hotel next door (nowhere near the same quality) we finally agreed a deal with the hotel which I have to say they handled extremely well. So, if you book something specific through Expedia, check that with the hotel also before you go.

That gripe aside, this is a wonderful hotel in a lovely location. The good points for us were as follows:

1. No children, which made for a very peaceful stay (not being being mean but...)
2. Great facilities - 3 pools - indoor pool (outdoor pool is chilly), pool, table tennis, lovely bar areas, happy hour cocktails 6-7pm.
3. Close to the town but not too close - the main town is about 20 minutes (walk) away
4. Good restauarants nearby. We found two lovely local restaurants that were in a different league to any that we found in town or near the harbour (which are touristy restaurants). Come out of the hotel and turn left - about 3 minutes walk and you will come across an Italian called Cavallinis which was fabulous. Turn right out of the hotel and 5-10 mins walk away on the other side is another beautiful Italian (upstairs) - can't remember the name but it's also beautiful.
5. The staff - the general hotel staff are very welcoming and friendly, which really made for a lovely stay.

Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel - would recommend the sea view rooms though as the view is great.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank KKJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Athena Royal Beach Hotel where we had a superb time . The staff were all very friendly and helpful facilitating a relaxing holiday . The Hotel ,Pools and groungs are well designed and kept spotless.

Overall I would say this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in on holiday and my wife is extremely fussy! We like going out for the day , but there were quite a number of activities on hand in the Hotel.

It is more suited to the middle aged to older generations. We had a sea view room which ovelooks the pools and the sea , though there is not much of a beach .

Word of warning ,we had one evening meal in the restaurant just outside the Hotel across the road . The quality of the food was not to be recommended , they could not even cook an omelete properly, let alone calamares.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank acoustico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birstall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

What can I say, another fantastic week at this hotel. The staff, especially Nicoleta cannot do enough for you.

The hotel room was very clean and had everything in one would want with a pool and sea view which was specifically requested by e mail (at an extra cost).

The pool and surrounding areas are very clean and spacious. There are three out door pools and a heated in door pool.

Restaurants all excellent altough we personally love the al a carte, particularly Flambe Night. Ronnie does the flambe and the steak was cooked to perfection, exactly as requested.

Situated within easy access of shops, restaurants, bars and with a lovely sea front setting. The hotel is relatively quiet and would recommend for persons of 40 years or over looking for a quality hotel for a relaxing holiday.

CANT WAIT TO RETURN IN JUNE 2008 !!!

  • Liked — Quality and service
  • Disliked — Having to come home
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank johnBirstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.5 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#18 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#9 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#21 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HRS, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing