We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting to visit”

Ayios Neophytos Monastery
Book In Advance
More Info
$692.12*
and up
5-Night Cyprus Tour from Limassol Including Paphos, Nicosia, Troodos Mountains...
Ranked #7 of 116 things to do in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
582 reviews
333 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Interesting to visit”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We visit the Monastery every year as part of a holiday week-end to Paphos. We love the place as is on the top of the hills in a peacefull atmosphere. The Monastery is newly rebuilt, is very clean ,the Church and the small museum are interesting. Don't miss to see the caves that
St. Neophytos, who was a Cypriot Orthodox monk , lived and pray there in 1159 , and in 1170 being a priest , started building the Monastery.
There is a parking place , toilets for visitors and also a coffee-shops with snacks at reasonable prises.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Athina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    339
    82
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miskolc, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very nice Monastery, near the Pafos”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very nice XII. century murals and the small museum. Outside and inside nice Monastery. I offer to a small trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ATTILA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Remote and Boring”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We got the 618 Bus from Paphos Harbour to the main station (which is tiny) and then up to the Monastery. I would say it took around 40 minutes to get there and quite honestly we spent less than that time inside the attraction. I was really looking forward to this but there was not much to see and as there was a tour (in Russian) going on and you kind of felt in the way. The setting itself was really nice and peaceful but nothing more than a half an hour look wouldn't have covered.
We found the coffee shop to be okay and it had free wifi (very handy for the 2 hour wait on the bus) but other 2 shops to be poor, there were lots and lots of flies inside the grocery store. Also, the toilets were really dirty. On the plus side there were some lovely cats to help us pass the time, I wished we had some food to give them, so if your cat people take them some food because they are really skinny living of, of scraps in the mountains.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fascinating and atmospheric”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

for a euro what more can you say its delightful even captivated my son. Beautiful setting steeped in history bursting with atmosphere. The adjacent cafe was great value and the gift shop surprisingly good. Would recommend for family day out but not in the heat. We were lucky April is a beautiful time to visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jewellsWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“for the frescoes”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The old cells are impressive and the frescoes - sometimes in bad shape very nice. Mind the old chap at the entrance: be sure to pay the ticket (1euro/person)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank megazupax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ayios Neophytos Monastery also viewed

 

Been to Ayios Neophytos Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing