We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish you were here?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akti Beach Village Resort
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We booked a two week B&B break at this resort following what can only be said an intollerable summer in the UK. We booked trough Easyjet and flew from Bristol. Flight time approx 4.5 hours.

Akti Beach Resort is about 3K from the centre of Paphos and away from the crowds and accompanying nightime noise.
Bear in mind that Cyprus is a volcanic island sodo not be surprised to find that the term "beach" has a broad meaning in Cyprus so don't expect them to be anything like the west country beaches of Devon & Cornwall. Many are rocky inlets needing appropriate footware to enter the water. We did however find a steep shelving sandy beach adjacent to the Venus Beach Hotel which is approximately a fifteen minute walk from Akti in the direction of Paphos.
There are no Restaurants in the immediate vicinity of so if you are going B&B be prepared to use the superb public transport, get a taxi or hire a car if you want a cooked evening meal in a Paphos restaurant. We opted to catch the hotel shuttle bus to the old town market and buy fresh salad produce from the local farmers (smallholders). Never tasted salad produce like it. So different from the mass produced uniform shaped rubbish we have thrust upon us by the mega-markets in the UK, unless of course you grow your own.
The shuttle bus 1.75 euro's per person with a minimum charge of 7 Euro's so if there are only two of using it expect to pay the full 7 Euro's. Apart from taking you to the Old Town market you can also go to Paphos Harbour for the same price where there is a very good supermarket (Papantoniou's) selling excellent bread baked on the premises and local fresh produce. We used the shuttle bus to get into both old town and the harbour and caught public transport (bus 615) from the harbour for our return thus avoiding the incline up to the bus stop in the hot morning sun. Average outside temperatures recorded on the bus displays hovered around 34 Deg C.

Our one Bedroom apartment at Akti Beach was adjacent to the Apollo pool which was a lot quieter that the larger Pelagos pool where all the entertainment is provided by the in house Animations Team. Our appartment was spotlessly clean with maid service every day. Unlike a lot of the greek islands where there are plumbing and sanitation issues there are none in Cyprus. It is no different to the UK despite previous reviewers comments to the contrary. At no time did we experience sanitation problems. Speaking to an ex-pat in the Akti bar we were assured we could drink the tap water and did so without adverse affect. I would advise you boil it first if you are at all doubtful.
The kitchen area was well appointed with an electric Kettle, full size fridge, microwave and small two ring electric cooker/oven. Glasses, cups, saucers etc including the essential corkscrew plus many other tools.
The double bed was two full size singles placed together with a substantial double matress placed on top of the two beds. Effectively it became a king size bed. Yes it was firm but then again we have a similar bed at home so sleeping was not a problem. Additional pillows and even blankets were available in the wardrobes.
Both lounge and bedroom have independant air con which we found to be a god send as night time temperatures stayed in the 20's.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful speaking many languages. There can be as many as a dozen different nationalities on site at any given time. The universal language of english was the secondary language of Cyprus so we had little difficultyBreakfast was help yourself and a good choice of cold and cooked food to chose from, as mutch as you can eat, tea and coffee not bad either! in communicating.
There was entertainment every night in the no smoking Serina Cocktail Bar. Smokers used the adjacent veranda. All nationalities got on with one and other and all were polite and courteous. A number of reviewers have made comment about holidaymakers from the former Eastern block countries. On the whole we found them very polite if however somewhat reserved. Given the restrictions on travel they faced up until quite recently and the political regime they were subjected to it is no surprise that they come over as being reserved. The younger element were less reserved and appeared to be having a great time.
Rumours abound about certain nationalities placing their towels on sun loungers at dawn. This could not be said of the Apollo Pool. We always managed to find a couple of vacant loungers every day. Cannot say if this was the case with the Pelagos pool as we never used that area opting for the quieter Apollo pool.
I commend the manager and staff at Akti for making our two week stay exceedingly enjoyable. Special thanks must go to all the staff in reception and in particular Pambos &Garik in the Serina Cocktail Bar. Both gents were not only extremely courteous but had a great sense of humour.
Would we recommend Akti to family & Friends? Most certainly Yes! Will we be returning? Without Doubt! Currently working out how we can make it a month, next year, instead of a fortnight.

Room Tip: Avoid the appartments facing Pelagos pool area if you're looking for a quieter vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for being our guests and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires. Your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely have a positive impact to our resort’s facilities and services because they encourage us to try our upmost at all times.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of our personnel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU
P.S Thank you for your email

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Located miles from anywhere, no beach despite the name, ants in room, food ok
Plenty of sun loungers. Gym and indoor pool hardly open and full of kids
Bus stop a good 15 - 20 mins away
Wi-fi was very slow and tv had only one channelbin english which was the news
Entertainment was none existant except bingo

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skellster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your constructive comments and for being our guests. Your comments are very highly appreciated and will help us to upgrade our resort's services and facilities. We are very happy that you give us the opportunity to correct things that did not meet your expectations.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of us and we are looking forward to seeing you again at our village resort thus giving us the chance to show our warm hospitality.
Yours sincerely
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I didn,t think the food wad nice especially breakfast.the people serving where miserable.we had building work waking us up at severn.bats.ny ratings taken.and it wasn't near the town centre.it was out the way.my husband had a bad viral infection in the eye due to the pool,I had runs because of the food and the entertainment there wasn.t only for kids.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnnichlols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your constructive comments and for being our guests. Your comments are very highly appreciated and will help us to upgrade our resort's services and facilities. We are very happy that you give us the opportunity to correct things that did not meet your expectations.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of us and we are looking forward to seeing you again at our village resort thus giving us the chance to show our warm hospitality.
Yours sincerely
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

the akti beach simply the best hotel i ever spent since 15 years.staffs ....they are amazing, service more than the smile especially in the dining,that was favoulas.foods are with lots of variation. rooms are biggr than any other hotels.from the general manager, dining manager, jenny and indeed all of the hotel staff we have nothing but praise.they all made us feel so comfortable as if were a gust in someon`s luxurious home.almost we spent all day around the poolbar what was pretty clean.In short, we loved the hotel and will be back next year and it can't come soon enough!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for being our guests and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires. Your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely have a positive impact to our resort’s facilities and services because they encourage us to try our upmost at all times.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of our personnel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just come back from a week at the Akti Beach Tourist Village. We found the staff always friendly and helpful right down to the cleaning lady. A very nice touch was a surprise birthday cake arriving in our unit for my husband's birthday, now that's going the extra mile!

Our units were roomy and clean but I do have to agree the beds were very firm and took a little while to get used to, my only complaint. Breakfasts were good, we had a hire car therefore having the option of trying different restaurants in Paphos so only had dinner on our first night. Free wifi was very handy, the shop had a good variety of drinks, snacks, daily newspapers etc. The pool area and pools were clean and plenty of sun beds available. We would definitely go back.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Aladdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for being our guests and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires. Your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely have a positive impact to our resort’s facilities and services because they encourage us to try our upmost at all times.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of our personnel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We got back after a weeks stay on the 12th September. The resort is very clean - rooms reception area etc are cleaned each day. The staff are very helpful and friendly. There is always food and drink available too. The resort is out of the way but this was good as it was right near the sea. Taxi's to most places was between 8-10 euros - so not bad! We would definitely go back to this resort and have recommended it to others. Anyone who has bad things to say about the resort are being very padantic!

I would recommend a visit to Fat Mamas & The Harbour! - both between 8-10 euros to get to.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelsi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for being our guests and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires. Your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely have a positive impact to our resort’s facilities and services because they encourage us to try our upmost at all times.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of our personnel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just got back from the Akti Beach last night and had a really good time. The rooms were good and spacious. The staff were brilliant!!!!! The meals were really good. The only problem we had was there was no where to walk to as it was a bit remote. Taxis were available at a small cost. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorthEastJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for being our guests and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires. Your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely have a positive impact to our resort’s facilities and services because they encourage us to try our upmost at all times.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of our personnel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
4.1 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
1.5 mi away
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village
0.6 mi away
Akteon Holiday Village
Akteon Holiday Village
#11 of 90 in Paphos
277 reviews
3.6 mi away
Avanti Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Beach Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Beach Village Resort

Address: Hadjiefstathiou Street, Paphos 8060, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#19 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#22 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#24 Family Hotel in Paphos
#34 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $62 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akti Beach Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Akti Beach Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel Paphos
Akti Beach Tourist Village Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing