We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude waitress sacked following incidents of poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Stayed at this hotel on a bed and breakfast basis for two weeks. First week very busy with many bowls parties. Breakfast experience not 4 star. Like dining in a busy train station. All self service resulting in a constant stream of traffic up and down. Coffee and hot water in vacuum jugs put out at 07.00, in many cases cold later. Hot beverages better from machines but this results in more traffic flow. Toaster - 1 cycle not toased, 2 cycles black and burnt. Described by returning guests as the same as last year.

At the end of first week incident of poor and rude service by assistant waitress at pool bar. We chose to try and ignore this, but a couple of days later she made us feel very uncomfortable by staring at us all the way through our breakfast. I spoke to the assistant manager who was very helpful and said she would speak to the staff member concerned. This staff member remained on duty for the rest of our holiday, not giving us any service around the pool area which ultimately saved us money as there are several good bars/restaurants within a couple of minutes walk offering more competitive prices. We also found the atmosphere and bar service at the Athena Beach hotel next door to be superior.

The day before leaving we received a 'standard' letter personally signed by the manager hoping that we had enjoyed our holiday, and going on to request an above average review in order to maintain his favourable rating. I sought out the manager, showed him the letter and asked him if he was aware of our recent problems which he was. I let him know that we would base our ratings on our overall experience. At worst the service was two star and at best three star. He did inform us that the waitress would be sacked - it is a shame that staff of junior nature have not had adequate training in customer care, and that support and supervision in the workplace is not evident.

Generally the staff are pleasant and helpful, and it a shame that one or two members let their team down. Housekeeping staff are to be commended as all areas of the hotel and grounds were pristine.

A pleasant walk down to the harbour ( 20 mins for fit and brisk walkers). Be aware of pestering by time share touts. Also be aware of cyclists and mobility scooters on the walkway. If you are a keen swimmer - lovely sea swimming with locals in the mornings from about 07.00. Steps to get in and out and warm showers.

Do not miss the mosaics in the archeological park, take camera and hat because not much shelter from the sun. Also Tombs of the Kings worth a look.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank westham66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,545)
There are newer reviews for Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,207 - 1,213 of 1,545 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2011

Just spent another lovely week at the Athena Royal Beach Hotel, Paphos. Took advantage of the evening meal offer for B&B guests. The food was fantastic, especially on Gala Dinner Night. Really good value for money with an excellent choice. All the staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. Emailed prior to arrival to request a room on the top floor and they very kindly obliged. Lovely mountain view room, very clean & comfortable with great facilities. Already booked another week in April and an 11 day stay in October. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank themissus49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My husband and I both travel a lot for work and spend a lot of time in hotels. We are also lucky enough to take at least one holiday per year. I have stayed in hotels in all the big chains, some good some not so. Believe me then when I say that this hotel is in a class of its own. The staff without exception were polite, welcoming and professional. The impression given is that they take pride in their work and enjoy doing a good job.
Our room was a decent size and a few small touches made a lot of difference. The following were all provided free of charge in our room: fridge, safe, kettle and tea/coffee, iron and ironing board. These alone get your holiday off to a good start
The food and restaurants were excellent. I take on board the point made by a previous reviewer that the meals can be a bit 'samey', which can happen, but I think this is inevitable when working to a budget and a formula to provide a choice for all dietary requirements. Our experience was that there was a wide choice of quality food in served in an organised way.
The waiting staff in the bars and restaurants were efficient and very hard working. The tables in the restaurant were completely relaid, including cloths, after each use (which does not always happen in so called 4* hotels). And tables were not just relaid, they were relaid with precision! Everything was placed in exactly the same way on each table, logos on condiments and plates were aligned, cutlery laid in a specific pattern, regardless of who was doing this. It was fascinating to watch! This is clearly achieved through training and the fact that this hotel invests in its staff is obvious in all areas.
Too many times on previous holidays my husband and I have fled from the hotel bar when the bingo starts or the 'turn' comes on. That is if you can get a seat in the bar in the first place. At this hotel there are several smaller rooms near the bar & restaurant which are used for a variety of entertainments - quizes, DVDs, bingo, talks etc. This means the bar remains a peaceful place where you can still enjoy a pleasant drink and a chat. Other hotels - please take note. A lot of people will pay good money for this!
There are too many other good points to list. Suffice to say I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. I would go back tomorrow if I could and we're already saving up for our next visit

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kag&Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Arrived back on 19th Jan, it's quicker to say what i don't like about the hotel and staff, nothing ! it was fantastic, if you're reading this because you're thinling about staying there, don't hesitate any more, click that mouse then you can look forward to a brilliant stay. They make you feel very special and valued, and just do that little bit extra that you don't expect. and that's what made our stay there one to remember for the right reasons. And will be booking our next stay very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robohagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We were upgraded to this hotel as the one we had booked (Pioneer Beach) was being revamped and boy were we glad about that! Hotel is very nice, reminded me a bit of a cruise ship but that's no bad thing. Room was very high standard with a fantastic sea view, apparently it was a 'side sea view' but I consider it to have been a full view, we lost the sun in the late afternoon but simply moved to the sun-trap bar at that point! :-p Room had lots of nice extra touches which added to the quality feel. The only thing we would have changed would have been a newer flat screen TV! I loved the complimentary robes and slippers and the aircon/heating was very good and there was plenty of storage and both bath and pool towels are provided. We also loved the fact there's a fridge in the room, you can have it stocked as a mini-bar for extra cost but we just bought our own cans of beer and bottles of water from the hotel's shop.
The staff were simply brilliant, each and every one of them was friendly and helpful. Our room was originally set up as a twin but we moved the beds together (which made an enourmous king size) and housekeeping gave us bigger sheets for it. Reception were great and very helpful indeed. We also thought it was great that the manager keeps himself visable a lot of the time, and when reception was busy at one point he dealt with us himself so that we weren't kept waiting.
The only thing we were disappointed with at the hotel was the pricey wifi - if they had free wifi we'd want to live there!! (There's a cafe/bar just up the road that has free wifi though and free use of computers). The buffet breakfast was very well catered with a LOT of choice, we were staying B&B basis and filled up at breakfast so we didn't need to bother with lunch which saved us money! We had a few evening meals at the Royal and neighbouring Athena Beach hotel (the family one) and thought they were very good with lots of choice including local traditional dishes. We also made use of happy hour in the hotel bar 6-7pm and the family hotel's bar happy hour 7-8! A previous post mentions that there were children at the Royal - i think this was becasue the Athena Beach was due for a revamp, there were no children at the Royal when we stayed.
I made use of the spa three times and the treatments were great. We spent a few days on the sunloungers (yes in late December!) and it was very relaxing, with a nice view of the sea and the pool babbling away like a stream. The hotel gardens are very well kept and there's plenty of loungers and umbrellas.
As for Paphos itself it's a fantastic part of the island, the harbour area was fairly lively even though we were there out of season, we tried a few restaurants, and there's plenty of international cuisines to choose from, if you get the chance, and you have the appetite, go for a meze to try out greek cuisine. There's quite a few native cats around, i lost count most days, but they don't bother you if you don't bother them! Although i was evicted off of my sunlounger by one on one occassion!
If you get a chance and don't mind being jolted about book onto a jeep safari to Troodos (the hotel can arrange this) - it's a fantstic day out and you see a lot of the island that you wouldn't see otherwise.
The hotel can also book you transport to the airport if you're not travelling on a package deal, when we arrived a local taxi cost us 35 euros but though the hotel it was 30 and was a professional driver in a very nice mercedes! Local buses cost 1 euro regardless of how far you're going, beware they finish around 7/7.30pm out of season though and there's a sporadic bus service to/from the airport. The hotel is approx a 20 min walk into the harbour along the coastal path and is a particularly nice walk on a clear night where you can see many stars, and we witnessed a fantstic electric storm one day! Speaking of weather we had 1 day of rain over our fortnight stay, the rest was sunny and very warm, in the mid-20's.
Overall i can thoughly recommend Paphos and this hotel, or any of the Constantinou Bros hotels on the strip! I would certainly stay there again without hesitation. And no i'm not related to anyone involved with the hotel, I am a genuine very happy customer! :-D

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ArnoldTheCat939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Everything was 4 star about this hotel apart from the buffet dinner. At best food was lukewarm and very similar each night. Half way through our stay children arrived although we were guaranteed it was an adult only hotel. The staff were very well trained and always pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottieChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Stayed here just before Christmas and although it rained some days it was mostly warm and sunny. The hotel is clean and bright with friendly, helpful staff. They swept away my luggage as soon as I arrived and it was in my room before me. Greeted with a bottle of wine and a basket of grout, free safe, free fridge, dressing gown and slippers provided along with towels for indoor use and towels for the beach. Tea and coffee and the usual toiletries. The little shower cap boxes came with a free gift each day such as sewing repair set, emery boards etc. The little extras that make the difference. Hotel right on the beach, and I mean literally a few yards with a lovely path following the sea shore to Paphos Harbour, about half an hour's walk away. Plenty of pubs and restaurants within a stones throw but I opted for the upgrade offer and went half board for four nights for 55 euros. The food choice was excellent. I was on my own but there were several other singles and plenty of people to talk to. I used the gym every evening which was usually empty although several people used the indoor pool. TV in the room had news in English and Sky Movies and Gold and several sports channels. Great hotel and great week and luckily flew into Manchester which was about the only airport open.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bodlonfahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,742 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#16 of 85 in Paphos
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#9 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#21 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $76 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing