We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed October 19, 2007

We stayed B&B for 2 weeks at this wonderful hotel. The design of all the public areas of the hotel make it feel spacious even when the hotel is full. There are plenty of sun loungers and the really nice thing is that they aren’t packed close together in rows. We had one of the rooms at the front of the hotel which was large and very comfortable and as the hotel stands well back from the main road there was no traffic noise. The really nice thing is the fridge and the tea/coffee making facilities in the room plus water, fruit and red wine on arrival. The adults only policy of the hotel is a refreshing change and therefore one could relax in very pleasant surroundings. The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout and all the staff were very helpful, friendly and yet professional in giving an excellent service. The buffet breakfast was good and there was always Champagne if you wanted it. There is very little evening entertainment in the hotel but that suited us, the hotel is a relaxing place so don’t come here if you are after loud parties!

The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Paphos about 1.5 miles from the harbour but there are plenty of bars and restaurants about 10 minutes walk away. We found Ficardo’s Restaurant particularly good. It’s just beyond the group of 7 restaraunts. There are many small Supermarkets close to the hotel but the biggest one is a 5 minute walk to the right as you come out of the front entrance.

All the hotels in Paphos are close to the airport but it’s not noisy and generally the planes come in and go out over the sea so they don’t bother you at all. We flew in on a Monday and found this to be one of the quiet days and therefore had no problems with queues or finding somewhere to sit.

Although officially rated as a 4* hotel we felt that it was much nearer 5. This is a hotel to which we would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Hampshire_TravelHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,104
    226
    67
    20
    18
See reviews for
90
1,128
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2007

This was our third time in Paphos. My husband and I have just returned from a two week stay at the Athena Royal Beach hotel in Paphos. We chose it originally because we liked the idea of an adults only hotel and having read the reviews on this site we thought it was definately worth booking.

On arrival we saw that the reception area was very large with a bar going off to the left hand site with lots of comfy settees and armchairs. This led out on to a terrace which overlooked the pool and the sea. We checked in very quickly and our bags were taken to the room. We had booked a sea view which gave wonderful views of the pool and beach. We were a bit disappointed that we had two single beds but I rang reception and they came and made it into a double witihin about 15 mins. There was a wonderful deep fleecy matress protector which was just lovely and so soft to lay on. There was also a plate of fruit, a bottle of mineral water and a half bottle of red wine. The room was not the largest we have ever had but totally adequate. There is a big wardrobe and numerous drawer in units around the room. Coat hangers are in the wardrobe so you don't need to pack any. The aircon was fab and we found worked very well with the patio doors open too. This meant at night we could have the doors open listening to the sea but still had the benefit of a cool room. There is also a fridge which can be filled with what you want and a very powerful hairdryer in the drawer of the dressing table.

We went for a walk in the grounds. There is so much space and loads of sunbeds and therefore no need to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve one. Each pairing of beds had mattresses, a table and a parasol. This hotel and its sister next door (Athena Beach) share a setting for weddings. The first week it was busier for this than the second. Most couples get married from the Athena Beach (next door) and in fact we only saw one from ours. You always knew when the bride was going to appear as they play the wedding march and most of the female guests stroll from their sunbeds along the walkway to watch proceedings. My husband and I used to joke that the couple were coming away for a romantic intimate ceremony only to be watched by about 50 people standing behind the registrar.

We were booked on half board but did not see breakfast once as we tend to sleep in on holiday but enjoy our evening meals. We had lunch in the Olive Tree cafe overlooking the pool. There was a choice of sandwiches (cold and toasted), salad, jacket potatoes, hamburgers etc. Not a great amount of choice but more than enough to satisfy a hunger attack in the middle of the day. There is also the Olive Tree restaurant which again overlooks the pool and serves a greater choice of food but is much more expensive and we did not try this.

The dinner food was wonderful. Always a carvery with two choices of meat, lots of veg choices, a salad bar, soup station (again normally with two choices), cheese table and of course the desserts. I had to limit myself as otherwise I would have put on more weight than I did. The wine was very reasonably price and the service excellent. Each night we were greeted by a lady Maitre'd who remembered that we liked to sit outside on the terrace and required a smoking table for my hubby. She was very good.

It was our anniversary whilst we were there and I asked her to actually book us an outside table (just to make sure that we could sit outside on that night). When we got back to the room on our anniversary we had a congratulations message taped to the door with balloons and streamers. Inside was another compliment slip from the management with another bottle of wine and fruit. When we went to dinner she showed us to a table where the chairs had been covered with white cloth and was situated in a quieter area. It was lovely. We can only assume that she arranged for the balloons etc after I booked the table.

It was my birthday on the day after our anniversary and so we went out for a meal that night. Went to an italien restaurant just up the road from the hotel (turn left outside the hotel and it is about 50 metres down on the left hand side next to a french restaurant). It was very nice and worth a visit if you are on a bed & breakfast arrangement.

The hotel is very clean throughout. It only looks a few years old and therefore the decor is new looking. The bathroom is a bit small but very clean. Maid service every day and she left clean towels as well as pool towels. There are three pools (one is separated by a bit of a bridge). We sat at the other pool which is to the side. We always got a sunbed around the pool and never got down to the pool before 11 am.

I had three deep tissue back massages during my stay as my muscles felt tight in my neck. The spa is wonderful and Adela, the therapist, was excellent. You are taken to a changing room and given a bathrobe and slippers and then the actual treatment room was like a haven with a very comfortable treatment bed. There was a nice touch as well in that when you had your head in the hole on the bed there was a big sea shell under it. . It was dimly lit by only candles with what I call wafty music being piped through. Would definately recommend this and it is very reasonably priced.

The staff are extremely attentive. Special mention needs to be given to the Maitre'd in the restaurant (wish I knew her name but she also works some time on reception), the supervisor in the hotel bar. She is Bulgarian and very friendly and helpful. Also there is a lady who walks around the pool and gardens serving drinks. Again very pleasant.

Now with all this positivity, I hate to bring up one minor downside. That is the entertainment. My husband and I are in our early 40s and it seems that the hotel, from an entertainment point of view, is more suited to the retired age group. On two nights we sat out by the pool for a meal and there was entertainment (dancers). It was finished by 10 pm and then most people went to bed. On a Wednesday night "Elvis" performs in one of the side rooms and he is very good and worth watching. Other than that there is a singer on another two nights but she finishes about 10.30pm and sings the same songs each time she performs. For the first week we sat in the terrace bar chatting and listening to the sound of the sea, but by the second week we needed something else. So we had a wander and found the Captain Hook bar in the complex right opposite the hotel and could watch the rugby and football. There was also music to listen to.

We would definately go back to this hotel but probably only for one week. There were lots of returning guests and one nice thing is that if you are a returning guest, having stayed previously at any of the other hotels in the group, you get 10% discount on everything you buy (drinks, spa treatments, food etc). I think after you have been back to a hotel in the group 15 times you get an even bigger discount).

A bit of a disaster coming home in that the flight was grounded due to a bird strike and we got home 28 hours late. The passengers were eventually accommodated overnight in the Ledra Beach up the road (see my other entry) and the lack of quality there was a great let down.

One final point. The busiest days at Paphos Airport are Wednesday and Sunday. We checked in for our original flight home on Wednesday very quickly but then had to queue outside the terminal building for a good hour to get through passport control. The staff were handing out water due to the heat. When we actually got into the departure hall it was chaos with not enough seats for people. When we checked in for our second attempt of getting home on Thursday, there were no queues at all.

If you are going to the Athena Royal you will have a wonderfully relaxing time!

  • Liked — the tranquility
  • Disliked — the entertainment
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank rosiespad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

Hi
We have just returned from our third visit to this hotel and have booked again for next year.
The standard has not slipped from the day it opened and that is rare for any hotel in Cyprus.
The entertainment still needs a lot to be desired perhaps just a pianist would suffice as the singer was rubbish.

John

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hor7762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

A lovely hotel, spotlessly clean and well maintained. Staff are helpful and charming. Only stayed for B&B so can't comment on the restaurants but breakfast was superb with a vast selection on offer to suit everyone's tastes. No problems at the pools, always room and the hotel was full at the time. Rooms not massive but totally adequate. Would stay there again, if you've got a late flight remember to book the courtesy room in half hour slots prior to departure so you can change and have a shower! Some good restaurants nearby including Romantica which was excellent.

  • Liked — Quality of accomodation
  • Disliked — No room service after 2200 hours
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank R1200RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Athena Royal Beach. What a fabulous time we have had.
We travelled with family members and we booked the hotel after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. The hotel grounds, rooms and public areas were kept spotlessly clean.
We stayed in a full sea view room which was adequately sized, and lovely on an evening to sleep with the patio doors open and listen to the ocean and nothing else.
Our main reason for returning to Cyprus was to get married, which we did in the hotel grounds. This again was expertly handled by the Olympic representitive and Nicoletta, who is the guest relations person for the hotel.
Nicoletta was a tremendous help and everything was perfect!

The sister hotel next door which accepts children seemed very popular with weddngs (probably one or two a day) but we were the only couple from our hotel to get married in the two weeks we stayed there which made us feel extra special. The staff couldn't have been any more helpful and an extra special thanks to the manager of the restaurant (try the flambe night on a Friday night -its a treat)! I could go on for ever but that would spoil it for others. Go and stay at the hotel and try it for yourselves, we will all definitely return. x

  • Liked — Food, pool area, helpful staff.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank alfie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

We spent 2 weeks at this hotel recently, and can only echo a lot of what other people have said - we were very impressed by the place.

We had a side sea view room, which I think may be slightly bigger than a standard one. The room wasn't huge, but it was certainly more than big enough for 2 people, and the high ceiling (for a modern hotel) made it seem spacious. The bathroom was the same - not huge, but well fitted out.

The grounds were very quiet, due to the 'no children' policy, and the lack of piped music outside. You could always find a free sunbed at any time of day - sure, the best spots got taken earlier, but even so, it was great *not* to have to rush down first thing in the morning.

The rooms, public areas, and swimming pools, were kept very clean, and were well maintained.

We can't really comment on the food, as we only ever had breakfast (which was excellent - a large choice, and good quality), plus lunch at the pool bar (decent quality, but a rather limited menu after 2 weeks). There are plenty of places to eat dinner nearby - for example, turn left, walk 5 minutes, and you come to a block with 7 different restaurants in it (we liked Oleastra and the Rib Shack).

The staff were also excellent - friendly, helpful, and clearly committed to customer service.

The only minor gripes I would have are :

- Pool bar menu could get a bit monotonous after a long time
- Entertainment was a bit cheesy in my mind (but if you came here for the nightlife, you chose the wrong hotel anyway !)

And, like most of the hotels in the area, it suffers from a less than wonderful beach, and occasional aircraft noise from the airport (which, to be fair, is not busy except for an hour or two a couple of days a week)

However, these really are minor. There is very little wrong with this hotel, and an awful lot that is right. We are planning to go back next year.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Very little
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank RoamingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

Just returned from a week at the Athena Royal and loved it. I was ready for a real good rest and I got it.
The hotel is beautiful and clean and you couldnt fault the staff. The fact that it is an adult only hotel made all the difference to me. Peace and quiet at the pool every day!
The other great plus to this hotel is the amount of sunbeds they have. Although the hotel was meant to be full the week we were there you would never have know it. You could get a sunbed at any time of the day although some people did insist on reserving there sunbeds before breakfast when there was no reason to do so!!
We stayed B & B and it was fab. I put on 6lbs in a week.
I must also mention a pub/resturant about five mins from the hotel on the right hand side called the Black Rose. My god the food was fab and I never yet finished a meal. Every night we had a 4 course meal for approx £5 (cyprus pounds). The meals were so big I would challenge anybody to try and finish one. The staff are also great and the cocktails are a must.
If your off to the Athena Royal soon you will have a great time.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank LieslTyne_Wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 88 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
0.8 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#20 of 88 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#10 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#21 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing