We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but.........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2007

My wife and I , who are both in our 60's, stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in November 2007, we found it very clean, excellent food choice at very reasonable rates and the staff were fantastic, very friendly and efficient, but, we had an inland view room which was very noisy from the traffic and worst of all, the guy who vacumed the bowls green every morning starting at 07.00 !!! whilst i appreciate that we could have booked a sea view room at the back of the hotel, it is our opinion that no one should have to do this in order to enjoy relative peace and quiet and surely, in todays enviroment, double glazing should be a must to ensure this, our other minor niggle, was their interpretation of what constitutes a beach, it certainly does not compare to anything we have in Cornwall, although this wasn't a problem for us, others may be disappointed.Overall, a very relaxing 2 weeks holiday, made even better by the glorious weather.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank keithCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,436 - 1,442 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2007

We have just returned from a 6 day stay at the Athena Royal Beach Hotel which was as good as all the reviews stated. We looked through all the reviews of other hotels in the area and this was the only one that didn't have any bad comments.

After a very delayed start to our holiday, we arrived at 04.00 in the morning to be greeted by a charming night porter who couldn't have been more helpful. As we didn't heed the advice of previous visitors to this hotel to pre-book a sea-view room, we were given a mountain view 1st floor room which was OK in itself but overlooked the car park and road at the front of the hotel, therefore very noisy when the coaches arrived. Also the room was a smoking one so smelt of cigarettes.

We asked the receptionist the next morning if we could upgrade our room to a sea view one, which was done without any fuss straight away. We would recommend you ask for a sea view room on the third floor (numbered in the low 300's) when booking (although more expensive) as it is definitely nicer to wake up looking at the sea. Also you get the sun on the balcony in the mornings.

The hotel is spotless, with very helpful and friendly staff from the front desk to the waiters/waitresses in the dining rooms. It is in a very good location, with a 30 minute walk to the harbour.

The only observations we would make is that the 'evening entertainment' is extremely poor and as it is a child free hotel, the clientele are mainly over 50 years of age. So if you are looking for a very lively stay, this isn't the place for you.

A mention must be for the very helpful Olympic Holidays rep, Kirsty.

Would definitely go back again

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank bradexch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

The hotel really is beautiful, the food is great, the staff are friendly but this hotel feels like a nursing home rather than a resort. The average age of the guests is probably somewhere between 50 to 70. I think it has been mentioned in a review before but come 10pm this place is completely dead! There are daily events like garden bowling and bridge but these won't exactly spice the place up.

Also I'm not sure about the beach part in the hotel name, I wouldn't call the area of rock that separates the sea from the hotel a beach but this seems to be a common problem with the hotels in Paphos. If you really want a beach take the bus to Coral Bay which is a really good beach.

Personally I wouldn't go back to Paphos. If you want the UK abroad with more sun, then yes go but its not for me. Lots of tourists, everyone speaks english, english breakfast in all the cafes.
When I go abroad I want to see someplace different, taste different food and really feel like I'm away from home. You just don't get this in Paphos.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank PatOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

This hotel gets top marks ... from checking in until leaving , it seemed everthing had been thought of & the staff were all extremely friendly.
The room was spotlessly cleaned each day & had a terrific view of the sea.
There was ample food to chose from in the main restaurant ,We also tried the a la carte one which was very good as well , but they just need to reword the menu & not have frozen after each dish - which tends to put people off !
The Oasis pool bar serves up some simple snacks too - the burger was extremely tasty.
Possibly beware of room service for breakfast - no matter what we ordered , we still ended up with everything ! not a problem , but only so much yoghurt you can eat ..
The evening entertainment was provided by a couple -( she sings & he sabotages the songs for her ) was that bad it was worth watching ! ... & there was Elvis night which was very good , the chap worked his butt off !! well done !!
The gardens were lovely , loads of sun beds & a couple of semi tame hawks to boot... plus the odd wedding thrown in to watch..
Nearby about 100m upstairs on the left is the Gabor french restaurant - this food is totally stunning and magnificent (- Friday & Saturday gets over busy though.)
Also nearby is the Oleastro - which is a fabulous modern looking place whith great Greek food & friendly staff .
I would warn against the Indian further down - they use the same kitchens as the Rib Shack next door , so the curries use the same marinade , just with more chilli !
Would we go back ? .. certainly ... it was so peacefull & chilled out.....loved the cocktails on the terrace as the sun went down.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank TonyCi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2007

This is our third visit to the Athena Royal Beach and we cannot praise the hotel enough. Every aspect of the hotel is excellent The hotel policy of not accepting children under sixteen makes a vast difference leading to calm and tranquiity.We always book a sea view room and it is well worth the extra. The rooms are quite big with a welcome bottle of wine and a bowl of fruit on arrival.The rooms also contain fridges, safes, hairdryers irons and great fluffy dressing gown and slippers for your use. The choice of food and restaurants in the hotel is excellent as are all the facilities including three pools (one indoor) gym, spa, bowling greens and pitch and putt course.Plenty of towels are available for the sun beds st in grassed areas and only steps away from the sea It really is a superb hotel and we will definitely be going back again

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank HalifaxPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

My wife and I have just returned from a one week stay at The Athena Royal Beach, which to say the least was "eventfull" (no fault of the hotel).
The Hotel is first class, with lovely surroundings and plenty of sun beds etc. We stayed on B&B and the breakfast was superb. We found some very good restaurants very close to the hotel, with "Restaurant Opus" probably being one of the best (out of the hotel, left, 50 yards on opposite side of road. Lots of places to eat between hotel and harbour. Unfortunately whilst there, we both had a severe sickness & dihorea virus (caught on the plane on the way out) and had to spend 2 nights in hospital. The level of care was out of this world and put our NHS to shame, if ever you fall ill in Paphos, ask to be taken to Royal Artemis Medical Centre ! Despite our illness we will definately return to Paphos and would not hesitate at staying in The Athena Royal Beach.

Stayed: October 2007
10  Thank wraiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2007

We stayed B&B for 2 weeks at this wonderful hotel. The design of all the public areas of the hotel make it feel spacious even when the hotel is full. There are plenty of sun loungers and the really nice thing is that they aren’t packed close together in rows. We had one of the rooms at the front of the hotel which was large and very comfortable and as the hotel stands well back from the main road there was no traffic noise. The really nice thing is the fridge and the tea/coffee making facilities in the room plus water, fruit and red wine on arrival. The adults only policy of the hotel is a refreshing change and therefore one could relax in very pleasant surroundings. The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout and all the staff were very helpful, friendly and yet professional in giving an excellent service. The buffet breakfast was good and there was always Champagne if you wanted it. There is very little evening entertainment in the hotel but that suited us, the hotel is a relaxing place so don’t come here if you are after loud parties!

The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Paphos about 1.5 miles from the harbour but there are plenty of bars and restaurants about 10 minutes walk away. We found Ficardo’s Restaurant particularly good. It’s just beyond the group of 7 restaraunts. There are many small Supermarkets close to the hotel but the biggest one is a 5 minute walk to the right as you come out of the front entrance.

All the hotels in Paphos are close to the airport but it’s not noisy and generally the planes come in and go out over the sea so they don’t bother you at all. We flew in on a Monday and found this to be one of the quiet days and therefore had no problems with queues or finding somewhere to sit.

Although officially rated as a 4* hotel we felt that it was much nearer 5. This is a hotel to which we would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Hampshire_TravelHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,874 reviews
0.8 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#10 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#21 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $73 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing